PDA

View Full Version : SLES 11 SP4 upgrade to SLES 12.1



techsavysap
10-Oct-2017, 11:38
Dear all,

I am from SAP basis background who is trying to perform an SLES upgrade on HANA system which is currently at SLES for SAP Application 11.4 and planning to go to 12.1. The server is on ESX 5.5 environment. The problem which i am facing is that even though the new installation dvd is mounted for upgrade (can be seen at FS level) the server is not booting with the option to upgrade. I tried again to download the DVD but the issue persists, also tried with SLES 12.1 DVD. The only thing which is visible during boot is three options :

SLES for SAP Application 3.0.101-63
Failsafe - SLES for SAP Application 3.0.101-63
Floppy

I don't have much of Linux background so would only be comfortable in upgrading via GUI mode. Can anyone help here and tell me what could be missing here.

many thanks in advance.

Regards,
John

ab
10-Oct-2017, 14:58
On 10/10/2017 04:44 AM, techsavysap wrote:
>
> I am from SAP basis background who is trying to perform an SLES upgrade
> on HANA system which is currently at SLES for SAP Application 11.4 and
> planning to go to 12.1. The server is on ESX 5.5 environment. The
> problem which i am facing is that even though the new installation dvd
> is mounted for upgrade (can be seen at FS level) the server is not
> booting with the option to upgrade. I tried again to download the DVD
> but the issue persists, also tried with SLES 12.1 DVD. The only thing
> which is visible during boot is three options :
>
> SLES for SAP Application 3.0.101-63
> Failsafe - SLES for SAP Application 3.0.101-63
> Floppy

This is from the hard drive's install of Grub, meaning that the computer's
BIOS is going to the hard driver rather than your DVD drive. You
mentioned you are using vmware, so you probably need to change something
in the VM bios, or maybe the VM settings temporarily, to have the system
boot from the DVD first; most systems will try the hard drive first for
security and performance reasons. Another option may be to press [Esc] or
[F12] or something during the VM's BIOS screen in order to choose a
one-time boot device.

Either way, this has nothing to do with Linux and just depends on how you
set your VM to boot. Once there, I suspect you'll see the 'Installation'
option which, when selected, will probably let you choose 'Upgrade' within
Yast.

> I don't have much of Linux background so would only be comfortable in
> upgrading via GUI mode. Can anyone help here and tell me what could be
> missing here.

One other thing to check is that you setup the media properly. If you
configured your VM to point to an ISO file, that's fine. If you actually
burned the ISO to a DVD and then configured the VM to enable that and
point to that DVD, that's fine. If you instead actually created a
filesystem on your DVD and wrote your ISO into that filesystem, that is
wrong. Again, this is not really about any particular OS, and hopefully
you skipped physical media entirely and configured your system to point
directly to the ISO instead, but I figured it is worth pointing out.

--
Good luck.

If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below.

If you want to send me a private message, please let me know in the
forum as I do not use the web interface often.

techsavysap
10-Oct-2017, 19:51
Thanks a lot for your suggestion, Yes the problem was with Vmware boot sequence. Got it fixed and it is working. thanks again!

ab
10-Oct-2017, 21:31
Glad to hear it; thank-you for posting back your results as this will
likely be something others ask too.

--
Good luck.

If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below.

If you want to send me a private message, please let me know in the
forum as I do not use the web interface often.