PDA

View Full Version : False/unexpected status/results in Grafana



thsundel
15-Dec-2017, 10:20
Hi @all,
just putting this out there in case it might help someone in the future...

So after a successful upgrade to SES5 we saw false/unexpected results in "Ceph - Cluster" dashboard in Grafana.
Health Status showed "Warn" and sometimes a handful OSDs showed as down but running cluster checks in the terminal everything was up and healthy, no problems...

Did some troubleshooting and eventually landed at Prometheus (admin node on port 9090), there it clearly stated that there was time difference between my browser and the server, very true, clock on my machine was 2 hours off for some reason.

So I did a timesync and reloaded openattic and now everything is SUSE Green, no errors.

Thomas

ab
15-Dec-2017, 14:27
That is good information; thank-you for sharing. Do you know why time was
off? Was it just one system, or did others also have that discrepancy?
Physical vs. virtual machines?


--
Good luck.

If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below.

If you want to send me a private message, please let me know in the
forum as I do not use the web interface often.

thsundel
15-Dec-2017, 15:01
That is good information; thank-you for sharing. Do you know why time was
off? Was it just one system, or did others also have that discrepancy?
Physical vs. virtual machines?


--
Good luck.

If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below.

If you want to send me a private message, please let me know in the
forum as I do not use the web interface often.

I used a newly reimaged HP Thinclient that not yet had received it's configuration from the HPDM server so NTP was not configured and by default ThinproOS hide the panel so I did not see the clock :)

Thomas