PDA

View Full Version : SUSE10 SP4: FLOGI failure errors reported in messages file



jasonmirons
16-May-2012, 21:16
Hi Everyone

I'm running a HP Proliant DL380 G7 server with a HP 82E 8Gb 2-port PCIe Fibre Channel Host Bus Adapter installed.

Am seeing a constant stream of the following lpfc messages being reported in the /var/log/messages file.
kernel: lpfc 0000:11:00.1: 1:(0):2858 FLOGI failure Status:x3/x2 TMO:x10

Our mounted SAN volumes seem unaffected by this, however would like to get this resolved to prevent any potential problems down the track.

Appreciate any thoughts or suggestions you may have around the above issue.

Thanks and regards

Jason

Automatic reply
24-May-2012, 13:30
jasonmirons,

It appears that in the past few days you have not received a response to your
posting. That concerns us, and has triggered this automated reply.

Has your issue been resolved? If not, you might try one of the following options:

- Visit http://www.suse.com/support and search the knowledgebase and/or check all
the other support options available.
- You could also try posting your message again. Make sure it is posted in the
correct newsgroup. (http://forums.suse.com)

Be sure to read the forum FAQ about what to expect in the way of responses:
http://forums.suse.com/faq.php

If this is a reply to a duplicate posting, please ignore and accept our apologies
and rest assured we will issue a stern reprimand to our posting bot.

Good luck!

Your SUSE Forums Team
http://forums.suse.com

jmozdzen
29-May-2012, 15:29
Hi Jason,

FLOGI is the "fabric login" of your HBA. You might want to check your FC switch's log files for messages corresponding to these syslog events. I find it a bit strange that your SAN access works, as the FLOGI is the first (and to my knowledge *required*) step before the N_Port acts on the FC network. Unless, that is, you have either port-to-port FC connections ("loop"... but then why the FLOGI at all?) or have redundant links (multipath), so another FC HBA makes a successful connection.

Regards,
Jens

jasonmirons
01-Jun-2012, 00:51
Hi Jens

Many thanks for the suggestion. Have two fibre port connections from the server to the switch.

Did check the fibre switch error logs and can certainly see link failures reported. Given that each port is on a different fibre switche, I'm more thinking that there may be a conflict at the OS or server hardware/firmware level.

2012 May 14 19:04:07 CM017 %PORT-5-IF_DOWN_LINK_FAILURE: %$VSAN 2001%$ Interface fc7/1 is down (Link failure)
2012 May 14 19:07:45 CM017 %PORT-5-IF_DOWN_LINK_FAILURE: %$VSAN 2001%$ Interface fc7/1 is down (Link failure)
2012 May 14 19:07:45 CM017 %PORT-5-IF_UP: %$VSAN 2001%$ Interface fc7/1 is up in mode F
2012 May 14 19:21:40 CM017 %PORT-5-IF_DOWN_LINK_FAILURE: %$VSAN 2001%$ Interface fc7/1 is down (Link failure)
2012 May 14 19:25:17 CM017 %PORT-5-IF_DOWN_LINK_FAILURE: %$VSAN 2001%$ Interface fc7/1 is down (Link failure)
2012 May 14 19:25:17 CM017 %PORT-5-IF_UP: %$VSAN 2001%$ Interface fc7/1 is up in mode F
2012 May 16 19:10:11 CM017 %PORT-5-IF_DOWN_LINK_FAILURE: %$VSAN 2001%$ Interface fc7/1 is down (Link failure)
2012 May 16 19:13:42 CM017 %PORT-5-IF_DOWN_LINK_FAILURE: %$VSAN 2001%$ Interface fc7/1 is down (Link failure)
2012 May 16 19:13:42 CM017 %PORT-5-IF_UP: %$VSAN 2001%$ Interface fc7/1 is up in mode F
2012 May 17 07:32:39 CM017 %PORT-5-IF_DOWN_LINK_FAILURE: %$VSAN 2001%$ Interface fc7/1 is down (Link failure)
2012 May 17 07:40:56 CM017 %PORT-5-IF_DOWN_LINK_FAILURE: %$VSAN 2001%$ Interface fc7/1 is down (Link failure)
2012 May 17 07:40:56 CM017 %PORT-5-IF_UP: %$VSAN 2001%$ Interface fc7/1 is up in mode F
2012 May 18 17:31:54 CM017 %PORT-5-IF_DOWN_LINK_FAILURE: %$VSAN 2001%$ Interface fc7/1 is down (Link failure)
2012 May 18 18:13:08 CM017 %PORT-5-IF_DOWN_LINK_FAILURE: %$VSAN 2001%$ Interface fc7/1 is down (Link failure)
2012 May 18 18:13:08 CM017 %PORT-5-IF_UP: %$VSAN 2001%$ Interface fc7/1 is up in mode F

2012 May 14 19:21:40 CM013 %PORT-5-IF_DOWN_LINK_FAILURE: %$VSAN 1001%$ Interface fc7/1 is down (Link failure)
2012 May 15 09:38:29 CM013 %PORT-5-IF_DOWN_LINK_FAILURE: %$VSAN 1001%$ Interface fc7/1 is down (Link failure)
2012 May 16 19:10:11 CM013 %PORT-5-IF_DOWN_LINK_FAILURE: %$VSAN 1001%$ Interface fc7/1 is down (Link failure)
2012 May 16 19:13:36 CM013 %PORT-5-IF_DOWN_LINK_FAILURE: %$VSAN 1001%$ Interface fc7/1 is down (Link failure)
2012 May 16 19:13:36 CM013 %PORT-5-IF_UP: %$VSAN 1001%$ Interface fc7/1 is up in mode F
2012 May 17 07:32:39 CM013 %PORT-5-IF_DOWN_LINK_FAILURE: %$VSAN 1001%$ Interface fc7/1 is down (Link failure)
2012 May 17 07:40:57 CM013 %PORT-5-IF_DOWN_LINK_FAILURE: %$VSAN 1001%$ Interface fc7/1 is down (Link failure)
2012 May 17 07:40:57 CM013 %PORT-5-IF_UP: %$VSAN 1001%$ Interface fc7/1 is up in mode F
2012 May 18 17:31:54 CM013 %PORT-5-IF_DOWN_LINK_FAILURE: %$VSAN 1001%$ Interface fc7/1 is down (Link failure)
2012 May 18 17:35:33 CM013 %PORT-5-IF_DOWN_LINK_FAILURE: %$VSAN 1001%$ Interface fc7/1 is down (Link failure)
2012 May 18 17:35:33 CM013 %PORT-5-IF_UP: %$VSAN 1001%$ Interface fc7/1 is up in mode F
2012 May 18 18:09:27 CM013 %PORT-5-IF_DOWN_LINK_FAILURE: %$VSAN 1001%$ Interface fc7/1 is down (Link failure)
2012 May 18 18:13:09 CM013 %PORT-5-IF_DOWN_LINK_FAILURE: %$VSAN 1001%$ Interface fc7/1 is down (Link failure)
2012 May 18 18:13:09 CM013 %PORT-5-IF_UP: %$VSAN 1001%$ Interface fc7/1 is up in mode F

While I haven't seen the error since the server was last rebooted, am concerned that it may lead to something worse down the track.

Now have a SUSE OS and hardware support agreement with HP, but they haven't come back with anything to date.

jmozdzen
01-Jun-2012, 14:00
Hi Jason,

with these switch messages, my first guess would have been a hardware defect - HBA, fibre "cable", GBIC or switch port electronics (rather seldomly). But since these problems were resolved by a server reboot (was that a power cycle or a "software reboot" only? If software only, then I'd rule out hardware), I'm not that certain anymore.

Hopefully your support contacts can be of help.

Regards,
Jens

jasonmirons
03-Jun-2012, 22:07
Was a soft-reset (shutdown -r now), though I had to execute it twice before it came up OK.

Still waiting to progress with HP, some issue with the contract still be processed...

Cheers

Jason