PDA

View Full Version : SLES10 SP3 and big partitions (more than 2TB)



sspj
28-Jun-2012, 13:01
Hello

We have a HP DL380 G7 server with 5 disk of 500 GB HP SAS MDL 6G. I installed SLES10 SP3 and configure it with one small partition of 30 GB (for root) and another for /home with the rest of the disk (2.2 TB).
My problem is that the system freezes very frequently, 5-10 times at day. But I have another server (the same) with only one disk of 500 GB and there is no problem with it. Do you know if SLES has a limitation with big partitions or something like that?

Thanks a lot for your help

cjcox
28-Jun-2012, 15:54
On 06/28/2012 07:04 AM, sspj wrote:
>
> Hello
>
> We have a HP DL380 G7 server with 5 disk of 500 GB HP SAS MDL 6G. I
> installed SLES10 SP3 and configure it with one small partition of 30 GB
> (for root) and another for /home with the rest of the disk (2.2 TB).
> My problem is that the system freezes very frequently, 5-10 times at
> day. But I have another server (the same) with only one disk of 500 GB
> and there is no problem with it. Do you know if SLES has a limitation
> with big partitions or something like that?
>
> Thanks a lot for your help
>
>

Are you really using partitions? Or are you using LVs?

Because DOS style partitioning can have limitations... you could use GPT/GUID
style partitioning to avoid.. and a somewhat new box like above should have no
problem with that... but in general, I find that LVM is your best friend.

At 2.2TB.. you're at that edge where DOS partitioning starts breaking down...

enovaklbank
29-Jun-2012, 16:18
Indeed. My advice is to split the RAID array into two pieces with HP array management tools (whichever is supported on your server, smartstart cd, etc.)

The first on can have a size of 30-50 GiB and you can partition it (/dev/c0d0) like a DOS device. Use GPT or LVM on the other one (/dev/c0d1).