PDA

View Full Version : Unable to find partition containing kernel



tcsabina
18-Jul-2012, 09:22
At 2 of our customers we have issues to start a SLES 11SP1 virtual machine on a XenServer 5.6 host. This probably happened after an automatic update, but we are not sure. What is for sure, that the servers cannot start, and the following message is shown on XenCenter:

Traceback (most recent call last): - File "/usr/bin/pygrub", line 746, in ? - raise RuntimeError, "Unable to find partition containing kernel" - RuntimeError: Unable to find partition containing kernel

This might be a XenServer issue, I must admit, but as this happened in the same time at 2 different location with SLES11 SP1 server, we might think that it is some SLES updates for grub, so I gave it try to post here as well (just like in the Citrix forums), hoping that someone else had the issues and solved it. The servers were operating fine for about 13-14 month, and there were no modification, only the SLES updates.

Automatic reply
26-Jul-2012, 13:30
tcsabina,

It appears that in the past few days you have not received a response to your
posting. That concerns us, and has triggered this automated reply.

Has your issue been resolved? If not, you might try one of the following options:

- Visit http://www.suse.com/support and search the knowledgebase and/or check all
the other support options available.
- You could also try posting your message again. Make sure it is posted in the
correct newsgroup. (http://forums.suse.com)

Be sure to read the forum FAQ about what to expect in the way of responses:
http://forums.suse.com/faq.php

If this is a reply to a duplicate posting, please ignore and accept our apologies
and rest assured we will issue a stern reprimand to our posting bot.

Good luck!

Your SUSE Forums Team
http://forums.suse.com

KBOYLE
26-Jul-2012, 18:51
tcsabina wrote:

>
> At 2 of our customers we have issues to start a SLES 11SP1 virtual
> machine on a XenServer 5.6 host.

Here's something to try - with no guarantees...

There is a SLES bug whereby mkinitrd is not run after updating the
server. The workaround is to run mkinitrd before the final reboot.

You can try to run mkinitrd if you can get to a command prompt and see
if it resolves the issue.



--
Kevin Boyle - Knowledge Partner
If you find this post helpful and are using the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below...