PDA

View Full Version : XP weirdness



Stevo
20-Jul-2012, 23:42
Have a machine running XP sp3, trying to get it to go clear to the
destkop on bootup. When I put control userpasswords2 in RUN or a DOS
box, I get:

'control' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file


WTF?!??! Tried gpedit.msc, mmc, those don't work either. What gives?
What would cause this?

--
Stevo

Stevo
20-Jul-2012, 23:56
Nevermind............path was borked.......<slaps forehead>

--
Stevo

KeN Etter
21-Jul-2012, 14:57
On Fri, 20 Jul 2012 22:56:04 GMT, "Stevo" <steveSPAM@LESSccgov.net>
wrote:

>Nevermind............path was borked.......<slaps forehead>

Glad you figured out the issue. :-)

Stevo
21-Jul-2012, 17:43
KeN Etter sounds like they 'said':

> Glad you figured out the issue. :-)

So my response to KeN's comment is...

I'm glad it was something simple. <G>

--
Stevo

KeN Etter
21-Jul-2012, 20:26
Still working today...or just browsing the forum?

I just finished up a GW8 to GW2012 upgrade...and also migrated it from
Netware to OES11. Now I need to finish setting up a PC for a new
employee that starts Monday...which I just found out about yesterday.
I am really going to enjoy relaxing tomorrow. :-)

Stevo
22-Jul-2012, 02:27
KeN Etter sounds like they 'said':

> Still working today...or just browsing the forum?
>
> I just finished up a GW8 to GW2012 upgrade...and also migrated it from
> Netware to OES11. Now I need to finish setting up a PC for a new
> employee that starts Monday...which I just found out about yesterday.
> I am really going to enjoy relaxing tomorrow. :-)

So my response to KeN's comment is...

Just checkin the forums. I know the feeling finding out about new
users, etc. Many times I get a call:

User: "So and so cannot login to the network"
Me: "What's their userid? Who is it?"

User: "It's <insert name here>, they started last week"
Me: "Ummmm, I don't recall any notification about them, they don't
have a userid"

User: "Oh, we need to let you know about stuff like that?"
Me: <bangs head on desk>

--
Stevo

Dave Taylor
23-Jul-2012, 08:54
"Stevo" <steveSPAM@LESSccgov.net> wrote in news:iGIOr.835$If2.490
@kovat.provo.novell.com:

>
> Just checkin the forums. I know the feeling finding out about new
> users, etc. Many times I get a call:
>
> User: "So and so cannot login to the network"
> Me: "What's their userid? Who is it?"
>
> User: "It's <insert name here>, they started last week"
> Me: "Ummmm, I don't recall any notification about them, they don't
> have a userid"
>
> User: "Oh, we need to let you know about stuff like that?"
> Me: <bangs head on desk>
>

Sometimes the people who make the decisions have no grasp of the complexity
or how far down and up their change travels. I know of instances where
sales sold a solution that needed IT involved as it had cost recovery and
printing changes, to be tied into their network infrastructure based on
user login ID's, but their IT was only brought in after it was signed.
Having to implement a solution with grumpy IT is never fun...


--
Ciao, Dave

KeN Etter
23-Jul-2012, 14:20
On Sun, 22 Jul 2012 01:27:42 GMT, "Stevo" <steveSPAM@LESSccgov.net>
wrote:

>KeN Etter sounds like they 'said':
>
>> Still working today...or just browsing the forum?
>>
>> I just finished up a GW8 to GW2012 upgrade...and also migrated it from
>> Netware to OES11. Now I need to finish setting up a PC for a new
>> employee that starts Monday...which I just found out about yesterday.
>> I am really going to enjoy relaxing tomorrow. :-)
>
>So my response to KeN's comment is...
>
>Just checkin the forums. I know the feeling finding out about new
>users, etc. Many times I get a call:
>
>User: "So and so cannot login to the network"
>Me: "What's their userid? Who is it?"
>
>User: "It's <insert name here>, they started last week"
>Me: "Ummmm, I don't recall any notification about them, they don't
>have a userid"
>
>User: "Oh, we need to let you know about stuff like that?"
>Me: <bangs head on desk>

LOL! My favorite was the time I was asked when I would have a
computer ready for the new person. I was asked the morning the new
person started. And I had no available equipment...had to order
something. But fortunately most of the time I do get advance notice.

Ken

Stevo
23-Jul-2012, 15:31
Dave Taylor sounds like they 'said':

> Having to implement a solution with grumpy IT is never fun...

So my response to Dave's comment is...

Don't I know it! I'm usually the grumpy one. <G>

We've had many many times where a dept goes out & buys some software
package w/o discussing anything w/ us. Then we get a phone call:

User: "Such and such company is here to install this software today"
Me: "What software"

User: "Oh, we bought some software, they said we need a server,
additional client computers, etc, etc"
Me: "Well this is the first I've heard of it"

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGH!!!!!!

--
Stevo

Stevo
23-Jul-2012, 15:32
KeN Etter sounds like they 'said':

> LOL! My favorite was the time I was asked when I would have a
> computer ready for the new person. I was asked the morning the new
> person started. And I had no available equipment...had to order
> something. But fortunately most of the time I do get advance notice.

So my response to KeN's comment is...

Fortunately for us we have the commissioners' backing that any new
computer, etc to be put on the network needs to be requested through
them, so usually we don't get that dropped on us.

--
Stevo

Dave Howe
23-Jul-2012, 16:28
On 23/07/2012 15:31, Stevo wrote:
> User: "Oh, we bought some software, they said we need a server,
> additional client computers, etc, etc"
> Me: "Well this is the first I've heard of it"

Me: Ok, well we will need to order in that new hardware AND a support
package from the vendor in case of issues. What's your department's
budget code?

:)

Stevo
23-Jul-2012, 16:54
Dave Howe sounds like they 'said':

> On 23/07/2012 15:31, Stevo wrote:
> > User: "Oh, we bought some software, they said we need a server,
> > additional client computers, etc, etc"
> > Me: "Well this is the first I've heard of it"
>
> Me: Ok, well we will need to order in that new hardware AND a support
> package from the vendor in case of issues. What's your department's
> budget code?
>
> :)

So my response to Dave's comment is...

Yeah, I agree, problem is it usually becomes an emergency as the
software vendor/consultant is on site to install, & we get made to look
the fools as we don't have anything ready for them.

Of course we're running VMware, so that's not too bad a turnaround time
to spin up a server. It's just that we keep getting forced to run more
and more 'servers', and many times we're not involved in any of the
decision as to what is being installed & what it will need to run
properly.

--
Stevo

Dave Howe
23-Jul-2012, 17:06
On 23/07/2012 16:54, Stevo wrote:

> So my response to Dave's comment is...
>
> Yeah, I agree, problem is it usually becomes an emergency as the
> software vendor/consultant is on site to install, & we get made to look
> the fools as we don't have anything ready for them.
>
> Of course we're running VMware, so that's not too bad a turnaround time
> to spin up a server. It's just that we keep getting forced to run more
> and more 'servers', and many times we're not involved in any of the
> decision as to what is being installed & what it will need to run
> properly.

Get the billing code anyhow. One approach is to maintain some slack
"capacity" in vmware for such needs, but mark it as emergency resource,
to be swapped out for either an expansion of the vmware farm (with a
modern setup, that's largely just buying an extra blade and the
licences) or physical kit, if the vendor recommends (and its amazing
what low-performance badly written **** is handwaved as "needs dedicated
hardware"). By charging the moving department for the extra vmware
resource you can usually gain some extra slack (for immediate
provisioning in the future, if they need it :) and get your emergency
space back as well :)

Douglas Black
24-Jul-2012, 14:03
Stevo,
>
> Yeah, I agree, problem is it usually becomes an emergency as the
> software vendor/consultant is on site to install,& we get made to look
> the fools as we don't have anything ready for them.
>
> Of course we're running VMware, so that's not too bad a turnaround time
> to spin up a server. It's just that we keep getting forced to run more
> and more 'servers', and many times we're not involved in any of the
> decision as to what is being installed& what it will need to run
> properly.
>

When I started here, we had maybe 150 servers. We now have 1500+.
Funny what a migration from NetWare to Windows can do ...

Dave Howe
24-Jul-2012, 14:18
On 24/07/2012 14:03, Douglas Black wrote:
> When I started here, we had maybe 150 servers. We now have 1500+. Funny
> what a migration from NetWare to Windows can do ...

To be fair, the 1500+ are *almost as good* as the 150 were :)

Stevo
24-Jul-2012, 14:26
Douglas Black sounds like they 'said':

> When I started here, we had maybe 150 servers. We now have 1500+.
> Funny what a migration from NetWare to Windows can do ...

So my response to Douglas's comment is...

No kidding. Funny too how an OES server running software to 'emulate'
windows stuff cannot have anything else on it either.

--
Stevo