PDA

View Full Version : System Lock



scottjsn
28-Jul-2012, 19:46
Running SLED 11. RAM: 2 GB SWAP: 16 GB.

I found the system got locked from time to time when I opened multiple applications such as browser windows, word doc, terminal screen, file manager, and web application server.

When this happened I went to check the RAM usage and saw only 1.3 GB out of 1.9 GB in use, and the Swap was 0.2 GB out of 16 GB in use. That means there is still some free memory available. Then why did the system get locked?

ab
29-Jul-2012, 06:57
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1

If by 'locked' you mean it hung and never returned, then RAM shortage is
likely not your problem since even if you were out of RAM and your
system was using extremely-slow swap your box would eventually respond.

Good luck.


-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v2.0.18 (GNU/Linux)
Comment: Using GnuPG with Mozilla - http://enigmail.mozdev.org/

iQIcBAEBAgAGBQJQFNDUAAoJEF+XTK08PnB5xogP/3b3viLXOJr3lRD4Znpo7Q5s
oscCo2kSa+BXphSzKSeQFIlc9FxChnP9gPF79umoSq0X96aXqK 1tuYk+ald82h06
Sdq5ggiXh2kA/cecNiiBzyeE7s0kIovY4x8aNUxV5WqIzZr2kjlpi1slcjCbtXB O
+e0q7iXU/OaEmdtoboOv2ATXR/jZm5SDhMYQf2Fy5CYa8IOWfPxEonlpgonsw5mE
aFrwqYxGidPTTyln9nU4AKrjQrJyIFjc0XcvzHed3wtCIqrc3h Db2ffcIoOCWfmF
pjmNU9Fekw9WK1qs+vR3UUhrvsXh6gmxLdZ0VwTs4hIbPiXfgj QIizpDBRxqRFE8
KmoOONuB1NQMqFpGsrBi821DmoqS7JDuPu87s6nyS3N5SIK0vg nHQgFjps+lyz+V
QIrKKhxnuQ8gcrdcQnZcl1JITmyJZ3Z4rxO65AI0UZRqJqdq32 YJ9r3kipTKDlpg
3Zm7HZs55Ywo8Bf6EPqf8A1TuEfQymrHCqhL4hUFDX315E9srq ch4LcoBFnPGZDD
E1eGzPunJ6LyrQDm6z3Qcgb5W2lhIhv898lbpz5licYCsg2D8o ojOrxfYGFlvaHW
z3x21zcpETKOKbGg/lVfFc0MD17/CuVmmBHv7xnv7E/hWFcWsilGd4LtQzOpflES
okzaKVvCaWftuRwCCVQ6
=RSnU
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

say_bye911
08-Sep-2012, 08:08
its happen alot of time with me and i dont know why
only i saw the Hard Disk lamb on .
but the system does not respond until i restart the system

Bob-O-Rama
09-Sep-2012, 04:37
If the HD light is on, its doing "something" - a hard lock up on Linux most usually indicates a hardware related cause. When its hung, can you use num lock, caps lock?

-- Bob