PDA

View Full Version : Default gateway on SLES11sp1 with 2 NIC's



John_Gill
24-Aug-2012, 10:34
Hi,

In the server I have 2 NIC's configured to connect to 2 different VLAN's. I have set up several VM's connecting to either of the interfaces. This is all working correctly.
The issue I am having is trying to set a default gateway to each physical interface.

Eth0 10.1.1.10 VLAN1 Br0 and the gateway should be 10.1.1.1
Eth1 10.2.2.10 VLAN2 Br1 and the gateway should be 10.2.2.1

From the server I can ping each interface, and any device on both subnets, but nothing on any other remote subnet.

If I am on the 10.1.1.0 network I can ping all the VMs and the 10.1.1.10, but not the 10.2.2.10
If I am on the 10.2.2.0 network I can ping all the VMs and the 10.2.2.10, but not the 10.1.1.10

The "route" command returns the following:
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
10.1.1.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 br0
10.2.2.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 br1
loopback * 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo

I need to configure a default gateway for each interface, without bridging the network.
Any ideas or help would be great.
Regards
John

smflood
24-Aug-2012, 13:37
On 24/08/2012 10:44, John Gill wrote:

> In the server I have 2 NIC's configured to connect to 2 different
> VLAN's. I have set up several VM's connecting to either of the
> interfaces. This is all working correctly.
> The issue I am having is trying to set a default gateway to each
> physical interface.
>
> Eth0 10.1.1.10 VLAN1 Br0 and the gateway should be 10.1.1.1
> Eth1 10.2.2.10 VLAN2 Br1 and the gateway should be 10.2.2.1
>
> From the server I can ping each interface, and any device on both
> subnets, but nothing on any other remote subnet.
>
> If I am on the 10.1.1.0 network I can ping all the VMs and the
> 10.1.1.10, but not the 10.2.2.10
> If I am on the 10.2.2.0 network I can ping all the VMs and the
> 10.2.2.10, but not the 10.1.1.10
>
> The "route" command returns the following:
> Kernel IP routing table
> Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use
> Iface
> 10.1.1.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0
> 0 br0
> 10.2.2.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0
> 0 br1
> loopback * 255.0.0.0 U 0
> 0 0 lo
>
> I need to configure a default gateway for each interface, without
> bridging the network.
> Any ideas or help would be great.

From the above route output you don't appear to have configured a
default gateway for the server.

You can do this with YaST - Network Devices | Network Settings | Routing
| Default Gateway - or via route - route add default gw <ipaddress>

HTH.
--
Simon
Novell/SUSE/NetIQ Knowledge Partner

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Do you work with Novell technologies at a university, college or school?
If so, your campus could benefit from joining the Novell Technology
Transfer Partner (TTP) program. See novell.com/ttp for more details.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

John_Gill
24-Aug-2012, 14:17
Hi Simon,

That is the issue. I can set a default gateway of 10.1.1.1 for the
10.1.1.10 subnet, but what about the second NIC on the other subnet?

Regards
John


>>> On 24 August 2012 at 14:37, in message
<AAKZr.4294$If2.3065@kovat.provo.novell.com>, Simon
Flood<smflood@no-mx.forums.suse.com> wrote:
> On 24/08/2012 10:44, John Gill wrote:
>
>> In the server I have 2 NIC's configured to connect to 2 different
>> VLAN's. I have set up several VM's connecting to either of the
>> interfaces. This is all working correctly.
>> The issue I am having is trying to set a default gateway to each
>> physical interface.
>>
>> Eth0 10.1.1.10 VLAN1 Br0 and the gateway should be 10.1.1.1
>> Eth1 10.2.2.10 VLAN2 Br1 and the gateway should be 10.2.2.1
>>
>> From the server I can ping each interface, and any device on both
>> subnets, but nothing on any other remote subnet.
>>
>> If I am on the 10.1.1.0 network I can ping all the VMs and the
>> 10.1.1.10, but not the 10.2.2.10
>> If I am on the 10.2.2.0 network I can ping all the VMs and the
>> 10.2.2.10, but not the 10.1.1.10
>>
>> The "route" command returns the following:
>> Kernel IP routing table
>> Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use
>> Iface
>> 10.1.1.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0
>> 0 br0
>> 10.2.2.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0
>> 0 br1
>> loopback * 255.0.0.0 U 0
>> 0 0 lo
>>
>> I need to configure a default gateway for each interface, without
>> bridging the network.
>> Any ideas or help would be great.
>
> From the above route output you don't appear to have configured a
> default gateway for the server.
>
> You can do this with YaST - Network Devices | Network Settings | Routing
> | Default Gateway - or via route - route add default gw <ipaddress>
>
> HTH.

smflood
24-Aug-2012, 15:04
On 24/08/2012 14:17, John Gill wrote:

> That is the issue. I can set a default gateway of 10.1.1.1 for the
> 10.1.1.10 subnet, but what about the second NIC on the other subnet?

When you set a default gateway you're doing so for the server not a
particular NIC.

If you're using YaST you should see below the default gateway field that
you can also add (or delete) additional routes - that's where you could
set "default" gateways per NIC.

HTH.
--
Simon
Novell/SUSE/NetIQ Knowledge Partner

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Do you work with Novell technologies at a university, college or school?
If so, your campus could benefit from joining the Novell Technology
Transfer Partner (TTP) program. See novell.com/ttp for more details.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

John_Gill
24-Aug-2012, 15:23
I have tried setting the routes in the "routing table" but that does not
seem to help.

Perhaps if I pose the question differently ;)
How do I configure the networking so that a packet received on 10.1.1.10 is
returned thru its gateway address of 10.1.1.1 and if a packet is received on
10.2.2.10 is returned via that it's gateway of 10.2.2.1

Maybe some policy based routing or multiple default routes. I found two
TIDS 7009083 and 7008874 that sort of explain the solution but the docs are
not totally accurate or I cannot get them to work.

Regards
John.



>>> On 24 August 2012 at 16:04, in message
<6SLZr.4310$If2.4105@kovat.provo.novell.com>, Simon
Flood<smflood@no-mx.forums.suse.com> wrote:
> On 24/08/2012 14:17, John Gill wrote:
>
>> That is the issue. I can set a default gateway of 10.1.1.1 for the
>> 10.1.1.10 subnet, but what about the second NIC on the other subnet?
>
> When you set a default gateway you're doing so for the server not a
> particular NIC.
>
> If you're using YaST you should see below the default gateway field that
> you can also add (or delete) additional routes - that's where you could
> set "default" gateways per NIC.
>
> HTH.

KBOYLE
24-Aug-2012, 15:34
John Gill wrote:

> How do I configure the networking so that a packet received on
> 10.1.1.10 is returned thru its gateway address of 10.1.1.1 and if a
> packet is received on 10.2.2.10 is returned via that it's gateway of
> 10.2.2.1

Hi John,

Here's another TID to check:
http://www.novell.com/support/kb/doc.php?id=7000318

--
Kevin Boyle - Knowledge Partner
If you find this post helpful and are using the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below...