PDA

View Full Version : Tape Driver issue with SLES 11 SP2 SAP Version



lash04
09-Sep-2012, 02:16
Hi everyone,

I have a tape drive that was working with SLES 11 SP1 perfectly, but the problem came after a fresh installation of SLES 11 SP2 SAP Version.

Tape Device Model : HP Storage Works Ultrium 1760 SAS
SAS Controller HP Smart Controller P212 - And I installed the following driver from HP

RECOMMENDED * HP ProLiant Smart Array Controller (AMD64/EM64T) Driver for SUSE LINUX Enterprise Server 11 (AMD64/EM64T)

Once I installed the driver I could see the tape device in /dev/st0

hwinfo --tape output
------------------------

sapnode01:~ # hwinfo --tape
89: SCSI 00.0: 10601 Tape
[Created at scsi.1460]
UDI: /org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/pci_103c_323a_scsi_host_scsi_device_lun0_scsi_gene ric
Unique ID: Er1e.jH5QXkQpQf6
Parent ID: GBI1.XEXEELn_ra7
SysFS ID: /class/scsi_tape/st0
SysFS BusID: 0:0:0:0
SysFS Device Link: /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:03.0/0000:08:00.0/host0/target0:0:0/0:0:0:0
Hardware Class: unknown
Model: "HP Ultrium 4-SCSI"
Vendor: "HP"
Device: "Ultrium 4-SCSI"
Revision: "U57D"
Driver: "cciss", "st"
Driver Modules: "cciss"
Device File: /dev/st0 (/dev/sg0)
Device Files: /dev/st0, /dev/char/9:0, /dev/tape/by-id/scsi-3500110a001465016, /dev/tape/by-path/pci-0000:08:00.0-scsi-0:0:0:0
Device Number: char 9:0 (char 21:0)
Config Status: cfg=new, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown
Attached to: #61 (RAID bus controller)mt command out puts



sapnode01:~ # mt -f /dev/st0 status
drive type = Generic SCSI-2 tape
drive status = 1174405120
sense key error = 0
residue count = 0
file number = 0
block number = 0
Tape block size 0 bytes. Density code 0x46 (unknown).
Soft error count since last status=0
General status bits on (41010000):
BOT ONLINE IM_REP_EN

sapnode01:~ # mt -f /dev/st0 tell
mt: /dev/st0: Input/output error


The thing is, i could be able to take a tar backup and restore it using the following commands without any error
tar -cvzf /dev/st0 /path/to/backup,
tar -tzf /dev/st0,
tar -xvzf /dev/st0 /path/to/backup/to/restore

But the error occurring when i try to run the oracle full backup using SAP is (find the image)

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/u/0/?ui=2&ik=b283ea94f8&view=att&th=139a6ad1f2e0e706&attid=0.1&disp=inline&realattid=f_h6ux4ekw0&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P8fLXzSZamGBHCGn5EJJ3MF&sadet=1347153338556&sads=WRTDqw_1uml2ceTloq6SnfHhD9k

what can be the issue? are there any specific drivers that i need to install on suse for the SAS controller other than that i have already installed

Your immediate response to this is highly appreciated

lash04
09-Sep-2012, 02:38
The following is the error output of the full backup of Oracle using SAP...

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/805/sapoutput.jpg/

Bob-O-Rama
09-Sep-2012, 04:00
So you got no errors? That's great news!

Anyway, there is nothing wrong with your tape drive. If you have a /dev/st0 and you can get data on / off of it, the drive is working. If SAP / Oracle cannot, its their problem. Perhaps they have a dependancy on some other package like mt-st?

Anyway, if you want to post the actual error message, we'd be happy to take a look.

-- Bob

lash04
09-Sep-2012, 05:03
Dear Bob,

Thanks for your response...

The problem is I get the following output as an error
"sapnode01:~ # mt -f /dev/st0 tell
mt: /dev/st0: Input/output error"

and the following error to from SAP backup

"Command output of 'LANG=C dd obs=64k bs=64k if=/oracle/SID/sapdata2/sr3_1/sr3.data1 of=/dev/nst0':
Copying /oracle/SID/sapdata2/sr3_1/sr3.data1 to/from /dev/nst0 failed due to previous errors"

What be the root cause for this??Your response is highly appreciated

malcolmlewis
09-Sep-2012, 05:37
Dear Bob,

Thanks for your response...

The problem is I get the following output as an error
"sapnode01:~ # mt -f /dev/st0 tell
mt: /dev/st0: Input/output error"

and the following error to from SAP backup

"Command output of 'LANG=C dd obs=64k bs=64k
if=/oracle/SID/sapdata2/sr3_1/sr3.data1 of=/dev/nst0':
Copying /oracle/SID/sapdata2/sr3_1/sr3.data1 to/from /dev/nst0 failed
due to previous errors"

What be the root cause for this??Your response is highly appreciated



Hi
Just an observation, your testing st0 and oracle is using nts0 is nts0
present?

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 12.2 (x86_64) Kernel 3.4.6-2.10-desktop
up 2 days 3:41, 3 users, load average: 0.14, 0.15, 0.14
CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU

lash04
09-Sep-2012, 06:19
Hi Malcolm,

Yes its present...

Bob-O-Rama
10-Sep-2012, 03:06
The problem is I get the following output as an error
"sapnode01:~ # mt -f /dev/st0 tell
mt: /dev/st0: Input/output error"


Yeah, that's going to fail, its not supported on many drives. c.f. man mt. Try the status command.




"Command output of 'LANG=C dd obs=64k bs=64k if=/oracle/SID/sapdata2/sr3_1/sr3.data1 of=/dev/nst0':
Copying /oracle/SID/sapdata2/sr3_1/sr3.data1 to/from /dev/nst0 failed due to previous errors"


God only knows. if the /oracle/SID/sapdata2/sr3_1/sr3.data1 still exists try doing the dd command from the command line. Seems like their backup script is not bothering to give you an actual error message. If you can dd obs=64k bs=64k if=any_file_at_all of=/dev/nst0 to work, then its not an issue with the tape drive, as you already confirmed with your tar backup / restore. Hopefully dd will be nice enough to bother to provide the actual error message.

Have you applied latest firmware to the server?

-- Bob

lash04
10-Sep-2012, 11:25
Hi Bob,

Thanks for immediate response on this matter.
I have created a test folder and a file using touch command.I have copied it as you said and following is the output:

sapnode01:~ # dd obs=64k bs=64k if=test123/sr3.data2 of=/dev/nst0
0+0 records in
0+0 records out
0 bytes (0 B) copied, 0.000105609 s, 0.0 kB/s

Are there any issues?? how to read the copied files in the tape..???

cjcox
10-Sep-2012, 22:53
On 09/08/2012 08:24 PM, lash04 wrote:
>
> Hi everyone,
>
> I have a tape drive that was working with SLES 11 SP1 perfectly, but
> the problem came after a fresh installation of SLES 11 SP2 SAP Version.
>
> Tape Device Model : HP Storage Works Ultrium 1760 SAS
> SAS Controller HP Smart Controller P212 - And I installed the
> following driver from HP
>
> RECOMMENDED * HP ProLiant Smart Array Controller (AMD64/EM64T) Driver
> for SUSE LINUX Enterprise Server 11 (AMD64/EM64T)
>
> Once I installed the driver I could see the tape device in /dev/st0
>
> hwinfo --tape output

..... snip...


You used to have to "prime the pump" with regards to the cciss driver and tape
drives. Not sure if this still holds true or not. So.. if you can identify the
tape drive on the cciss driver... you used to be able to look for this in
/proc/scsi/cciss<ctlr-num>/<id-num>

Once you identify the cciss device you'd do (let's say ctlr-num=0 and id-num=4):

echo 'engage' >/proc/scsi/cciss0/4

Now.. it's possible that all of this has moved to sysfs (under /sys) somewhere.

So.. anyhow, some old info that might still be of use... let us know.... I
don't have a SmartArray controller to play with right now.

Do a man on cciss... or you can look here(could be dated):
http://linux.die.net/man/4/cciss

Bob-O-Rama
11-Sep-2012, 00:18
Hi Bob,

Thanks for immediate response on this matter.
I have created a test folder and a file using touch command.I have copied it as you said and following is the output:

sapnode01:~ # dd obs=64k bs=64k if=test123/sr3.data2 of=/dev/nst0
0+0 records in
0+0 records out
0 bytes (0 B) copied, 0.000105609 s, 0.0 kB/s



The file created via touch will be zero bytes. zero bytes means zero blocks. so you asked dd to do nothing, and it obligingly followed orders. You need a real, actual file with data in it. Try this:

dd count=1000 ibs=1M obs=1M if=/dev/zero of=test123/bob

Now you have a 1GB test file, confirm it is 1GB in size. ls -lia test123/bob

NOW repeat your test:

dd ibs=64K obs=64K if=test123/bob of=/dev/nst0

And "Bob's your uncle" or whatever passes for "Voil!" where ever you happen to be.

Feel free and post the output of both dd operations above and the command used...

-- Bob

lash04
13-Sep-2012, 15:24
HI Bob,

Sorry for this late reply...we did that n it was successful...we actually used the dd of what is been used by SAP backup system n it worked. So it showed us that the Tape driver is working...but the problem is it doesn't do it with the SAP System...We need to take a Backup using SAP to do a Restoration at the DR Site.What can be the cause for this??

Bob-O-Rama
14-Sep-2012, 04:25
Unfortunately SAP support is far outside the context of the SLES hardware support forum. Clearly the tape drive works, the HBA its connected to works, the drivers involved work, and you can performs dd commands equivalent to those failing for SAP. I would assume something is bent on the SAP side of things. I would advise taking this over to the appropriate SAP support forums and posing the question there.

But for me, google seems to have some clues...

http://scn.sap.com/thread/2055526

and similar.

-- Bob

lash04
14-Sep-2012, 04:34
Dear Bob,

Thanks for all the support for us to clear out this issue...Thanks everyone.