PDA

View Full Version : SLES11SP2 on 3TB drive



toneyc
21-Sep-2012, 14:23
Looking for recommendations on how to install SLES11SP2 on a 3TB drive. The drive is a raid5 array made up of 600 GB drives with a single 2.7 TB logical drive. We would like to make it one single root partition but I'm having problems getting it to boot. I've tried:

GPT: 2 GB swap, 2 GB /boot ext3, and ~2.7 TB /root both btrfs and ext3.
MBR: 2 GB swap, but can't use more than 2 TB of the disk.
GPT: 2 GB swap, LVM with 158MB /boot and 2.7 TB volume (10 GB /root).
GPT: 2 GB swap, 1.99 TB /root ext3, ~800 GB /data ext3.

The first attempt at least booted once then couldn't find the boot device after installing the Service Pack for Proliant packages. All the rest just go into attempting PXE boot after the initial install first reboot. We really didn't want to break the raid into two logical drives, but for no real reason. Need help in a hurry, the server owner is threatening to install Windows!! :(

Thanks,
Toney.

malcolmlewis
21-Sep-2012, 14:56
Looking for recommendations on how to install SLES11SP2 on a 3TB drive.
The drive is a raid5 array made up of 600 GB drives with a single 2.7 TB
logical drive. We would like to make it one single root partition but
I'm having problems getting it to boot. I've tried:

GPT: 2 GB swap, 2 GB /boot ext3, and ~2.7 TB /root both btrfs and
ext3.
MBR: 2 GB swap, but can't use more than 2 TB of the disk.
GPT: 2 GB swap, LVM with 158MB /boot and 2.7 TB volume (10 GB /root).
GPT: 2 GB swap, 1.99 TB /root ext3, ~800 GB /data ext3.

The first attempt at least booted once then couldn't find the boot
device after installing the Service Pack for Proliant packages. All the
rest just go into attempting PXE boot after the initial install first
reboot. We really didn't want to break the raid into two logical drives,
but for no real reason. Need help in a hurry, the server owner is
threatening to install Windows!! :(

Thanks,
Toney.



Hi
Can you enable UEFI booting?
https://www.suse.com/releasenotes/x86_64/SUSE-SLED/11-SP2/#booting-2tib

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 12.2 (x86_64) Kernel 3.4.6-2.10-desktop
up 3 days 21:47, 4 users, load average: 0.07, 0.11, 0.13
CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU

KBOYLE
21-Sep-2012, 15:59
toneyc wrote:

> We would like to make it one single root partition

You could create a 500 MB /boot partition and use the rest for /. It
would solve the boot problem.

--
Kevin Boyle - Knowledge Partner
If you find this post helpful and are using the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below...

toneyc
21-Sep-2012, 19:16
Hi Kevin,

That was the first way that I did it and it did work the very first time but then I installed the HP Service Pack for Proliant and it would not boot again.

-Toney.

toneyc
21-Sep-2012, 19:18
Hi Malcolm,

Following your suggestion, I found this page:

http://www.novell.com/support/kb/doc.php?id=7003263

I followed that procedure and got a booting system! Now... Do I dare install the HP Service Pack for Proliant again?

Thanks!
Toney.

KBOYLE
21-Sep-2012, 20:06
toneyc wrote:

> Do I dare
> install the HP Service Pack for Proliant again?

The HP Service Pack for Proliant is a BIOS and firmware update, is it
not? If you actually applied it the first time, it should not need
updating again.

--
Kevin Boyle - Knowledge Partner
If you find this post helpful and are using the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below...

toneyc
24-Sep-2012, 15:31
It also includes HP drivers, management tools, and diagnostics.