PDA

View Full Version : Error occurred while installing GRUB



murally
03-Oct-2012, 08:33
Hello,

I'm trying to install SLES SP1 and SP2 over the network using AUTOYast. Everything goes through fine till the very end, where I face an issue with the bootloader installation.
Please refer to the attached image

https://www.dropbox.com/s/4loi1vmnlpwv1xq/grub.png

https://www.dropbox.com/s/4loi1vmnlpwv1xq/grub.png

I have no way of debugging what the error is, since I don't know where the logs (if any) are stored on the server.
I tried both the old and new versions of the bootloader section in the xml file. What I mean to say is, I've tried both of these:

<bootloader>
<loader_type>grub</loader_type>
<global>
<boot_root>true</boot_root>
</global>
</bootloader>

and

<bootloader>
<loader_type>grub</loader_type>
<location>mbr</location>
</bootloader>

I've tried two different copies of the ISO images, fearing there might be corruption. But I get the same error for both images, and for another SP1 image also.
I also know that I've had no problem installing SLES 11 (no SP) using autoyast, with the 2nd type of bootloader configuration entries. So this is specific to SP1 and SP2.

The hardware I'm trying to install this on is a Sun X2250 server with around 8 GB of RAM.

Any suggestions will be really helpful!

Thanks,
Murali

malcolmlewis
03-Oct-2012, 16:23
Hello,

I'm trying to install SLES SP1 and SP2 over the network using AUTOYast.
Everything goes through fine till the very end, where I face an issue
with the bootloader installation.
Please refer to the attached image

[image: https://www.dropbox.com/s/4loi1vmnlpwv1xq/grub.png]

I have no way of debugging what the error is, since I don't know where
the logs (if any) are stored on the server.
I tried both the old and new versions of the bootloader section in the
xml file. What I mean to say is, I've tried both of these:

<bootloader>
<loader_type>grub</loader_type>
<global>
<boot_root>true</boot_root>
</global>
</bootloader>

and

<bootloader>
<loader_type>grub</loader_type>
<location>mbr</location>
</bootloader>

I've tried two different copies of the ISO images, fearing there might
be corruption. But I get the same error for both images, and for another
SP1 image also.
I also know that I've had no problem installing SLES 11 (no SP) using
autoyast, with the 2nd type of bootloader configuration entries. So this
is specific to SP1 and SP2.

The hardware I'm trying to install this on is a Sun X2250 server with
around 8 GB of RAM.

Any suggestions will be really helpful!

Thanks,
Murali



Hi
The problem is the application isn't installed..... I'm not an autoyast
expert, but would expect the file (as in grub) mentioned in your
applications to be installed?

Maybe this document will help?
https://www.suse.com/documentation/sles11/singlehtml/book_autoyast/book_autoyast.html

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 12.2 (x86_64) Kernel 3.4.6-2.10-desktop
up 1 day 22:17, 3 users, load average: 0.03, 0.05, 0.05
CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU

murally
03-Oct-2012, 16:35
[QUOTE=malcolmlewis;9272]Hi
The problem is the application isn't installed..... I'm not an autoyast
expert, but would expect the file (as in grub) mentioned in your
applications to be installed?

Maybe this document will help?
https://www.suse.com/documentation/sles11/singlehtml/book_autoyast/book_autoyast.html

--
Hi Malcolm

Thanks for the response. I'm not really sure what you mean by "application" here. Are you referring to 'grub' itself as the application?
If so, I'm not really how I can ensure that grub gets added to the list of software that gets added. I just choose the 'default' software configuration to be installed.

I've referred to the document you've pointed me to. That's where I picked up the 1st bootloader (the one with globals) configuration that I mentioned, from.

Thanks,
Murali

malcolmlewis
04-Oct-2012, 00:00
malcolmlewis;9272 Wrote:
> Hi
> The problem is the application isn't installed..... I'm not an
> autoyast
> expert, but would expect the file (as in grub) mentioned in your
> applications to be installed?
>
> Maybe this document will help?
> https://www.suse.com/documentation/sles11/singlehtml/book_autoyast/book_autoyast.html
>
> --
> Hi Malcolm
>
> Thanks for the response. I'm not really sure what you mean by
> "application" here. Are you referring to 'grub' itself as the
> application?
> If so, I'm not really how I can ensure that grub gets added to the
> list of software that gets added. I just choose the 'default' software
> configuration to be installed.
>
> I've referred to the document you've pointed me to. That's where I
> picked up the 1st bootloader (the one with globals) configuration
> that I mentioned, from.
>
> Thanks,
> Murali



Hi
You should have something like this?


<install>
<bootloader>
<activate config:type="boolean">false</activate>
<global config:type="list">
<global_entry>
<key>color</key>
<value>white/blue black/light-gray</value>
</global_entry>
<global_entry>
<key>default</key>
<value config:type="integer">0</value>
</global_entry>
<global_entry>
<key>timeout</key>
<value config:type="integer">8</value>
</global_entry>
</global>
<loader_type>grub</loader_type>
<location>mbr</location>
<repl_mbr config:type="boolean">true</repl_mbr>
</bootloader>

Here's another link which may help: http://users.suse.com/~ug/

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 12.2 (x86_64) Kernel 3.4.6-2.10-desktop
up 4:47, 3 users, load average: 0.20, 0.15, 0.17
CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU