PDA

View Full Version : gfortran command was not found when compiling some R package



davidehs
10-Oct-2012, 15:25
I am trying to install some R packages for my data analysis. Most of them were installed successfully. But some issued the error messages "make: gfortran: Command not found". Do you guys know where I can get the linux package including gfortran command?


I am running SLES11. Here is the output from SuSE-release file.
cat /etc/SuSE-release
SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 11 (x86_64)
VERSION = 11
PATCHLEVEL = 1

I regularly update my system. Do not understand why gfortran package is not included in SUSE system?

Thanks very much for you guys help!


David

malcolmlewis
10-Oct-2012, 16:30
I am trying to install some R packages for my data analysis. Most of
them were installed successfully. But some issued the error messages
"make: gfortran: Command not found". Do you guys know where I can get
the linux package including gfortran command?


I am running SLES11. Here is the output from SuSE-release file.
cat /etc/SuSE-release
SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 11 (x86_64)
VERSION = 11
PATCHLEVEL = 1

I regularly update my system. Do not understand why gfortran package is
not included in SUSE system?

Thanks very much for you guys help!


David



Hi
You need to add the SLE 11 SP1 SDK;
http://download.novell.com/Download?buildid=zzeQqpY9nK4~

Download the iso image and add this via YaST -> Add on products.



zypper if gcc-fortran
Refreshing service 'nu_novell_com'.
Loading repository data...
Reading installed packages...


Information for package gcc-fortran:

Repository: SLE11-SDK-SP1-Pool
Name: gcc-fortran
Version: 4.3-62.198
Arch: i586
Vendor: SUSE LINUX Products GmbH, Nuernberg, Germany
Support Level: unknown
Installed: No
Status: not installed
Installed Size: 0 B
Summary: The system GNU Fortran Compiler
Description:
The system GNU Fortran Compiler.


--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 12.2 (x86_64) Kernel 3.4.6-2.10-desktop
up 1:24, 4 users, load average: 0.09, 0.29, 0.22
CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU

davidehs
10-Oct-2012, 20:50
Thanks very much, malcolmlewis. The problem was solved by following your suggestion. Really appreciate your help!

David