PDA

View Full Version : SLES CD/DVD not available remotely



NovAlf
11-Nov-2012, 18:53
Hi!
I have by third party setup SLES 11 SP1. I must handle it further. First I tried to change language, during that I got notice, that installation source (CD/DVD) not available. Well, everything went ok with changing language, but I wonder how can I (wo asking third party) to change this repo to ... something I can make available? Probably later I need also access to original source, correct? Copying ISO and mounting there, perhaps, but, where I can get this correct "SUSE-Linux-Enterprise-Server-11-SP1 11.1.1-1.152"? I've registered SLES. Via Customer Center I see "SLES-11-SP1-DVD-x86_64-GM-DVD1.iso". This SLES is installed on VMware, but "original" SLES, specially asked for OES11 to be installed later.
More thanks, Alar.

malcolmlewis
11-Nov-2012, 19:19
On Sun 11 Nov 2012 05:54:03 PM CST, NovAlf wrote:


Hi!
I have by third party setup SLES 11 SP1. I must handle it further.
First I tried to change language, during that I got notice, that
installation source (CD/DVD) not available. Well, everything went ok
with changing language, but I wonder how can I (wo asking third party)
to change this repo to ... something I can make available? Probably
later I need also access to original source, correct? Copying ISO and
mounting there, perhaps, but, where I can get this correct
"SUSE-Linux-Enterprise-Server-11-SP1 11.1.1-1.152"? I've registered
SLES. Via Customer Center I see "SLES-11-SP1-DVD-x86_64-GM-DVD1.iso".
This SLES is installed on VMware, but "original" SLES, specially asked
for OES11 to be installed later.
More thanks, Alar.




Hi
Is the original install media repository active? If so disable (I
normally keep and set priority to 199) then is should use the online
repositories.

Hmm, you may need to download the Vmware SLES iso image then....

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 12.2 (x86_64) Kernel 3.4.11-2.16-desktop
up 1 day 14:37, 3 users, load average: 0.16, 0.15, 0.13
CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU

NovAlf
11-Nov-2012, 19:57
Hi and thanks!
I'll disable it. Will it take then all it need online?
No-no, I meant under "original" that on this VMware is installed regular SLES as we need to put on this box OES11 and as was told from Novell forums -- better to have "original", not SLES for VMware.
More thanks, Alar.

malcolmlewis
11-Nov-2012, 22:05
On Sun 11 Nov 2012 07:04:01 PM CST, NovAlf wrote:


Hi and thanks!
I'll disable it. Will it take then all it need online?
No-no, I meant under "original" that on this VMware is installed
regular SLES as we need to put on this box OES11 and as was told from
Novell forums -- better to have "original", not SLES for VMware.
More thanks, Alar.




Hi
I'm not sure about OES installs, but more than likely you need to do a
proper install in the VM of SLES/OES as per the install instructions.
Suggest you head back to the OES forum for clarification.

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 12.2 (x86_64) Kernel 3.4.11-2.16-desktop
up 1 day 17:23, 3 users, load average: 1.44, 1.52, 1.34
CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU