PDA

View Full Version : SLES 11 Static IP No Adsl



spbcoward
12-Dec-2012, 08:59
I have recently install SLES11 on a Dell server behind a Netgear DGND3300v2 modem/router.

Problem: ADSL drops when server is configured with static IP, which I require for eDirectory (OES).

ROUTER STATUS (static ip address and dns loaded with settings from ISP, dhcp active restricted to .200-.254)

ADSL=
IP Address 165.228.32.242
Network Type PPPoE
IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255
Gateway IP Address
165.228.3.1
Domain Name Server
139.130.4.4
203.50.2.71

LAN=
IP Address 192.168.0.1
DHCP On
IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

linux-qbk1:/home/simon/Desktop # ifconfig

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr D0:67:E5:E5:28:93
inet addr:192.168.0.10 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::d267:e5ff:fee5:2893/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:86 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:5652 (5.5 Kb)
Interrupt:16

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:953 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:953 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:80792 (78.8 Kb) TX bytes:80792 (78.8 Kb)



linux-qbk1:/home/simon/Desktop # dhcpcd-test eth0

info, eth0: hardware address = d0:67:e5:e5:28:93
info, eth0: broadcasting for a lease
debug, eth0: sending DHCP_DISCOVER with xid 0x8354241
debug, eth0: waiting for 10 seconds
debug, eth0: got a packet with xid 0x8354241
info, eth0: offered 192.168.1.101 from 192.168.1.1
IPADDR='192.168.1.101'
NETMASK='255.255.255.0'
NETWORK='192.168.1.0'
BROADCAST='192.168.1.255'
ROUTES=''
GATEWAYS='192.168.1.1'
DNSDOMAIN='netgear.com'
DNSSERVERS='192.168.1.1'
DHCPSID='192.168.1.1'
LEASETIME='86400'
RENEWALTIME='43200'
REBINDTIME='75600'
INTERFACE='eth0'
CLASSID='dhcpcd 3.2.3'
CLIENTID='01:d0:67:e5:e5:28:93'
DHCPCHADDR='d0:67:e5:e5:28:93'
info, eth0: exiting
linux-qbk1:/home/simon/Desktop #

***********

I do not understand this output. It seems to be saying that my server network card is configured on subnet 192.168.1. My default gateway is 192.168.0.1 which is a different subnet and may explain why there is no adsl but not why this is happening at all.

I tried configuring the router to a different subnet... ie 192.168.1.0 and changing the the server static to 192.168.1.10. Stll no joy.

Another variation was to to try PPPoE vs PPPoA on the router side of things. No joy.

I tried bridging the router (modem only).... but of course lost ADSL to wireless devices.

Thank you for yor help

Simon

jmozdzen
12-Dec-2012, 15:11
Hi Simon,

if there are no other devices connected to the Netgear, then my first guess would be that the DHCP server on the Netgear is configured to hand out IP addresses in the wrong IP range. But that part is rather inconsistent, because:

> dhcp active restricted to .200-.254
> [...]
> [... Router LAN...] IP Address 192.168.0.1
> [...]
> info, eth0: offered 192.168.1.101 from 192.168.1.1

So you say your router has a LAN IP 192.168.0.1, has DHCP active and should hand out addresses from 192.168.0.200 to 192.168.0.254.
You actually receive an IP address 192.168.1.101 from the DHCP server running on a host with IP address 192.168.1.1. If there's no other DHCP server than the router, that must be mis-configured.

Have you tried rebooting the router to make sure that your configuration changes are actually in effect? What happens when you use the IP configuration handed out by the router, do you then have connectivity to the router and with what addresses?

Regards,
Jens

spbcoward
15-Dec-2012, 08:21
Hi Simon,

if there are no other devices connected to the Netgear, then my first guess would be that the DHCP server on the Netgear is configured to hand out IP addresses in the wrong IP range. But that part is rather inconsistent, because:

> dhcp active restricted to .200-.254
> [...]
> [... Router LAN...] IP Address 192.168.0.1
> [...]
> info, eth0: offered 192.168.1.101 from 192.168.1.1

So you say your router has a LAN IP 192.168.0.1, has DHCP active and should hand out addresses from 192.168.0.200 to 192.168.0.254.
You actually receive an IP address 192.168.1.101 from the DHCP server running on a host with IP address 192.168.1.1. If there's no other DHCP server than the router, that must be mis-configured.

Have you tried rebooting the router to make sure that your configuration changes are actually in effect? What happens when you use the IP configuration handed out by the router, do you then have connectivity to the router and with what addresses?

Regards,
Jens


Thank you for Replying Jens,

I have gone through the LAN and discovered (in a manual) that Netgear switch has a DHCP server facility. I am going to download the software tomorrow to have a look..... everything is pointing to another DHCP server in this network that is pushing the incorrect ip to the Linux box. I will let you know.

regards

Simon

jmozdzen
16-Dec-2012, 16:18
Hi Simon,

yes, it'd be a good idea to get that conflicting DHCP server disabled. Typically, no special software is needed to do this - a console login (or ssh/telnet/http) should be sufficient.

The original question then remains to be answered: As I understood it, you'd like the SLES server to have a static IP address - which would then have to be a free IP address in the 192.168.0.2 to .199 address range. You should be able to get your server set up with such an address, have the default route and DNS resolver point to your Internet router (192.168.0.1) and then be able to access the Internet from the SLES11 server (and so the title "no ADSL" is a bit misleading - seems to me like the router uplink is active all the time - it's just that server that cannot reach the router).

Have you ever tested that setup?

Regards,
Jens