PDA

View Full Version : VNC on windows 7



Stevo
12-Feb-2013, 22:48
Anyone using ultravnc on windows 7? We are, and it works for the most
part. We do run into the issue once in a while where the settings on
the 'server' (client pc) change on their own to things like:

Disable viewer inputs is enabled
the password gets changed

and some misc others, but these two severely hamper our ability to
remotely help users.

Anyone else run into this & figure out a way to resolve it?

I do have a copy of the ultravnc.ini file that I have copied to
machines via unc path, etc, and the settings seem to hold, just
wondering if anyone figured any other way to fix this.

--
Stevo

Joseph Marton
12-Feb-2013, 23:41
Stevo wrote:

> Anyone else run into this & figure out a way to resolve it?

Sure... use ZCM 11. Its remote control works just peachy with Windows
7. :-)

--
Does this washcloth smell like chloroform?

Stevo
13-Feb-2013, 00:04
Joseph Marton sounds like they 'said':

> Sure... use ZCM 11. Its remote control works just peachy with Windows
> 7. :-)

So my response to Joseph's comment is...

I'm sorry, this forum is not to be used for Novell specific support,
please direct your post to the appropriate forum, thank you. :-)

We don't have zen here.............. :-(

--
Stevo

W_ Prindl
13-Feb-2013, 00:57
I am using UltraVNC (sometimes) and set it to require Windows
credentials for remote access. I have not seen the problems you
describe on my UltraVNC servers - perhaps somebody or some application
is changing those settings.

More often I use TightVNC, which is IMO better over slow WAN links.
--
W. Prindl


Stevo wrote:

>Anyone using ultravnc on windows 7? We are, and it works for the most
>part. We do run into the issue once in a while where the settings on
>the 'server' (client pc) change on their own to things like:
>
>Disable viewer inputs is enabled
>the password gets changed
>
>and some misc others, but these two severely hamper our ability to
>remotely help users.
>
>Anyone else run into this & figure out a way to resolve it?
>
>I do have a copy of the ultravnc.ini file that I have copied to
>machines via unc path, etc, and the settings seem to hold, just
>wondering if anyone figured any other way to fix this.

Joseph Marton
13-Feb-2013, 01:20
Stevo wrote:

> I'm sorry, this forum is not to be used for Novell specific support,

Good thing I'm using this forum for Novell specific sales. :-)

> We don't have zen here.............. :-(

Hey the Novell sales team in your area can help fix that...

--
Does this washcloth smell like chloroform?

Stevo
13-Feb-2013, 15:46
Joseph Marton sounds like they 'said':

> Hey the Novell sales team in your area can help fix that...

So my response to Joseph's comment is...

Unfortunately we're moving towards am M$ environment...... :-(((

--
Stevo

kgroneman
13-Feb-2013, 18:51
I use Ultravnc, have for a few years, and haven't experienced the
issues you describe. It runs without problem for me.

On my machine I VNC into, I'm running UltraVNC Win32 Server 1.0.9.6.1,
Build May 18 2011

--
Kim - 2/13/2013 10:48:23 AM

KeN Etter
13-Feb-2013, 19:27
On Wed, 13 Feb 2013 14:46:26 GMT, "Stevo" <steveSPAM@LESSccgov.net>
wrote:

>Joseph Marton sounds like they 'said':
>
>> Hey the Novell sales team in your area can help fix that...
>
>So my response to Joseph's comment is...
>
>Unfortunately we're moving towards am M$ environment...... :-(((

You have my sympathy.

Joseph Marton
13-Feb-2013, 19:29
Stevo wrote:

> Unfortunately we're moving towards am M$ environment...... :-(((

And??

We have plenty of customers using ZCM who are otherwise all MS shops.

--
Does this washcloth smell like chloroform?

Stevo
13-Feb-2013, 21:15
KeN Etter sounds like they 'said':

> You have my sympathy.

So my response to KeN's comment is...

I'm not looking forward to it..........

--
Stevo

Stevo
13-Feb-2013, 21:17
Joseph Marton sounds like they 'said':

> We have plenty of customers using ZCM who are otherwise all MS shops.

So my response to Joseph's comment is...

I'm guessing that would mean add'l licensing. We will end up with only
Groupwise licensing eventually, and if we didn't need exchange
licensing I'm sure we'd go that way.

Boss has even hinted around about dropping vmware since that requires
add'l licensing as well.

--
Stevo

Stevo
13-Feb-2013, 21:18
kgroneman sounds like they 'said':

> On my machine I VNC into, I'm running UltraVNC Win32 Server 1.0.9.6.1,
> Build May 18 2011

So my response to kgroneman's comment is...

That's the build I'm running I believe, version anyway. Works fine for
the most part, just have machines now and then that decide to change
options & password out of the blue.

--
Stevo

Joseph Marton
13-Feb-2013, 23:22
Stevo wrote:

> I'm guessing that would mean add'l licensing. We will end up with
> only Groupwise licensing eventually,

Correct, ZCM isn't free. :-) But you know if you are under 200 users
(for some reason I thought you were), you could look into NOWS-SBE
which is *very* affordable and would include ZCM. Heck looking at list
prices, one year of NOWS-SBE priority maintenance is actually a few
bucks less than one year of GW priority maintenance. And then you'd
have OES, GW, ZCM, ZESM, Vibe, and a few products from the SUSE folks.

--
Does this washcloth smell like chloroform?

Stevo
14-Feb-2013, 15:50
Joseph Marton sounds like they 'said':

> Correct, ZCM isn't free. :-) But you know if you are under 200 users
> (for some reason I thought you were), you could look into NOWS-SBE
> which is very affordable and would include ZCM. Heck looking at list
> prices, one year of NOWS-SBE priority maintenance is actually a few
> bucks less than one year of GW priority maintenance. And then you'd
> have OES, GW, ZCM, ZESM, Vibe, and a few products from the SUSE folks.

So my response to Joseph's comment is...

We are over 600 users.........

--
Stevo

Joseph Marton
15-Feb-2013, 02:25
Stevo wrote:

> We are over 600 users.........

Oops... so scratch the NOWS-SBE comment. Though you could still look
into regular NOWS, great way to get a bundle of products at a reduced
price.

Whether you do consider NOWS or not, still may be worth giving ZCM a
look. I couldn't fathom running a 600-user shop without having some
sort of endpoint/desktop management solution in place.

--
Does this washcloth smell like chloroform?

Stevo
15-Feb-2013, 15:50
Joseph Marton sounds like they 'said':

> Whether you do consider NOWS or not, still may be worth giving ZCM a
> look. I couldn't fathom running a 600-user shop without having some
> sort of endpoint/desktop management solution in place.

So my response to Joseph's comment is...

Kinda used to it. I don't see us looking at anything like that unless
it's something that only needs M$ cals, since we had to buy a bunch of
those for our timeclock solution. Boss has direct orders to cut annual
operating costs, that's a big reason for leaving edir for ad.

--
Stevo

Joseph Marton
15-Feb-2013, 18:12
Stevo wrote:

> Kinda used to it. I don't see us looking at anything like that unless
> it's something that only needs M$ cals, since we had to buy a bunch of
> those for our timeclock solution. Boss has direct orders to cut
> annual operating costs, that's a big reason for leaving edir for ad.

Hmm... leaving Novell to move to MS to save costs when MS is raising
their user CAL pricing as a result of more people using mobile devices
and also to make up for lack of Windows 8 sales. Interesting.

Regardless, ZCM doesn't necessarily require any additional costs since
you can just leverage existing Windows servers or can be installed as
an appliance. And if anything, moving to some sort of endpoint
management solution is probably going to save costs in the long run.

--
Does this washcloth smell like chloroform?

Stevo
15-Feb-2013, 21:15
Joseph Marton sounds like they 'said':

> Hmm... leaving Novell to move to MS to save costs when MS is raising
> their user CAL pricing as a result of more people using mobile devices
> and also to make up for lack of Windows 8 sales. Interesting.

So my response to Joseph's comment is...

Not my call. I've been fighting it for a long time. Boss wants to be
able to drop the annual edir maint on edir licensing.......pathetic

--
Stevo

Joseph Marton
15-Feb-2013, 21:18
Stevo wrote:

> Not my call. I've been fighting it for a long time. Boss wants to be
> able to drop the annual edir maint on edir licensing.......pathetic

And instead pay for SA with Windows CALs?

--
Does this washcloth smell like chloroform?

Stevo
15-Feb-2013, 21:36
Joseph Marton sounds like they 'said':

> And instead pay for SA with Windows CALs?

So my response to Joseph's comment is...

Yeah, reason being, we need the SA on CALs for our timeclock
application anyway.

--
Stevo

KBOYLE
15-Feb-2013, 23:21
Stevo wrote:

> Yeah, reason being, we need the SA on CALs for our timeclock
> application anyway.

That seems to be a recurring theme: "We are forced to install a
Microsoft server to support a specific application. Since it can also
do what our Novell software does, why should we pay for both?"

Well, it may not do everything the Novell software does but it's
difficult to justify paying twice for essentially the same
functionality. If only there were some business applications that
"required" a Novell OS to run. ;-)

--
Kevin Boyle - Knowledge Partner
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below...

Stevo
15-Feb-2013, 23:37
KBOYLE sounds like they 'said':

> Well, it may not do everything the Novell software does but it's
> difficult to justify paying twice for essentially the same
> functionality. If only there were some business applications that
> "required" a Novell OS to run. ;-)

So my response to KBOYLE's comment is...

No kidding!

--
Stevo

Douglas Black
18-Feb-2013, 20:19
Stevo,
>
> Kinda used to it. I don't see us looking at anything like that unless
> it's something that only needs M$ cals, since we had to buy a bunch of
> those for our timeclock solution. Boss has direct orders to cut annual
> operating costs, that's a big reason for leaving edir for ad.
>

And he thinks switching to an all-Microsoft environment will save money
in the long term? That's adorable.

Stevo
19-Feb-2013, 15:49
Douglas Black sounds like they 'said':

> And he thinks switching to an all-Microsoft environment will save
> money in the long term? That's adorable.

So my response to Douglas's comment is...

You're preachin to the choir..............

--
Stevo