PDA

View Full Version : SLES-sp2 for vmware dvd #2 download error



darinper
03-Jun-2013, 17:33
I don't have a Novell/SuSE CID so I can't file a service request, the "non-technical" chat has gotten me nowhere, and this probably isn't the right forum but there's no general forum so I'm using it.

I'm taking advantage of the SLES for Vmware offerings my employer is entitled too because due to our vsphere licenses. I can download DVD1 without issue but any attempts to download either the i586 or x86_64 DVD2's result in a status=502, and I've tried multiple browsers, wget, aria2c, with http_proxy in front of me. The link I'm using is http://cdn.novell.com/prot/51050JB8KJo~/SLES-11-SP2-for-VMware-DVD-x86_64-GM-DVD2.iso

Can someone from Novell or SuSE please look into this and fix this issue?

SLES-11-SP2-for-VMware-DVD-i586-GM-DVD2.iso
SLES-11-SP2-for-VMware-DVD-x86_64-GM-DVD2.iso

ab
03-Jun-2013, 18:13
Just to be clear this DVD is not usually required for a basic install and
contains stuff for development (like source code) and possibly some other
headers or -devel libraries. If you are just planning on building a SLES
box generally, ignore it.

With that said, this URL is working for me currently using curl:

Code:
----------
curl --user usernameHere -O
http://cdn.novell.com/prot/51050JB8KJo~/SLES-11-SP2-for-VMware-DVD-x86_64-GM-DVD2.iso
----------

Good luck.

darinper
03-Jun-2013, 18:56
Yes, I'm aware it contains -devel libs, source code, etc...I need to build packages/code on sles that's why I need it. I've just attempted to download the iso from outside my employers network and it's started, which is odd. I'll need to followup with our IT staff about this.

thanks!

malcolmlewis
03-Jun-2013, 19:15
On Mon 03 Jun 2013 06:04:02 PM CDT, darinper wrote:


Yes, I'm aware it contains -devel libs, source code, etc...I need to
build packages/code on sles that's why I need it. I've just attempted to
download the iso from outside my employers network and it's started,
which is odd. I'll need to followup with our IT staff about this.

thanks!




Hi
Have you looked at the public open build service, or you own OBS
instance?
https://build.opensuse.org/
http://en.opensuse.org/OBS

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 12.3 (x86_64) Kernel 3.7.10-1.11-desktop
up 15:42, 4 users, load average: 0.17, 0.08, 0.06
CPU AMD Athlon(tm) II P360@2.30GHz | GPU Mobility Radeon HD 4200

darinper
03-Jun-2013, 19:36
Hi Malcolm,

I use OBS quite extensively, I just accepted your server:monitoring/sec SR ;-), and do run a local instance as well. I do want the ability to build outside of OBS to debug issues that may arise but more importantly to be able to deploy a full server instance if need be.

thanks!

malcolmlewis
03-Jun-2013, 23:55
On Mon 03 Jun 2013 06:44:03 PM CDT, darinper wrote:


Hi Malcolm,

I use OBS quite extensively, I just accepted your server:monitoring/sec
SR ;-), and do run a local instance as well. I do want the ability to
build outside of OBS to debug issues that may arise but more importantly
to be able to deploy a full server instance if need be.

thanks!




Hi
Ahh so your THAT Darin ;)

Yes, OBS changes the way things are built, especially if wanting to
rebuild a rpm with rpmbuild --rebuild.....

If you use wget, then you need to ignore the authenticate challenge;


wget --auth-no-challenge --http-user=username.......


This is my standard blurb for the http proxy;

Your proxy should should accept Novell domain (or at least selected
sites used like nu.novell.com and secure.novell.com) without
authentication.

You need to populate proxy setting in YAST and to add two lines
with your proxy information to /etc/profile, for example:

export http_proxy="http://10.10.1.1:8081/"
export https_proxy="https://10.10.1.1:8081/"

As well as the /root/.curlrc

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 12.3 (x86_64) Kernel 3.7.10-1.11-desktop
up 0:52, 3 users, load average: 0.06, 0.13, 0.13
CPU AMD Athlon(tm) II P360@2.30GHz | GPU Mobility Radeon HD 4200