PDA

View Full Version : SLES 11 SP! on HP Proliant DL360 G5



Panchux
07-Dec-2011, 01:26
Hi Linux gurus, I need your help and knowledge once more.

I'm trying to install SLES 11 SP1 on an old HP DL360 G5 server. This
server has an HP Smart Array E200i controller so CCISS drivers must be
installed.
The installation DVD loads these drivers ok and recognizes the 2
logical drives (4 146GB SAS drives with RAID 1+0 configuration) without
any problem. Installation runs really smooth but after the very first
reboot an error is shown and no OS is loaded.

Any idea and/or advice will be really welcome,

Francisco


--
Panchux
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Panchux's Profile: http://forums.novell.com/member.php?userid=92554
View this thread: http://forums.novell.com/showthread.php?t=449246

malcolmlewis
07-Dec-2011, 01:43
On Wed, 07 Dec 2011 00:26:02 GMT
Panchux <Panchux@no-mx.forums.novell.com> wrote:

>
> Hi Linux gurus, I need your help and knowledge once more.
>
> I'm trying to install SLES 11 SP1 on an old HP DL360 G5 server. This
> server has an HP Smart Array E200i controller so CCISS drivers must be
> installed.
> The installation DVD loads these drivers ok and recognizes the 2
> logical drives (4 146GB SAS drives with RAID 1+0 configuration)
> without any problem. Installation runs really smooth but after the
> very first reboot an error is shown and no OS is loaded.
>
> Any idea and/or advice will be really welcome,
>
> Francisco
>
>
Hi
That can be seen sometimes on systems that haven't had the BIOS and/or
controller firmware updated. I suggest in the first instance to check
the HP site for updates on your hardware.

If you boot from the install media and select boot from the hard drive,
does it boot?

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 11.4 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.37.6-0.9-desktop
up 11:29, 3 users, load average: 0.13, 0.18, 0.16
GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - Driver Version: 290.10

franciscojavierg
07-Dec-2011, 11:26
Hi Malcolm, The answer is no, it does not boot at all. It just displays
an "No operating system found" message.
The strange thing is that installer do find the disks and install OS
properlly and openSUSE 12.1 installs just fine.

Thanks,

Pancho


--
franciscojavierg
------------------------------------------------------------------------
franciscojavierg's Profile: http://forums.novell.com/member.php?userid=92562
View this thread: http://forums.novell.com/showthread.php?t=449246

malcolmlewis
07-Dec-2011, 14:09
On Wed, 07 Dec 2011 10:26:01 GMT
franciscojavierg <franciscojavierg@no-mx.forums.novell.com> wrote:

>
> Hi Malcolm, The answer is no, it does not boot at all. It just
> displays an "No operating system found" message.
> The strange thing is that installer do find the disks and install OS
> properlly and openSUSE 12.1 installs just fine.
>
> Thanks,
>
> Pancho
>
>
Hi
If you check on the 12.1 boot, what modules are loading for the
controller. The later kernel probably has it built in, for the 2.6.32
it probably needs to be added (temporary in grub options), then to
modules loaded at boot.

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 11.4 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.37.6-0.9-desktop
up 23:55, 3 users, load average: 0.16, 0.05, 0.06
GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - Driver Version: 290.10

Panchux
07-Dec-2011, 17:36
Malcolm, I did

#lsmod | grep cciss

and

#lsmod | grep hpsa

and modules are being loaded. Logical drives can be found under
/dev/cciss/c0d0

I have just updated the BIOS version to its latest and I'm planning to
update the controller firmware too.

Thanks, I'll come with news soon,

Pancho


--
Panchux
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Panchux's Profile: http://forums.novell.com/member.php?userid=92554
View this thread: http://forums.novell.com/showthread.php?t=449246

Panchux
07-Dec-2011, 19:56
I updated both firmwares (system and controller) and error keeps the
same.

I've found it's a grub error and I'm not the first dealing with it.
After installing the OS in English the error now is "Error loading
operating system" and that error leadme to GRUB.

it seems grub's configuration files are

/boot/grub/menu.lst
/etc/grub.conf
/etc/sysconfig/bootloader

I've used the rescue system option and checked all 3 files and nothing
appears to be wrong. I also compared those files with another SLES11
server and they really seem ok.

I'll keep investigating with this hint I've found.

As always any ideas will be much appreciated,

Pancho


--
Panchux
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Panchux's Profile: http://forums.novell.com/member.php?userid=92554
View this thread: http://forums.novell.com/showthread.php?t=449246

malcolmlewis
07-Dec-2011, 23:50
On Wed, 07 Dec 2011 18:56:02 GMT
Panchux <Panchux@no-mx.forums.novell.com> wrote:

>
> I updated both firmwares (system and controller) and error keeps the
> same.
>
> I've found it's a grub error and I'm not the first dealing with it.
> After installing the OS in English the error now is "Error loading
> operating system" and that error leadme to GRUB.
>
> it seems grub's configuration files are
>
> /boot/grub/menu.lst
> /etc/grub.conf
> /etc/sysconfig/bootloader
>
> I've used the rescue system option and checked all 3 files and nothing
> appears to be wrong. I also compared those files with another SLES11
> server and they really seem ok.
>
> I'll keep investigating with this hint I've found.
>
> As always any ideas will be much appreciated,
>
> Pancho
>
>
Hi
The only thing I can think of is creating a separate partition
for /boot (512MB is plenty) that's outside of your RAID array.

What filesystem are you using as on your RAID array?

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 11.4 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.37.6-0.9-desktop
up 1 day 9:30, 4 users, load average: 0.07, 0.10, 0.13
GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - Driver Version: 290.10

Panchux
13-Dec-2011, 12:36
Malcolm, the problem was solved by a (lucky) coworker that did the
installation with a 512MB primary partition for /boot.
This partition was inside de RAID since we cannot add nor remove any
disk from it.

As always, in all forums, I really appreciate your help and effort.

Pancho


--
Panchux
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Panchux's Profile: http://forums.novell.com/member.php?userid=92554
View this thread: http://forums.novell.com/showthread.php?t=449246