PDA

View Full Version : SLES11 ignores default runlevel



Mirko Guldner
12-Sep-2013, 14:59
Hi,

my SLES 11 servers all boot to runlevel 5 even though default runlevel is
set to 3. Since I almost never use the GUI on Linux servers I'd prefer 3...

# cat /etc/inittab | grep :initdefault
id:3:initdefault:

# cat /var/log/boot.msg | grep "runlevel"
INIT: Entering runlevel: 5
Master Resource Control: previous runlevel: N, switching to runlevel: 5
Master Resource Control: runlevel 5 has been reached
Skipped services in runlevel 5: nfs splash smartd

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Mirko

Magic31
12-Sep-2013, 16:13
Hi,

my SLES 11 servers all boot to runlevel 5 even though default runlevel is
set to 3. Since I almost never use the GUI on Linux servers I'd prefer 3...

# cat /etc/inittab | grep :initdefault
id:3:initdefault:

# cat /var/log/boot.msg | grep "runlevel"
INIT: Entering runlevel: 5
Master Resource Control: previous runlevel: N, switching to runlevel: 5
Master Resource Control: runlevel 5 has been reached
Skipped services in runlevel 5: nfs splash smartd

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Mirko

My first thought would be to check the bootloader /boot/grub/menu.lst statements to see if an "init 5" has been included there?

Having a read through the /var/log/boot.msg might also reveal who/what is calling runlevel 5.

-Willem

Mirko Guldner
19-Sep-2013, 16:00
There is no 'init 5' in menu.lst. I'm not sure what exactly to look for in
boot.msg... there is no 'init 5'. There this:

System Boot Control: Running /etc/init.d/boot.local
done
INIT: Entering runlevel: 5

/etc/init.d/boot.local is empty, only comments.

I see several occurrences of variable RUNLEVEL=5 - but I don't see where
this comes from. I afraid I'm missing something obvious...

Thanks,
Mirko


Magic31 wrote:


>
> Mirko Guldner;16228 Wrote:
>> Hi,
>>
>> my SLES 11 servers all boot to runlevel 5 even though default runlevel
>> is
>> set to 3. Since I almost never use the GUI on Linux servers I'd prefer
>> 3...
>>
>> # cat /etc/inittab | grep :initdefault
>> id:3:initdefault:
>>
>> # cat /var/log/boot.msg | grep "runlevel"
>> INIT: Entering runlevel: 5
>> Master Resource Control: previous runlevel: N, switching to runlevel: 5
>> Master Resource Control: runlevel 5 has been reached
>> Skipped services in runlevel 5: nfs splash smartd
>>
>> Any ideas?
>>
>> Thanks,
>> Mirko
>
> My first thought would be to check the bootloader /boot/grub/menu.lst
> statements to see if an "init 5" has been included there?
>
> Having a read through the /var/log/boot.msg might also reveal who/what
> is calling runlevel 5.
>
> -Willem
>
>

Magic31
25-Sep-2013, 10:02
...
I see several occurrences of variable RUNLEVEL=5 - but I don't see where
this comes from. I afraid I'm missing something obvious...
..

Then I'm missing it too :) The places you've looked are the places I would look.

Would you mind, so we can have a more detailed look, posting the output of:
"cat /boot/grub/menu.lst"
"cat /etc/inittab |grep -v '#'"

Also curious to which SLES 11 SP version you are running (and when was it last patched up)?

Cheers,
Willem

Mirko Guldner
07-Oct-2013, 16:25
Sorry for the delay, it seems to be a bad habit of me to ask questions
immediately before holidays... but the holidays helped... ;-)

Found it: it was in menu.lst. I did not see it before, because I looked for
'init', but it's simply '5':

kernel /boot/vmlinuz-3.0.80-0.7-default root=/dev/disk/by-
id/scsi-360050768018087140000000000000077-part2 5

My guess is, that autoyast is the culprit which put it there... (?)

Thanks,
Mirko


Magic31 wrote:

>
> Mirko Guldner;16413 Wrote:
>> ...
>> I see several occurrences of variable RUNLEVEL=5 - but I don't see
>> where
>> this comes from. I afraid I'm missing something obvious...
>> ..
>
> Then I'm missing it too :) The places you've looked are the places I
> would look.
>
> Would you mind, so we can have a more detailed look, posting the output
> of:
> "cat /boot/grub/menu.lst"
> "cat /etc/inittab |grep -v '#'"
>
> Also curious to which SLES 11 SP version you are running (and when was
> it last patched up)?
>
> Cheers,
> Willem
>
>

Magic31
15-Oct-2013, 17:01
...Found it: it was in menu.lst. I did not see it before, because I looked for
'init', but it's simply '5':

Cool that's sorted & thanks for posting back! :)


My guess is, that autoyast is the culprit which put it there... (?)

It's possible you will find that value in your AutoYaST XML... I'm more of a template guy myself (as we run 99% of our systems virtually, that's a much quicker deployment method) and haven't done much with that. But the boot vars should be easily enough to find and adjust in that xml, it if runlevel 3 is what you want to have it default to. It will probably make the installer (second pass) also fallback into text mode, which is less desirable imo. Better set it after the fact.

Cheers,
Willem