PDA

View Full Version : not able to communicate with the network



kirtikjr
30-Aug-2011, 09:36
Hi all,

I cant get the SUSE 10 64 bit machine to communicate.
I gave a static ip to it.
I have 3 other windows machine on the same lan which can communicate
thru the gateway and DNS servers, not this one.
I get a response "network not reachable"
everytime I restart, it opens up the Network configuration screen. I
tried going with Network manager and traditional method both. still not
pingable.
I can ping localhost.
when I click on computer icon, i can see the in the bottom right menu
about network status, it shows connected to none, (or sometimes vmnet1,
i have vmware running too)


--
kirtikjr
------------------------------------------------------------------------
kirtikjr's Profile: http://forums.novell.com/member.php?userid=115978
View this thread: http://forums.novell.com/showthread.php?t=443899

thsundel
30-Aug-2011, 09:46
kirtikjr;2132781 Wrote:
> Hi all,
>
> I cant get the SUSE 10 64 bit machine to communicate.
> I gave a static ip to it.
> I have 3 other windows machine on the same lan which can communicate
> thru the gateway and DNS servers, not this one.
> I get a response "network not reachable"
> everytime I restart, it opens up the Network configuration screen. I
> tried going with Network manager and traditional method both. still not
> pingable.
> I can ping localhost.
> when I click on computer icon, i can see the in the bottom right menu
> about network status, it shows connected to none, (or sometimes vmnet1,
> i have vmware running too)

In the terminal run "route" and "ifconfig" and paste the output here.

Thomas


--
http://thsundel.blogspot.com/
------------------------------------------------------------------------
thsundel's Profile: http://forums.novell.com/member.php?userid=128
View this thread: http://forums.novell.com/showthread.php?t=443899

elagrew
30-Aug-2011, 13:56
Are you sure the port/patch cord is good? Plug in a known working
computer and see.

--El

kirtikjr;2132781 Wrote:
> Hi all,
>
> I cant get the SUSE 10 64 bit machine to communicate.
> I gave a static ip to it.
> I have 3 other windows machine on the same lan which can communicate
> thru the gateway and DNS servers, not this one.
> I get a response "network not reachable"
> everytime I restart, it opens up the Network configuration screen. I
> tried going with Network manager and traditional method both. still not
> pingable.
> I can ping localhost.
> when I click on computer icon, i can see the in the bottom right menu
> about network status, it shows connected to none, (or sometimes vmnet1,
> i have vmware running too)


--
El LaGrew
elbert.lagrew#katun.com
elagrew on twitter
------------------------------------------------------------------------
elagrew's Profile: http://forums.novell.com/member.php?userid=10240
View this thread: http://forums.novell.com/showthread.php?t=443899