PDA

View Full Version : Recovery hangs at the automatic configuration step



aabdelkhalek
31-Oct-2013, 04:30
Hi,

I had SLED-11 SP2 installed on my HP 4540s laptop and due to a silly mistake I had to recover the OS from that special partition and the recovery works fine up to the Automatic Configuration step where I have 2 progress bars; one is showing configuring network and the other shows creating automatic configuration.

And then it stops at exactly 66% (configuring network) and 33% (creating automatic configuration) respectively and I have no clue why is that?

Please help me find out what's going wrong and why it hangs at that specific point each time?!

Thanks,
Ahmed

malcolmlewis
31-Oct-2013, 05:04
On Thu 31 Oct 2013 03:34:03 AM CDT, aabdelkhalek wrote:


Hi,

I had SLED-11 SP2 installed on my HP 4540s laptop and due to a silly
mistake I had to recover the OS from that special partition and the
recovery works fine up to the Automatic Configuration step where I have
2 progress bars; one is showing configuring network and the other shows
creating automatic configuration.

And then it stops at exactly 66% (configuring network) and 33% (creating
automatic configuration) respectively and I have no clue why is that?

Please help me find out what's going wrong and why it hangs at that
specific point each time?!

Thanks,
Ahmed




Hi
If you press ctrl+alt+F10 you should see some kernel messages which may
provide information. To get back to the GUI install, press ctrl+alt+F7
(or maybe F1).

Is there a hardware switch or perhaps an Fn key to press
as it may be wireless related.

I'm pretty sure that the HP needs it's own HP repository for
the wireless driver.

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
SLED 11 SP3 (x86_64) GNOME 2.28.0 Kernel 3.0.93-0.8-default
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

aabdelkhalek
31-Oct-2013, 13:11
Hi
If you press ctrl+alt+F10 you should see some kernel messages which may
provide information. To get back to the GUI install, press ctrl+alt+F7
(or maybe F1).

Is there a hardware switch or perhaps an Fn key to press
as it may be wireless related.

I'm pretty sure that the HP needs it's own HP repository for
the wireless driver.

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
SLED 11 SP3 (x86_64) GNOME 2.28.0 Kernel 3.0.93-0.8-default
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

ctrl+alt+F10 and ctrl+alt+F7 helps switching between the kernel messages and the GUI. In the kernel the last messages was saying YaST2.call (26408): /proc/26480/oom_adj is deprecated, please use /proc/26480/oom_score_adj instead!

and then after pressing so many Fn with ctrl+alt I got another view and the latest message there was that: eth0: dhcpcd not running and another waln0: dhcpcd not running!

One more thing I get messages that an unknown key was pressed and released and then asked to use setkeycodes to make it known!

Thanks,
Ahmed

malcolmlewis
01-Nov-2013, 01:15
On Thu 31 Oct 2013 12:14:02 PM CDT, aabdelkhalek wrote:


malcolmlewis;17165 Wrote:
> Hi
> If you press ctrl+alt+F10 you should see some kernel messages which
> may provide information. To get back to the GUI install, press
> ctrl+alt+F7 (or maybe F1).
>
> Is there a hardware switch or perhaps an Fn key to press
> as it may be wireless related.
>
> I'm pretty sure that the HP needs it's own HP repository for
> the wireless driver.
>
> --
> Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
> SLED 11 SP3 (x86_64) GNOME 2.28.0 Kernel 3.0.93-0.8-default
> If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
> please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

ctrl+alt+F10 and ctrl+alt+F7 helps switching between the kernel messages
and the GUI. In the kernel the last messages was saying YaST2.call
(26408): /proc/26480/oom_adj is deprecated, please use
/proc/26480/oom_score_adj instead!

and then after pressing so many Fn with ctrl+alt I got another view and
the latest message there was that: eth0: dhcpcd not running and another
waln0: dhcpcd not running!

Thanks,
Ahmed




Hi
Hmmm, ok in any of the VT's you get to do you have a root prompt? If so
can you try restarting the network;


/etc/init.d/network restart


--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
SLED 11 SP3 (x86_64) GNOME 2.28.0 Kernel 3.0.93-0.8-default
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

aabdelkhalek
01-Nov-2013, 05:00
Hi
Hmmm, ok in any of the VT's you get to do you have a root prompt? If so
can you try restarting the network;


/etc/init.d/network restart


--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
SLED 11 SP3 (x86_64) GNOME 2.28.0 Kernel 3.0.93-0.8-default
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

Thanks for your cooperation in one of my so many attempts I passed that point and get the system to boot but unfortunately not able to load gdm! It gives me an error similar to a previous thread (
/usr/bin/gdm: symbol lookup error: /lib64/libgmodule-2.0.so.0: undefined symbol: g_private_replace) your advice back then to that guy is to go init 3 and run sax -r but when i do this it gives me command not found!

so what should I do? what I'm missing?

Thanks,
Ahmed

malcolmlewis
01-Nov-2013, 05:15
On Fri 01 Nov 2013 04:04:07 AM CDT, aabdelkhalek wrote:


malcolmlewis;17179 Wrote:
> Hi
> Hmmm, ok in any of the VT's you get to do you have a root prompt? If
> so can you try restarting the network;
> >
Code:
--------------------
> >
> /etc/init.d/network restart
>
--------------------
> >
>
> --
> Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
> SLED 11 SP3 (x86_64) GNOME 2.28.0 Kernel 3.0.93-0.8-default
> If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
> please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

Thanks for your cooperation in one of my so many attempts I passed that
point and get the system to boot but unfortunately not able to load gdm!
It gives me an error similar to a previous thread (
/usr/bin/gdm: symbol lookup error: /lib64/libgmodule-2.0.so.0: undefined
symbol: g_private_replace) your advice back then to that guy is to go
init 3 and run sax -r but when i do this it gives me command not found!

so what should I do? what I'm missing?

Thanks,
Ahmed




Hi
You need to be root user to run sax2, so login on the terminal (eg
ctrl+alt+F1) as your user, then


su -
init 3
sax2 -r
init 5 && exit




--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
SLED 11 SP3 (x86_64) GNOME 2.28.0 Kernel 3.0.93-0.8-default
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

aabdelkhalek
01-Nov-2013, 05:45
same thing! command not found

aabdelkhalek
01-Nov-2013, 05:59
searched for it using zypper se sax2 and installed it along with sax2-gui and then i did restart but desktop didn't load automatically so i logged in and when i tried starting gdm it gave me the error: Failed to acquire org.gnome.DisplayManager:is not allowed to own the service ..... due to security policies in the configuration file!

aabdelkhalek
01-Nov-2013, 06:41
seems to be a problem in the gdm.conf file that restricts gdm to root only but when i did su - and started gdm i got the same error symbol lookup error: /usr/lib64/libgmodule-2.0.so.0: undefined symbol: g_private_replace!!

malcolmlewis
01-Nov-2013, 14:06
On Fri 01 Nov 2013 05:44:02 AM CDT, aabdelkhalek wrote:


seems to be a problem in the gdm.conf file that restricts gdm to root
only but when i did su - and started gdm i got the same error symbol
lookup error: /usr/lib64/libgmodule-2.0.so.0: undefined symbol:
g_private_replace!!




Hi
So what happens if from a VT (ctrl+alt+F1) if you log in as your user
and then run command startx to just start a desktop and avoid gdm login
GUI.

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
SLED 11 SP3 (x86_64) GNOME 2.28.0 Kernel 3.0.93-0.8-default
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

aabdelkhalek
03-Nov-2013, 03:07
Hi
So what happens if from a VT (ctrl+alt+F1) if you log in as your user
and then run command startx to just start a desktop and avoid gdm login
GUI.

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
SLED 11 SP3 (x86_64) GNOME 2.28.0 Kernel 3.0.93-0.8-default
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

I eventually gave up and restored the factory system which I got along with my laptop and then I thought why don't I try to upgrade to SP3 since I just had a fresh installation

So I followed the SP3 update (the zypper approach) and afterwards had a similar problem and was not able to use gdm so after so many trials and attempts I installed the AMD driver (using the force option) and then I guess the real solution was that I moved the xorg.conf file to xorg.conf.bak (read somewhere that the server doesn't need that file any more), startx and I got a GUI but no mouse or keyboard so I rebooted and it is working now :)

The strange thing for me now is that after the SP3 update and although my registration is active for SLED 11 SP3 I have no SP3 pool, updates.... repros!!!

So how to solve this one? or maybe I should open a new thread about it?

What do you think?

Thanks,
Ahmed

aabdelkhalek
03-Nov-2013, 03:58
I managed to add these urls through the mirroring links from the NCC (Novel Customer Center)

One question though, how to make sure that my system is fine with no broken OS? :S

Thanks for your help
Ahmed

malcolmlewis
03-Nov-2013, 04:15
On Sun 03 Nov 2013 03:04:02 AM CST, aabdelkhalek wrote:


I managed to add these urls through the mirroring links from the NCC
(Novel Customer Center)

One question though, how to make sure that my system is fine with no
broken OS? :S

Thanks for your help
Ahmed




Hi
Just make sure it's up to date....


zypper ref
zypper patch


You can also check the logs for errors, look in /var/log/ messages is
the common one.

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
SLED 11 SP3 (x86_64) GNOME 2.28.0 Kernel 3.0.93-0.8-default
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!