PDA

View Full Version : HA limitations?



klemenvi
14-Dec-2013, 13:57
Hi, are there any limitation of using SLES for Vmware and HA extension?

Situation would be:

- two Sles for vmware Apache servers in active passive HA configuration
- hosting on multi node ESXi cluster

One machine will be mainly locked on 4 nodes of primary site, second on 4 nodes of secondary site, but I need possibility to move nodes all over ESXi cluster (drs) without downtime.

HA Apache cluster should be possible to automatically switch to second node in case of first node failure.

Is this possible?

thanks

smflood
15-Dec-2013, 00:51
klemenvi Wrote in message:

> Hi, are there any limitation of using SLES for Vmware and HA extension?
>
> Situation would be:
>
> - two Sles for vmware Apache servers in active passive HA configuration
> - hosting on multi node ESXi cluster
>
> One machine will be mainly locked on 4 nodes of primary site, second on
> 4 nodes of secondary site, but I need possibility to move nodes all over
> ESXi cluster (drs) without downtime.
>
> HA Apache cluster should be possible to automatically switch to second
> node in case of first node failure.
>
> Is this possible?

I was originally going to say that I didn't think the SUSE Linux
Enterprise (SLE) High Availability Extension (HAE) was compatible
with SLES for VMware but after a bit of research now I'm not so
sure as scripts for monitoring VMware are included[1].

There is an interesting question about support however since SLE
HAE is supported by SUSE whilst SLES for VMware is supported by
VMware.

HTH.

[1] https://www.suse.com/products/highavailability/features/flexib
le_policy-driven_clustering.html
--
Simon
SUSE Knowledge Partner

----Android NewsGroup Reader----
http://www.piaohong.tk/newsgroup

klemenvi
15-Dec-2013, 14:45
klemenvi Wrote in message:

> Hi, are there any limitation of using SLES for Vmware and HA extension?
>
> Situation would be:
>
> - two Sles for vmware Apache servers in active passive HA configuration
> - hosting on multi node ESXi cluster
>
> One machine will be mainly locked on 4 nodes of primary site, second on
> 4 nodes of secondary site, but I need possibility to move nodes all over
> ESXi cluster (drs) without downtime.
>
> HA Apache cluster should be possible to automatically switch to second
> node in case of first node failure.
>
> Is this possible?

I was originally going to say that I didn't think the SUSE Linux
Enterprise (SLE) High Availability Extension (HAE) was compatible
with SLES for VMware but after a bit of research now I'm not so
sure as scripts for monitoring VMware are included[1].

There is an interesting question about support however since SLE
HAE is supported by SUSE whilst SLES for VMware is supported by
VMware.

HTH.

[1] https://www.suse.com/products/highavailability/features/flexib
le_policy-driven_clustering.html
--
Simon
SUSE Knowledge Partner

----Android NewsGroup Reader----
http://www.piaohong.tk/newsgroup

If you think that SLESforVMware can be a problem I can use standard SLES. Have you seen or even more such scenario in production?

thanks

David Gersic
16-Dec-2013, 17:00
On Sat, 14 Dec 2013 13:04:01 +0000, klemenvi wrote:

> Hi, are there any limitation of using SLES for Vmware and HA extension?

None that I know of. I'm not sure what the point is of using SLES/HAE and
VMWare, though.


> Situation would be:
>
> - two Sles for vmware Apache servers in active passive HA configuration
> - hosting on multi node ESXi cluster
>
> One machine will be mainly locked on 4 nodes of primary site, second on
> 4 nodes of secondary site, but I need possibility to move nodes all over
> ESXi cluster (drs) without downtime.

Wouldn't this be handled by VMWare?


--
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
David Gersic dgersic_@_niu.edu
Knowledge Partner http://forums.netiq.com

Please post questions in the forums. No support provided via email.
If you find this post helpful, please click on the star below.

klemenvi
16-Dec-2013, 19:56
If I have two Apache servers in HA, I can manage (software patching...) inactive node, then switch (without down time) and manage first node...
If my primary site failed it will automatically switch to node on other site (without down time)...


What do you recommend for high available Apache cluster in virtual environment?

jmozdzen
17-Dec-2013, 13:44
Hi klemenvi,

What do you recommend for high available Apache cluster in virtual environment?

how about an active/active Apache cluster (in terms of "running on separate VMs", but no special cluster management to relocate httpd) with some load-sharing front-end, i.e. iptables' cluster module?

Seems like much less hassle than creating a complete HA setup.

Regards,
Jens

David Gersic
18-Dec-2013, 22:30
On Mon, 16 Dec 2013 19:04:01 +0000, klemenvi wrote:

> If I have two Apache servers in HA, I can manage (software patching...)
> inactive node, then switch (without down time) and manage first node...

Sure, that makes sense.


> If my primary site failed it will automatically switch to node on other
> site (without down time)...

You could do this in SLES/HAE with the relatively new multi-site support.
Or you could do it at the VM level, using VMWare's tools.


> What do you recommend for high available Apache cluster in virtual
> environment?

SLES/HAE doesn't really know or care if it's running on physical or
virtual hosts. VMs and HA are different tools that can both solve many
similar problems.



--
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
David Gersic dgersic_@_niu.edu
Knowledge Partner http://forums.netiq.com

Please post questions in the forums. No support provided via email.
If you find this post helpful, please click on the star below.