PDA

View Full Version : ISPs.......................sigh



Stevo
20-Dec-2013, 17:39
So, in preparation for some upcoming changes, we needed to contact our
ISP about *adding* an additional record (ww3) for our web page access.

In a month or so, our www record will get changed & point somewhere
else, but for now we wanted both www and ww3 to work.

Well, I think our ISP decided that since we added an A record for ww3,
they should just delete our A record for www.

Of course now the phones are ringing like crazy as people can't get to
our site................[THUD]

--
Stevo

Rickb
20-Dec-2013, 19:11
Stevo wrote:

> So, in preparation for some upcoming changes, we needed to contact our
> ISP about *adding* an additional record (ww3) for our web page access.
>
> In a month or so, our www record will get changed & point somewhere
> else, but for now we wanted both www and ww3 to work.
>
> Well, I think our ISP decided that since we added an A record for ww3,
> they should just delete our A record for www.
>
> Of course now the phones are ringing like crazy as people can't get to
> our site................[THUD]
>

Don't you love it when they don't read correctly.

Stevo
20-Dec-2013, 19:32
Rickb sounds like they 'said':

> Don't you love it when they don't read correctly.

So my response to Rickb's comment is...

Oh yeah. Talked with a different tech earlier today, his words were
pretty much:

It sure looks pretty clear what you guys wanted done, not sure why the
www record would have been deleted.

--
Stevo

KeN Etter
20-Dec-2013, 20:06
On Fri, 20 Dec 2013 16:39:58 GMT, "Stevo" <steveSPAM@LESSccgov.net>
wrote:

>So, in preparation for some upcoming changes, we needed to contact our
>ISP about *adding* an additional record (ww3) for our web page access.
>
>In a month or so, our www record will get changed & point somewhere
>else, but for now we wanted both www and ww3 to work.
>
>Well, I think our ISP decided that since we added an A record for ww3,
>they should just delete our A record for www.
>
>Of course now the phones are ringing like crazy as people can't get to
>our site................[THUD]

Use a service that lets you change it yourself. I quit making DNS
requests years ago. Doing it myself has made my job so much easier.

Ken

Joseph Marton
21-Dec-2013, 15:41
KeN Etter wrote:

> Use a service that lets you change it yourself. I quit making DNS
> requests years ago. Doing it myself has made my job so much easier.

Exactly. Back in the day I had to e-mail MCI/Verizon Business whenever
I wanted a DNS change and it was a royal pain. I finally switched us
over to DNS Made Easy which truly did make DNS easy. I think it was
only $30/year and their web interface was very easy to navigate. Well
worth the investment.

--
Does this washcloth smell like chloroform?

Stevo
21-Dec-2013, 21:48
Ok, so we get a call today, their policy is NOT to allow multiple A
records pointing to the same IP address..........<blink><blink>

They said they made an exception for us as we told them repeatedly that
this situation is temporary............


--
Stevo

Stevo
21-Dec-2013, 21:48
Joseph Marton sounds like they 'said':

> Exactly. Back in the day I had to e-mail MCI/Verizon Business
> whenever I wanted a DNS change and it was a royal pain. I finally
> switched us over to DNS Made Easy which truly did make DNS easy. I
> think it was only $30/year and their web interface was very easy to
> navigate. Well worth the investment.

So my response to Joseph's comment is...

Did you have to change ISPs with that, or does that work with pretty
much anyone?

--
Stevo

Joseph Marton
22-Dec-2013, 02:47
Stevo wrote:

> Did you have to change ISPs with that, or does that work with pretty
> much anyone?

Works with anyone. I just had to go to the domain registrar to change
the name servers authoritative for the domain to DNS Made Easy, and
work with the ISP to have them delegate the reverse block to DNS Made
Easy. After that I never had to do anything again with the ISP or the
domain registrar.

--
Does this washcloth smell like chloroform?

Susan
22-Dec-2013, 06:14
That sounds like some BS generated to make it sound like they didn't
make a mistake, when they did. :)

--
Susan
Novell Community Chat Moderator

http://forums.novell.com/faq.php?faq=novfor#faq_rules
http://www.ncci.org NCCIrregulars Web Site
https://www.facebook.com/groups/NCCIrregulars

Please read the following before posting in here:
http://preview.tinyurl.com/27zopdy

Bob
24-Dec-2013, 04:32
On 12/21/2013 3:48 PM, Stevo wrote:
> Ok, so we get a call today, their policy is NOT to allow multiple A
> records pointing to the same IP address..........<blink><blink>
>
> They said they made an exception for us as we told them repeatedly that
> this situation is temporary............
>
>
To which I would reply the following:

"And, it is MY policy NOT to work with "services" who can not provide
the service I need."

Now, having said that, personally I've never used multiple A records
pointing to the same IP address. My own personal preference is the use
the CNAME record.

www.mydomain.com A 192.0.154.33
ww2.mydomain.com CNAME www.mydomain.com

Rickb
24-Dec-2013, 16:07
Bob wrote:

> On 12/21/2013 3:48 PM, Stevo wrote:
>> Ok, so we get a call today, their policy is NOT to allow multiple A
>> records pointing to the same IP address..........<blink><blink>
>>
>> They said they made an exception for us as we told them repeatedly that
>> this situation is temporary............
>>
>>
> To which I would reply the following:
>
> "And, it is MY policy NOT to work with "services" who can not provide
> the service I need."
>
> Now, having said that, personally I've never used multiple A records
> pointing to the same IP address. My own personal preference is the use
> the CNAME record.
>
> www.mydomain.com A 192.0.154.33
> ww2.mydomain.com CNAME www.mydomain.com

Which I always thought was the way it was suppose to be done ;-)

Bob
24-Dec-2013, 19:59
On 12/24/2013 10:07 AM, Rickb wrote:
> Bob wrote:
>
>> On 12/21/2013 3:48 PM, Stevo wrote:
>>> Ok, so we get a call today, their policy is NOT to allow multiple A
>>> records pointing to the same IP address..........<blink><blink>
>>>
>>> They said they made an exception for us as we told them repeatedly that
>>> this situation is temporary............
>>>
>>>
>> To which I would reply the following:
>>
>> "And, it is MY policy NOT to work with "services" who can not provide
>> the service I need."
>>
>> Now, having said that, personally I've never used multiple A records
>> pointing to the same IP address. My own personal preference is the use
>> the CNAME record.
>>
>> www.mydomain.com A 192.0.154.33
>> ww2.mydomain.com CNAME www.mydomain.com
>
> Which I always thought was the way it was suppose to be done ;-)
>

;-)