PDA

View Full Version : Can not connect to Wireless Network



worldunix
26-Jan-2014, 23:42
Hello,
I am trying to Demo the Suse Enterprise Linux Desktop version 11 SP3
my company wants to demo RedHat and Suse.
I want Suse Enterprise Linux Desktop SP3 but I'm having a Real Simple issue
I can enable internet or get on the internet via wireless
I downloaded SLED 11 sp3 last night.

Where do you enable to show the wireless bars that
usually show you are connect to the wireless Network after you enter network name and password.


Hardware,
Toshiba Laptop Satellite Harman/Kardon
Model A505-S6033 System Unit
cpu Intel i7 quad core


I have used Centos, Linux Mint and Ubuntu Linux.
And I can connect ok with using my built in Wireless on my Laptop.
Or by using my 2 usb devices that are wireless one is Netgear and other is default from Cable Company my ISP.

On Suse Linux Desktop Enterprise
If I go to Control Center/Network Settings
My Nic Card built in and My Wireless Built in shows up.
My 2 other devices I plugged in that are wireless network devices also shows up under here.
However, I enter the Edit for either one of them
and I scan for Network and enter my Wireless Network password.
and then click next.

it exits ok
but when I open Firefox
I don't get a connect to the internet

can someone help please?

This is something that is usually so simple to do
on my windows 7/8 os
on my Ubuntu Linux
on my Linux Mint and etc.

Why is this so hard to find and connect with???

thx
Don Curry

malcolmlewis
27-Jan-2014, 00:29
On Sun 26 Jan 2014 10:44:01 PM CST, worldunix wrote:


Hello,
I am trying to Demo the Suse Enterprise Linux Desktop version 11 SP3
my company wants to demo RedHat and Suse.
I want Suse Enterprise Linux Desktop SP3 but I'm having a Real Simple
issue
I can enable internet or get on the internet via wireless
I downloaded SLED 11 sp3 last night.

Where do you enable to show the wireless bars that
usually show you are connect to the wireless Network after you enter
network name and password.


Hardware,
Toshiba Laptop Satellite Harman/Kardon
Model A505-S6033 System Unit
cpu Intel i7 quad core


I have used Centos, Linux Mint and Ubuntu Linux.
And I can connect ok with using my built in Wireless on my Laptop.
Or by using my 2 usb devices that are wireless one is Netgear and other
is default from Cable Company my ISP.

On Suse Linux Desktop Enterprise
If I go to Control Center/Network Settings
My Nic Card built in and My Wireless Built in shows up.
My 2 other devices I plugged in that are wireless network devices also
shows up under here.
However, I enter the Edit for either one of them
and I scan for Network and enter my Wireless Network password.
and then click next.

it exits ok
but when I open Firefox
I don't get a connect to the internet

can someone help please?

This is something that is usually so simple to do
on my windows 7/8 os
on my Ubuntu Linux
on my Linux Mint and etc.

Why is this so hard to find and connect with???

thx
Don Curry




Hi
So the wirless icon in the taskbar shows as connected? Have you checked
the dmesg output, it may be looking for firmware.

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64) GNOME 3.10.2 Kernel 3.11.6-4-desktop
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

worldunix
27-Jan-2014, 01:15
No the wireless connect don't show at all.
I can plugin my ether net plug and it will work.
I can not connect via wireless
nothing shows
I DONT EVEN SEE A WIRELESS ICON IN THE TASK BAR :-)
even when I connect via network plug cable.

thanks for reply
Don





Hi
So the wirless icon in the taskbar shows as connected? Have you checked
the dmesg output, it may be looking for firmware.

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64) GNOME 3.10.2 Kernel 3.11.6-4-desktop
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

malcolmlewis
27-Jan-2014, 01:34
No the wireless connect don't show at all.
I can plugin my ether net plug and it will work.
I can not connect via wireless
nothing shows
I DONT EVEN SEE A WIRELESS ICON IN THE TASK BAR :-)
even when I connect via network plug cable.

thanks for reply
Don
Hi
So have you checked the dmesg output for any firmware being required?

Can you post the output from the command;


/sbin/lspci -nnk |grep -A3 Network

ab
27-Jan-2014, 01:39
It sounds like your system has not detected your wireless NIC. Post the
'dmesg' output as malcolmlewis mentioned as that may help. It may also
help for you to describe your system a bit, particularly the wireless
part. Using SLES 11 SP3 on my laptop I can get online without any extra
work, but I likely have a different wireless NIC, so back to the driver
issue. Often adding those is easy, but it'd help to know what you have
and how the system sees it. Perhaps also post the output to the following
command:

Code:
--------------------
/sbin/lspci -v
--------------------

--
Good luck.

If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below...