PDA

View Full Version : /usr/lib/gdm/gdm-session-worker every 10 minutes in SAP Suse



fongoodty
11-Mar-2014, 08:08
Hi Gurus,

I would like to ask for your help. We are currently doing "aureport -au" (for audit purpose) for our SAP Suse Server.

We found flooding of below messages every 10 minutes:
361. 03/11/14 12:57:00 ? ? :0 /usr/lib/gdm/gdm-session-worker no 565521
362. 03/11/14 13:07:03 ? ? :0 /usr/lib/gdm/gdm-session-worker no 565667
363. 03/11/14 13:17:06 ? ? :0 /usr/lib/gdm/gdm-session-worker no 565774
364. 03/11/14 13:27:09 ? ? :0 /usr/lib/gdm/gdm-session-worker no 565890
365. 03/11/14 13:37:12 ? ? :0 /usr/lib/gdm/gdm-session-worker no 566017
366. 03/11/14 13:47:15 ? ? :0 /usr/lib/gdm/gdm-session-worker no 566138

When I did "ps -ef | grep gdm-session-worker", and the pid kept changing (meaning new process id every 10 minutes).
root 18460 11357 0 13:57 ? 00:00:00 /usr/lib/gdm/gdm-session-worker
root 18510 8167 0 13:58 pts/0 00:00:00 grep gdm-session-worker


Can anybody tell my why and how to disable these flooding messages?

================================================== =
Our SAP server details are below:
Suse Linux Enterprise 11 (64 bit)
Release 11 Kernel Linux 3.0.13-0.27-default
running on VM
6 vCPU E5-4650
CPU Speed 2.70GHZ
Memory 65536 MB
Memory Overhead 458.76 MB

SAP:
EHP6 FOR SAP ERP 6.0
================================================== =

Thank you.

Regards,
Fong

ab
11-Mar-2014, 11:39
How about set your machine to boot to runlevel 3? Modify /etc/inittab to
change

id:5:initdefault:

to

id:3:initdefault:

and then run the following (as root):

init 3

Good luck.

--
Good luck.

If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below...

fongoodty
12-Mar-2014, 02:37
Hi ab,

I am sorry that I quite new with Suse. Does this mean that we are changing from run level 5 to 3:

0 - System halt; no activity, the system can be safely powered down.
1 - Single user; rarely used.
2 - Multiple users, no NFS (network filesystem); also used rarely.
3 - Multiple users, command line (i.e., all-text mode) interface; the standard runlevel for most Linux-based server hardware.
4 - User-definable
5 - Multiple users, GUI (graphical user interface); the standard runlevel for most Linux-based desktop systems.
6 - Reboot; used when restarting the system.

Do we need to reboot the server for this one?
If I have changed the root from level 5 to 3, will I lose some functionalities like for example X display?

Thanks.

Regards,
Fongoodty

jmozdzen
12-Mar-2014, 11:42
Hi Fongoodty,


Hi ab,

I am sorry that I quite new with Suse. Does this mean that we are changing from run level 5 to 3:

Yes.


Do we need to reboot the server for this one?

Invoking "telinit 3" would have the same effect - changing /etc/inittab like suggested will make sure the system starts into RL 3 on future reboots.



If I have changed the root from level 5 to 3, will I lose some functionalities like for example X display?

Exactly. The typical difference between RL 3 and RL 5 is the graphical console, which should not be running on a typical server anyhow.

The process you see in your monitoring is related to the "Gnome Desktop Manager" (gdm), which is started on your server to handle graphical logins. ab's suggestion to switch to run level 3 to get rid of those messages was following the line "server machine -> no X server -> no gdm -> no more messages from gdm". If you need to run X11 on that server for some reason unknown to us, then other measures will have to be taken to get rid of the message. Do you feel you need an X11 server running on that machine?

Regards,
Jens

ab
12-Mar-2014, 12:21
> The process you see in your monitoring is related to the "Gnome Desktop
> Manager" (gdm), which is started on your server to handle graphical
> logins. ab's suggestion to switch to run level 3 to get rid of those
> messages was following the line "server machine -> no X server -> no gdm
> -> no more messages from gdm". If you need to run X11 on that server for
> some reason unknown to us, then other measures will have to be taken to
> get rid of the message. Do you feel you need an X11 server running on
> that machine?

And just to be super-clear: This is not a one-time, never look back, GUI
gone forever type of change. If you want the GUI at some point in the
future, just go back to runlevel 5 using 'init 5' and you're there.
Better yet, tunnel X things out via SSH without ever changing runlevels
(the runlevel 5 bit only launches the local GUI... you can run GUI apps
anytime at all from any runlevel) so that you do not need to access the
machine directly, use resources unnecessarily for the GUI, etc.

--
Good luck.

If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below...

fongoodty
13-Mar-2014, 04:11
Hello AB and Jmozdzen,

Thank you for the advice. My flooding messages are gone after i changed the root with telinit 3. However I have not rebooted the servers, so I am not sure if the X display wont be able to be used. Currently it is still able to be used.

Regards,
Fongoodty