PDA

View Full Version : getting qlogic error



arahman7
12-Mar-2014, 22:03
I am getting below errors on netbackup server and my backup is failing due to below errors, can you please help me asap. It is urgent because all our backup is failing. Please call me at 416-720-9743 or email me asap. Thanks,

Mar 12 14:06:33 calw0250 avrd[5203]: ioctl error on QUANTUM.SuperDLT1.003 (device 3, /dev/nst3) thru sg driver, No such file or directory
Mar 12 14:08:22 calw0250 kernel: qla2xxx 0000:09:02.0: scsi(2:0:2): Abort command issued -- 1 473deedd 2002.
Mar 12 14:08:22 calw0250 avrd[5203]: ioctl error on QUANTUM.SuperDLT1.003 (device 3, /dev/nst3) thru sg driver, Success
Mar 12 14:10:11 calw0250 kernel: qla2xxx 0000:09:02.0: scsi(2:0:2): Abort command issued -- 1 473deee4 2002.
Mar 12 14:10:11 calw0250 avrd[5203]: ioctl error on QUANTUM.SuperDLT1.003 (device 3, /dev/nst3) thru sg driver, Success
Mar 12 14:12:00 calw0250 kernel: qla2xxx 0000:09:02.0: scsi(2:0:2): Abort command issued -- 1 473deeeb 2002.
Mar 12 14:12:00 calw0250 avrd[5203]: ioctl error on QUANTUM.SuperDLT1.003 (device 3, /dev/nst3) thru sg driver, No such file or directory
Mar 12 14:13:50 calw0250 kernel: qla2xxx 0000:09:02.0: scsi(2:0:2): Abort command issued -- 1 473deef2 2002.


*** Netbackup tech support told me below and if so how can I resolve it. Please help me urgent and appreciate your help.

It looks like to talk to the robot we are using the Qlogic HBA "scsi(1:0:0)" where we see the SCSI DEVICE RESETs. This is a hardware problem that needs to be resolved with the HBA or Robot to allow netbackup to work as intended.

mikewillis
12-Mar-2014, 22:43
This is not an official support forum.

If you have an urgent problem and you want official one to one support via phone or email you need to open a Service Request. You can do that via https://www.suse.com/support/ although if it's a hardware fault as Netbackup support have told you, I'm not sure SUSE can help with that.

Someone here may be able to help you but as I said, this is not an official support channel. It is not realistic to expect someone to phone you to help as a result of you posting here. The people who read/post here are (mostly) volunteers.

It may help someone here help you if you can provide some information about your set up, for example which version of SUSE Linux Enterprise you are using. If you're not sure, post the output of


$ cat /etc/*release*
$ uname -a

jmozdzen
14-Mar-2014, 17:02
Hi arahman7,


*** Netbackup tech support told me below and if so how can I resolve it. Please help me urgent and appreciate your help.

It looks like to talk to the robot we are using the Qlogic HBA "scsi(1:0:0)" where we see the SCSI DEVICE RESETs. This is a hardware problem that needs to be resolved with the HBA or Robot to allow netbackup to work as intended.

sounds both reasonable and quite directly worded to me - you rather likely have a hardware issue. Try swapping the HBA (SCSI / SAS card), cables, and check the robot's logs (and ask your robot's support back-end, i.e. manufacturer, for further diagnosis options).

Regards,
Jens