PDA

View Full Version : VM guest migrate from SLES11 SP1 to SLES 11 SP0



mchonopm
13-Jan-2012, 10:16
hi,
the VM guest created in SLES 11 SP1 as file base, if copy to SLES 11
SP0, will able to start?
The VM guest is SLES 10 SP4.

Thanks/KEN


--
mchonopm
------------------------------------------------------------------------
mchonopm's Profile: http://forums.novell.com/member.php?userid=5845
View this thread: http://forums.novell.com/showthread.php?t=450673

magic31
13-Jan-2012, 20:36
mchonopm;2167513 Wrote:
> hi,
> the VM guest created in SLES 11 SP1 as file base, if copy to SLES 11
> SP0, will able to start?
> The VM guest is SLES 10 SP4.
>
> Thanks/KEN

Hi Ken,


Are the Xen hosts both installed with a 64bit OS version? And what
about the SLES 10 domU?

AFAIK, if the files for the domU are not using any Xen 4.x only
functionality (like snapshots) and the arch of the Xen host is same or
higher this should work without too much hassle.
Some more info on what the Xen host setups looks like and why you are
needing to do this might bring up some additional points.

-Willem


--
Novell Knowledge Partner (voluntary sysop)

It ain't anything like Harry Potter.. but you gotta love the magic IT
can bring to this world
------------------------------------------------------------------------
magic31's Profile: http://forums.novell.com/member.php?userid=2303
View this thread: http://forums.novell.com/showthread.php?t=450673

lywwing
15-Jan-2012, 15:16
hi,
Currently VM guest running on SLES 11 SP1 x86, and the VM guest is SLES
10 SP4 x86.

I need move the VM guest to XEN host on SLES 11 SP0 x64, it is special
function used in XEN guest like snapshots I think.

Does it possible? just copy the raw file to SLES 11 SP0 x64 XEN host
and re-create VM guest will work?

Thanks/KEN



magic31;2167736 Wrote:
> Hi Ken,
>
>
> Are the Xen hosts both installed with a 64bit OS version? And what
> about the SLES 10 domU?
>
> AFAIK, if the files for the domU are not using any Xen 4.x only
> functionality (like snapshots) and the arch of the Xen host is same or
> higher this should work without too much hassle.
> Some more info on what the Xen host setups looks like and why you are
> needing to do this might bring up some additional points.
>
> -Willem


--
lywwing
------------------------------------------------------------------------
lywwing's Profile: http://forums.novell.com/member.php?userid=56173
View this thread: http://forums.novell.com/showthread.php?t=450673