PDA

View Full Version : No hard disks found for the installation - Please Help



amosjeff
20-Jul-2014, 12:25
Hi Guys,
I need help.
So we recently bought a brand spanking new Dell PowerEdge R720 server. It came with 8 2TB drives, 16 GB RAM etc. It also comes with a PERC H710 RAID controller. I intend to install SLES 11 SP3 to run a web based application, but for now I want to test OpenSuse 13.2 on it. This is my planned config;

Disk 0 and 1 = RAID 1 (for the OS,...)
Disk 2 to 7 = RAID 10 (for the Database, storage, etc.)

After configuring the RAID and initializing the drives, I proceed to install the OS. However Yast2 fails with the error message "No hard disks were found for the installation. Please check your hardware!".

I have googled and tried possible solutions to no avail. Here's what I have tried.

1. Toggled between BIOS and UEFI Boot Modes, same result.
2. Used different RAID configs, same result.

I dunno what else to try. could someone kindly point me in the right direction as I've run out of options. Thanks

malcolmlewis
20-Jul-2014, 15:50
On Sun 20 Jul 2014 11:34:02 AM CDT, amosjeff wrote:


Hi Guys,
I need help.
So we recently bought a brand spanking new Dell PowerEdge R720 server.
It came with 8 2TB drives, 16 GB RAM etc. It also comes with a PERC H710
RAID controller. I intend to install SLES 11 SP3 to run a web based
application, but for now I want to test OpenSuse 13.2 on it. This is my
planned config;

Disk 0 and 1 = RAID 1 (for the OS,...)
Disk 2 to 7 = RAID 10 (for the Database, storage, etc.)

After configuring the RAID and initializing the drives, I proceed to
install the OS. However Yast2 fails with the error message __*"No hard
disks were found for the installation. Please check your hardware!"*.

I have googled and tried possible solutions to no avail. Here's what I
have tried.

1. Toggled between BIOS and UEFI Boot Modes, same result.
2. Used different RAID configs, same result.

I dunno what else to try. could someone kindly point me in the right
direction as I've run out of options. Thanks




Hi
If it's openSUSE 13.2 (Factory) then best ask over in the openSUSE pre
release beta forum at https://forums.opensuse.org (same user nae and
login).

I would assume you need to install a driver for the RAID controller
(press F6 at grub boot menu to add driver), but I doubt there is one
available for the 3.15.x running on openSUSE 13.2....?

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64) GNOME 3.10.1 Kernel 3.11.10-17-desktop
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

amosjeff
21-Jul-2014, 11:06
Hi
If it's openSUSE 13.2 (Factory) then best ask over in the openSUSE pre
release beta forum at https://forums.opensuse.org (same user nae and
login).

I would assume you need to install a driver for the RAID controller
(press F6 at grub boot menu to add driver), but I doubt there is one
available for the 3.15.x running on openSUSE 13.2....?

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64) GNOME 3.10.1 Kernel 3.11.10-17-desktop
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!


Hi Malcolm.

Well turns out, I was trying to install an older version of OpenSuse which doesn't have drivers for the RAID controller on the install media. So I instead downloaded SLES 11 SP3, burnt it onto a DVD and everything went smoothly after that. It recognizes all the RAID arrays. Apparently, newer OS's have the drivers included in the ISO image so no need to download them separately.

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.