PDA

View Full Version : IPv6 Configuration not working



tomski_ffb
13-Oct-2014, 09:43
Hello,

I have trouble to get an IPv6 address configured on SLES11SP3.
The system wont assign the IPv6 address after a reboot which is configured in "/etc/sysconfig/network/ifcfg-br0" (Address is not shown in ifconfig)

When I try to add the IPv6 address manually by enter the command below, all is working fine !


ip -6 address add 2A00:xxxx:2010:xxxx:1::2/112 dev br0
ip -6 route add default via 2A00:xxxx:2010:xxxx:0000:0000:0000:0001 dev br0


Here is my br0 configuration file: /etc/sysconfig/network/ifcfg-br0:


BOOTPROTO='static'
BRIDGE='yes'
BRIDGE_FORWARDDELAY='0'
BRIDGE_PORTS='eth2'
BRIDGE_STP='off'
BROADCAST=''
ETHTOOL_OPTIONS=''
IPADDR=''
MTU=''
NETWORK=''
PREFIXLEN=''
REMOTE_IPADDR=''
STARTMODE='onboot'
USERCONTROL='no'
IPV6INIT=yes
IPV6ADDR=2A00:xxxx:2010:xxxx:1::2/112
IPV6_DEFAULTGW=2A00:xxxx:2010:xxxx:0000:0000:0000: 0001
IPV6_DEFAULTDEV=br0


Is there someting I have done wrong ?

Regards !!

jmozdzen
13-Oct-2014, 15:56
Hi tomski_ffb,

Hello,

I have trouble to get an IPv6 address configured on SLES11SP3.
The system wont assign the IPv6 address after a reboot which is configured in "/etc/sysconfig/network/ifcfg-br0" (Address is not shown in ifconfig)

When I try to add the IPv6 address manually by enter the command below, all is working fine !


ip -6 address add 2A00:xxxx:2010:xxxx:1::2/112 dev br0
ip -6 route add default via 2A00:xxxx:2010:xxxx:0000:0000:0000:0001 dev br0


Here is my br0 configuration file: /etc/sysconfig/network/ifcfg-br0:


BOOTPROTO='static'
BRIDGE='yes'
BRIDGE_FORWARDDELAY='0'
BRIDGE_PORTS='eth2'
BRIDGE_STP='off'
BROADCAST=''
ETHTOOL_OPTIONS=''
IPADDR=''
MTU=''
NETWORK=''
PREFIXLEN=''
REMOTE_IPADDR=''
STARTMODE='onboot'
USERCONTROL='no'
IPV6INIT=yes
IPV6ADDR=2A00:xxxx:2010:xxxx:1::2/112
IPV6_DEFAULTGW=2A00:xxxx:2010:xxxx:0000:0000:0000: 0001
IPV6_DEFAULTDEV=br0


Is there someting I have done wrong ?

Regards !!

do you see any hints/messages/errors when trying to activate the configuration via "ifup br0" (probably issuing "ifdown br0" before that)? Anything in syslog?

Regards,
Jens