PDA

View Full Version : VMware and OES NSS drive question



RLMILLIES
24-Oct-2014, 14:56
Since this more of a Vmware related question, I thought I would post
this here since its not really an issue with OES.

I am running my OES server on VMware 5.0 and was wondering how the
VMware Snapshot works with my OES NSS drives. Since I was going to
patch my SLES/OES 11 server I took a snapshot before doing the patch. I
ran into minor issues and was waiting back from the OES forum for some
information on the issue. Meanwhile a fellow employee came in to do
some work on a project located on the NSS drives.

If I needed to revert back to the previous snapshot would that have
erased the work he had done?

I posted this questions on the VMware site but no one has replied.

Just wondering,
Ken


--
RLMILLIES
------------------------------------------------------------------------
RLMILLIES's Profile: https://forums.novell.com/member.php?userid=577
View this thread: https://forums.novell.com/showthread.php?t=480078

lhaig
24-Oct-2014, 15:59
On 24/10/2014 15:56, RLMILLIES wrote:
>
> Since this more of a Vmware related question, I thought I would post
> this here since its not really an issue with OES.
>
> I am running my OES server on VMware 5.0 and was wondering how the
> VMware Snapshot works with my OES NSS drives. Since I was going to
> patch my SLES/OES 11 server I took a snapshot before doing the patch. I
> ran into minor issues and was waiting back from the OES forum for some
> information on the issue. Meanwhile a fellow employee came in to do
> some work on a project located on the NSS drives.
>
> If I needed to revert back to the previous snapshot would that have
> erased the work he had done?
>
> I posted this questions on the VMware site but no one has replied.
>
> Just wondering,
> Ken
>
>

Hi Ken,

yes it would revert any changes if the drive was on a VMDK and not a
direct attached disk from your SAN.

If the disk was in fact a VMDK and you took a snapshot it would have
captured the changes to the disks.

Then if you removed the snapshot you would remove all changes since that
snapshot.

I hope that answers your question
Lance