PDA

View Full Version : Trying to upgrade SLES11 SP3 to SLES12



mansam
12-Nov-2014, 13:57
Hi all,

I am trying to upgrade SLES11 SP3 to SLES12 but I am failing hard.

As described in the deployment guide I copied the kernel and the initrd to /boot and prepared /boot/grub/menu.lst with the update kernel.

It seems now that my old SLES will be deleted completely and a fresh install will be done. I have 3 Disks with / /var and swap from an SLES11SP3 and the Installer wants to delete the / partition even if I tell him to use it without formatting.

Is there a way to update via zypper on shell?

I tried and get a hell of dependencie errors.

In general I think the upgrade process is nearly undocumented.

smflood
20-Nov-2014, 19:09
mansam Wrote in message:

> I am trying to upgrade SLES11 SP3 to SLES12 but I am failing hard.
>
> As described in the deployment guide I copied the kernel and the initrd
> to /boot and prepared /boot/grub/menu.lst with the update kernel.
>
> It seems now that my old SLES will be deleted completely and a fresh
> install will be done. I have 3 Disks with / /var and swap from an
> SLES11SP3 and the Installer wants to delete the / partition even if I
> tell him to use it without formatting.
>
> Is there a way to update via zypper on shell?
>
> I tried and get a hell of dependencie errors.
>
> In general I think the upgrade process is nearly undocumented.

The only currently supported method of upgrading from SLES11 SP3
to SLES12 is offline via media (physical or virtual) - online via
zypper/YaST is not supported.

HTH.
--
Simon Flood
SUSE Knowledge Partner


----Android NewsGroup Reader----
http://usenet.sinaapp.com/

mansam
21-Nov-2014, 07:59
Thank you for your answer. I know that it is not supported. Did you try the supported way? I Tried to upgrade xen virtualized SLES 11 SP3 and in the offline method with virtual media, there is no button "upgrade". It always tries to make an fresh install with formatting the disks.

netman_hauni
05-Dec-2014, 13:55
Hi,

I had the same problem and after checking the install media I found that the required kernel param is "upgrade=1" and not just upgrade. After applying that switch I was able to do the update the way you mentioned.

Best regards
Sven Kleinecke
Hauni Maschinenbau AG

mansam
05-Dec-2014, 15:08
Hi Sven,

thank you for your hint! I will try it after my week off.