PDA

View Full Version : VDI issue



Stevo
25-Feb-2015, 19:10
Wondering if anyone can help with this. We are running quite a few
depts in a VDI environment (vmware, win764bit desktops, linked clones).

One department did not want many icons on everyone's desktops, like
from the public desktop folder. So, we got rid of *all* the icons from
there (Groupwise, word, excel, etc etc). They put them on their own
desktop if they want shortcuts.

Weird thing is, one gal put shortcuts to word & excel on her own
desktop, and now any time we refresh or recompose her VM, she gets
shortcuts for word & excel on *her* desktop as well as the public
desktop on her VM, so there are two of each.

Any suggestions as to how to resolve this so the public desktop
shortcuts quit regenerating?

--
Stevo

lhaig
26-Feb-2015, 17:22
On 25/02/2015 20:10, Stevo wrote:
> Wondering if anyone can help with this. We are running quite a few
> depts in a VDI environment (vmware, win764bit desktops, linked clones).
>
> One department did not want many icons on everyone's desktops, like
> from the public desktop folder. So, we got rid of *all* the icons from
> there (Groupwise, word, excel, etc etc). They put them on their own
> desktop if they want shortcuts.
>
> Weird thing is, one gal put shortcuts to word & excel on her own
> desktop, and now any time we refresh or recompose her VM, she gets
> shortcuts for word & excel on *her* desktop as well as the public
> desktop on her VM, so there are two of each.
>
> Any suggestions as to how to resolve this so the public desktop
> shortcuts quit regenerating?
>


Stevo,

what VDI platform are you using Horizon?

Lance

Stevo
26-Feb-2015, 21:33
Lance Haig sounds like they 'said':

> Stevo,
>
> what VDI platform are you using Horizon?
>
> Lance

So my response to Lance's comment is...

Yep, Horizon agent 6.02, client V3 something or other

--
Stevo

lhaig
27-Feb-2015, 20:48
On 26/02/2015 22:33, Stevo wrote:
> Lance Haig sounds like they 'said':
>
>> Stevo,
>>
>> what VDI platform are you using Horizon?
>>
>> Lance
>
> So my response to Lance's comment is...
>
> Yep, Horizon agent 6.02, client V3 something or other
>

Do you use profile management?

If so the profile software will grab all changes to the profiles and
back those up.

Without more information on the environment and setup it is a bit
difficult to make a call on this sorry

Lance