PDA

View Full Version : Error during install Enterprise Server 11 SP3 to new server



PCCW_HKT
25-Mar-2015, 09:20
Error occurred while install a NEW HP DL380P Gen8 Server

While running with GNU GRUB version 0.97
Grub> setup –stage2=/boot/grub/stage2 –force-lba(HD0.1)(hd0.1)
Checking if “/boot/grub/stage1” exists… yes
Checking if “/boot/grub/stage2” exists… yes
Checking if “/boot/grub/e2fs_stage1_5” exists… yes
Running “embed /boot/grub/e2fs_stage1_5 (hd0.1)”… failed (this is not fatal)
Running “embed /boot/grub/e2fs_stage1_5 (hd0.1)”… failed (this is not fatal)
Running “ install –force-lba –stage2=/boot/grub/stage2 /boot/grub/stage1 (hd0.1) /boot/grub/stage2 p /boot/grub/menu.lst”,,, failed
Error 6: Mismatched or corrupt version of stage1/stage2

HP DL380P Gen8 server:
1 x E5-2609v2 – 4 core, 2.5GHz CPU
32 GB RAM
2 x 500 GB 6G SATA 7.2krpm HDD

ab
25-Mar-2015, 12:08
Have you verified the checksum (probably md5sum) of the current install
media, either the ISO (if used directly) or the media created from the ISO?


--
Good luck.

If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below...

DanieW
15-Apr-2015, 15:23
Error occurred while install a NEW HP DL380P Gen8 Server

While running with GNU GRUB version 0.97
Grub> setup –stage2=/boot/grub/stage2 –force-lba(HD0.1)(hd0.1)
Checking if “/boot/grub/stage1” exists… yes
Checking if “/boot/grub/stage2” exists… yes
Checking if “/boot/grub/e2fs_stage1_5” exists… yes
Running “embed /boot/grub/e2fs_stage1_5 (hd0.1)”… failed (this is not fatal)
Running “embed /boot/grub/e2fs_stage1_5 (hd0.1)”… failed (this is not fatal)
Running “ install –force-lba –stage2=/boot/grub/stage2 /boot/grub/stage1 (hd0.1) /boot/grub/stage2 p /boot/grub/menu.lst”,,, failed
Error 6: Mismatched or corrupt version of stage1/stage2

HP DL380P Gen8 server:
1 x E5-2609v2 – 4 core, 2.5GHz CPU
32 GB RAM
2 x 500 GB 6G SATA 7.2krpm HDD

Does it read similar to this: setup --stage2=/boot/grub/stage2 --force-lba (hd0,1) (hd0,1)
Or maybe you have a capatilization problem? HD vs. hd or . vs. ,

sunilka
01-May-2015, 12:41
there is an corrupted version of stage 1 or stage2 which may not be read by BIOS calls, as BIOS transulated geomentry which has been changed by the user or disk may have been moved etc...

as part of resolution try installing grub

grub-install /dev/sda

grub>root(hd0)
grub>setup(hd0)
grub>boot