PDA

View Full Version : How do I register a software repository for updates?



fredrated
14-Feb-2012, 17:10
I am new to linux so I apologize if this question is really stupid, but I am stumped.

How do I get Yast2 to look up a software package so I can upgrade?
Specifically I am trying to upgrade from PostgreSQL 8.1 to 9.x.
When I click 'Software Management' and search for 'postgres' it only shows me postgres 8.1, which is what I have already installed.

I seem to remember from a few months ago using yast that it would search 'somewhere' automatically and show me new packages available. I don't remember how I got to that option, and now I can't find it.

Under the option 'Installation Source' it seems to list places it will look for packages, but I can't find the source that it needs to look for a new postgres package. I tried to 'add' a source, with server = postgresql.org, directory = download, but that was obviously wrong and it let me know so.

So I am at a loss. Laugh at me all you want but please tell me what I am doing wrong.

I am using SUSE Linux Enterprise server 10 patchlevel 4.

Thanks in advance for any help. --Fred

KBOYLE
14-Feb-2012, 18:13
fredrated wrote:

>
> How do I get Yast2 to look up a software package so I can upgrade?
> Specifically I am trying to upgrade from PostgreSQL 8.1 to 9.x.
> When I click 'Software Management' and search for 'postgres' it only
> shows me postgres 8.1, which is what I have already installed.

The SLES installation media contains a set of RPM's supplied by SUSE
that are compatible with one another. When you install SLES, a
repository is created that contains the RPM's from the installation
media.

When you register your system and have current maintenance, additional
repositories are created that contain patches and other updates.

When you run Yast Software Management, it looks in the repositories
that have been created for your system. Those repositories contain
RPM's that are supported by SUSE and are compatible with your system.

So, what do you do if you are looking for a particular RPM and it is
not in one of your repositories? You can download the RPM and install
it or your third-party vendor may provide their own repositories needed
to support their software.

When you use the SUSE supplied repositories, everything (for the most
part) just works. When you install third-party software you have to be
aware of dependencies with other software installed on your system and
it becomes your responsibility to ensure there are no incompatibilities.

--
Kevin Boyle - Knowledge Partner
If you find this post helpful and are using the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below...

PeterVarga
19-May-2016, 19:56
Hi Kevin,

I have lot of SLES 11 SP2 and SLES 11 SP3 VM on a XenServer.
I stopped the cooperation with my administrator. In YAST he set all the repositories to his FTP-Server which I am not allowed to access anymore.

Is there something like "public" links which I can set in YAST in order to run the software management?

Thank you, Peter VARGA

http://imgur.com/AzfB0Gp

malcolmlewis
19-May-2016, 22:27
Hi Kevin,

I have lot of SLES 11 SP2 and SLES 11 SP3 VM on a XenServer.
I stopped the cooperation with my administrator. In YAST he set all the repositories to his FTP-Server which I am not allowed to access anymore.

Is there something like "public" links which I can set in YAST in order to run the software management?

Thank you, Peter VARGA

http://imgur.com/AzfB0Gp
Hi
Unfortunately no, you need an active subscription to access the online servers. However since they are out of support, might be time to look at upgrading...

PeterVarga
19-May-2016, 23:27
Hi
... However since they are out of support, might be time to look at upgrading...

This is my main problem. My - with which I stopped the corporation - Administrator told me it is not that easy to upgrade SLES 11 SP2 to SLES 12 on a XenServer Virtual Machine. I have to roll out a new SLES 12 server and then migrate all settings and programs from the old VM to the new VM. Is this correct?

malcolmlewis
20-May-2016, 00:04
This is my main problem. My - with which I stopped the corporation - Administrator told me it is not that easy to upgrade SLES 11 SP2 to SLES 12 on a XenServer Virtual Machine. I have to roll out a new SLES 12 server and then migrate all settings and programs from the old VM to the new VM. Is this correct?
Hi
Have a read here: https://www.suse.com/documentation/sles-12/book_sle_deployment/data/sec_update_sle12_automated.html

Might be better to setup a test system (you can get an evaluation code) to test migration?