PDA

View Full Version : Openvswitch /etc/sysconfig/network/ifcfg-br-ex setting



lapac1750
10-Jun-2015, 05:06
Hi masters,

I would install openstack kilo multi-node in SLE 12, and I have encountered problem when I prepare the settings for ovs.

There two ifcfg needed for the openvswitch for the openstack br-ex using, ifcfg-br-ex, ifcfg-eth0(which to be used external int for VM instance).

I set the /etc/sysconfig/network/ifcfg-br-ex follow the forum thread that can only one be found about ovs.
# https://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php/497652-OpenVswitch-how-do-I-assign-ip-address-to-ovs-bridge

BOOTPROTO='static'
BROADCAST=''
ETHTOOL_OPTIONS=''
BRIDGE='yes'
BRIDGE_PORTS= 'eth0 br-ex'
IPADDR='192.168.2.51'
MTU=''
NAME=''
NETMASK='255.255.255.0'
NETWORK=''
REMOTE_IPADDR=''
STARTMODE='hotplug'
#DHCLIENT_SET_DEFAULT_ROUTE='yes'
ONBOOT='yes'



and set /etc/sysconfig/network/ifcfg-eth0

BOOTPROTO='none'
#BROADCAST=''
#ETHTOOL_OPTIONS=''
#IPADDR='192.168.2.51'
#MTU=''
#NAME=''
#NETMASK='255.255.255.0'
#NETWORK=''
#REMOTE_IPADDR=''
STARTMODE='auto'
#DHCLIENT_SET_DEFAULT_ROUTE='yes'
#ONBOOT='yes'


But it not work after service network restart, can't ping other IP in same subnet.

I had tried another setting the official document provide, but not work too.
# https://en.opensuse.org/Portal:Wicked/OpenvSwitch

I have some experience of openstack kilo deploying in RHEL(SL, Centos)7, but suse's ifcfg-br-ex seems not like RHEL's.

Please help me to get the correct ifcfg, or give me some reference.


We are extremely grateful for any reply.

Automatic reply
15-Jun-2015, 05:30
lapac1750,

It appears that in the past few days you have not received a response to your
posting. That concerns us, and has triggered this automated reply.

Has your issue been resolved? If not, you might try one of the following options:

- Visit http://www.suse.com/support and search the knowledgebase and/or check all
the other support options available.
- You could also try posting your message again. Make sure it is posted in the
correct newsgroup. (http://forums.suse.com)

Be sure to read the forum FAQ about what to expect in the way of responses:
http://forums.suse.com/faq.php

If this is a reply to a duplicate posting, please ignore and accept our apologies
and rest assured we will issue a stern reprimand to our posting bot.

Good luck!

Your SUSE Forums Team
http://forums.suse.com

lapac1750
16-Jun-2015, 07:00
Does no one install openstack/openvswitch in SLE 12?

Please just share your ifcfg-br-ex and ifcfg-eth0(which port is ovs binded).

mikewillis
16-Jun-2015, 17:35
Does no one install openstack/openvswitch in SLE 12?

Please just share your ifcfg-br-ex and ifcfg-eth0(which port is ovs binded).

Both your posts say SLE 12, which is ambiguous. Are you using SLED or SLES? openvswitch looks like the sort of thing I'd expect to see on a server not a desktop.

If you're using SLES you might get some responses if you post in the SLES forum https://forums.suse.com/forumdisplay.php?8-SUSE-Linux-Enterprise-Server

lapac1750
17-Jun-2015, 07:05
Both your posts say SLE 12, which is ambiguous. Are you using SLED or SLES? openvswitch looks like the sort of thing I'd expect to see on a server not a desktop.

If you're using SLES you might get some responses if you post in the SLES forum https://forums.suse.com/forumdisplay.php?8-SUSE-Linux-Enterprise-Server

Sorry, I think I misunderstand the distinction between "server" and "desktop" in SLE.

I had thought Desktop is with Gnome UI, Server is without Gnome....like ubuntu.

I will re post the question in SLES part, thanks for your mention.

mikewillis
17-Jun-2015, 09:56
Sorry, I think I misunderstand the distinction between "server" and "desktop" in SLE.

I had thought Desktop is with Gnome UI, Server is without Gnome....like ubuntu.


SUSE Linux Enterprise Server (https://www.suse.com/products/server/) and SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop (https://www.suse.com/products/desktop/) are two different products. They share a common base, but they're distinct products.

I'm not sure what you mean with your reference to Ubuntu, but Ubuntu also has server (http://www.ubuntu.com/server) and desktop (http://www.ubuntu.com/desktop) versions.

smflood
17-Jun-2015, 15:36
On 17/06/2015 10:04, mikewillis wrote:

> I'm not sure what you mean with your reference to Ubuntu, but Ubuntu
> also has 'server' (http://www.ubuntu.com/server) and 'desktop'
> (http://www.ubuntu.com/desktop) versions.

The Server edition of Ubuntu doesn't include "desktop" packages such as
X, Gnome, or KDE and it's not recommended to add a GUI to it.

HTH.
--
Simon
SUSE Knowledge Partner

------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below. Thanks.
------------------------------------------------------------------------