PDA

View Full Version : php53-odbc: "Allowed memory size exhausted" after upgrading



jqueiroz
19-Jun-2015, 22:07
Hi all,

I'm facing some problems on a SLES 11 SP3 server. Since I upgraded it ("zypper up"), our webserver started throwing errors like "Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 134217728 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 13873352580693753867 bytes) in /srv/www/htdocs/file.php on line 64".

In my code, line 64 is a call to "odbc_do". So I figured out that the problem is related to the package "php53-odbc", one of the upgraded packages.

As a solution attempt, I tried downgrading the entire php53 package list to the last version (5.3.17-0.41.1 -> 5.3.17-0.35.2), with no result.

Does anyone have any suggestion on how can I solve this?

malcolmlewis
19-Jun-2015, 22:55
On Fri 19 Jun 2015 09:14:02 PM CDT, jqueiroz wrote:


Hi all,

I'm facing some problems on a SLES 11 SP3 server. Since I upgraded it
("zypper up"), our webserver started throwing errors like "Fatal error:
Allowed memory size of 134217728 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate
13873352580693753867 bytes) in /srv/www/htdocs/file.php on line 64".

In my code, line 64 is a call to "odbc_do". So I figured out that the
problem is related to the package "php53-odbc", one of the upgraded
packages.

As a solution attempt, I tried downgrading the entire php53 package list
to the last version (5.3.17-0.41.1 -> 5.3.17-0.35.2), with no result.

Does anyone have any suggestion on how can I solve this?




Hi
Probably an unrealistic amount?

Found this which may help?
https://www.airpair.com/php/fatal-error-allowed-memory-size

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° LFCS, SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 12 GNOME 3.10.1 Kernel
3.12.43-52.6-default If you find this post helpful and are logged into
the web interface, please show your appreciation and click on the star
below... Thanks!

jqueiroz
22-Jun-2015, 20:15
Thanks for your help, Malcolm.
I've already seen this link. My case isn't related to an explicit mem alloc attempt, but to an ODBC call. Maybe the error is coming up when the module tries to allocate mem to store the retrieved data?
The fact is that I'm not a PHP programmer, but the system administrator. Another team cares of the PHP stuff, and they brought me this ticket that started just after the last update.

My problem seems to be more related to this: https://bugs.php.net/bug.php?id=68964
Except the fact that I'm using php53 from SLES 11 Repos.

malcolmlewis
22-Jun-2015, 22:21
On Mon 22 Jun 2015 07:24:01 PM CDT, jqueiroz wrote:


Thanks for your help, Malcolm.
I've already seen this link. My case isn't related to an explicit mem
alloc attempt, but to an ODBC call. Maybe the error is coming up when
the module tries to allocate mem to store the retrieved data?
The fact is that I'm not a PHP programmer, but the system administrator.
Another team cares of the PHP stuff, and they brought me this ticket
that started just after the last update.

My problem seems to be more related to this:
https://bugs.php.net/bug.php?id=68964
Except the fact that I'm using php53 from SLES 11 Repos.




Hi
I'm not a PHP person either, do you know if they changed any of the php
code after the upgrade?

Maybe they need to set the limit in the code?

Maybe some of the CVE's and bugs in the changelog relate to this, as in
what you are seeing is on purpose due to some security issue?

Can you confirm what version use to work?

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° LFCS, SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 12 GNOME 3.10.1 Kernel
3.12.43-52.6-default If you find this post helpful and are logged into
the web interface, please show your appreciation and click on the star
below... Thanks!

jqueiroz
23-Jun-2015, 19:33
Hi
I'm not a PHP person either, do you know if they changed any of the php
code after the upgrade?
No, no changing at all.


Maybe they need to set the limit in the code?
I thought on this also, but if you look closely to the error message, you'll see that the message claims that someone tried to alloc about 12 HB of memory.


Maybe some of the CVE's and bugs in the changelog relate to this
Maybe...


as in what you are seeing is on purpose due to some security issue?
Sorry, I didn't understand that.


Can you confirm what version use to work?
Version 5.3.17-0.35.2 used to work. But I downgraded the server back to it and the problem continues.