PDA

View Full Version : VNC Oh no! Something has gone wrong



interele
30-Jul-2015, 10:14
I have just tried to enable remote access on my Suse 12 box
and if I try and remote in The client ( openSuse 13.2 ) stops
at a black screen for a while and then I get a message
A problem has occurred and the system can't recover
Please log out and try again.

This client works fine when I remote into openSuse 13.2 machines
Is it just a case of using Yast and enabling remote access on the
Suse 12 box ( and clicking open port in firewall ) or have I missed
something.

AppArmor is off BTW

Ta

Mal

Automatic reply
05-Aug-2015, 05:30
interele,

It appears that in the past few days you have not received a response to your
posting. That concerns us, and has triggered this automated reply.

Has your issue been resolved? If not, you might try one of the following options:

- Visit http://www.suse.com/support and search the knowledgebase and/or check all
the other support options available.
- You could also try posting your message again. Make sure it is posted in the
correct newsgroup. (http://forums.suse.com)

Be sure to read the forum FAQ about what to expect in the way of responses:
http://forums.suse.com/faq.php

If this is a reply to a duplicate posting, please ignore and accept our apologies
and rest assured we will issue a stern reprimand to our posting bot.

Good luck!

Your SUSE Forums Team
http://forums.suse.com

mikenash
11-Aug-2015, 15:05
Have you updated the /etc/xinetd.d/vnc configuration file? This can also be updated thru Yast - Network Services -> Network Services (xinetd) -> xvnc1 also xvnc2...

interele
12-Aug-2015, 11:15
Have you updated the /etc/xinetd.d/vnc configuration file? This can also be updated thru Yast - Network Services -> Network Services (xinetd) -> xvnc1 also xvnc2...

Yes, that all seems OK - I think it's trying to start KDM which isn't on the machine
but I don't now how to set it to use GDM. Remote into an openSUSE box with KDE
works fine

Ta

M

mikenash
12-Aug-2015, 14:09
I n the ~/.vnc/xstartup I have this.
cat xstartup
#!/bin/sh

unset SESSION_MANAGER
unset DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS
OS=`uname -s`
if [ $OS = 'Linux' ]; then
case "$WINDOWMANAGER" in
*gnome*)
if [ -e /etc/SuSE-release ]; then
PATH=$PATH:/opt/gnome/bin
export PATH
fi
;;
esac
fi
if [ -x /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc ]; then
exec /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc
fi
if [ -f /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc ]; then
exec sh /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc
fi
[ -r $HOME/.Xresources ] && xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
xsetroot -solid grey
xterm -geometry 80x24+10+10 -ls -title "$VNCDESKTOP Desktop" &
icewm &