PDA

View Full Version : Grub



estica
03-Sep-2015, 03:36
Where to change the name of GRUB?

I already changed but when I install the distro back to stay "openSUSE"
in the boot ...


--
estica
------------------------------------------------------------------------
estica's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=95225
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=509536

nrickert
03-Sep-2015, 03:46
I'm not completely sure what you are wanting to change. However, I'll
try a guess. If I misunderstood, then maybe you will be able to give
more detail.

Yast --> System --> Boot Loader

Assuming that you are using either grub2 or grub2-efi, there will be a
place on the screen labeled "Distributor". The first word of that
"Distributor" field is the name that grub2 uses in its menu. Change
that and save the result.

Alternatively, you can edit "/etc/default/grub" and edit the line
beginning "GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR=". If you do it this way, you also need to
regenerate the config file with

Code:
--------------------
# grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg
--------------------


--
-opensuse 13.2; KDE 4.14.9 (main desktop and laptop);
--opensuse tumbleweed; Plasma 5 (test system);-
------------------------------------------------------------------------
nrickert's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=49759
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=509536

oldcpu
03-Sep-2015, 03:56
If trying to change the names of the various boot options in Grub2, one
way to do this is using “'grub-customizer'
(http://software.opensuse.org/package/grub-customizer)”.

Wrt the Grub2 entry orders and labels, I recently used
“'grub-customizer'
(http://software.opensuse.org/package/grub-customizer)” to name the
Grub2 entries on the PC of my 89+ year old mother - such that she could
better understand them. It also allowed me to place the Grub2 entries
into the order that I wanted my mother to see.


--
oldcpu
------------------------------------------------------------------------
oldcpu's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=77
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=509536

estica
03-Sep-2015, 16:26
I understand.

Sorry for my English.

I change the GRUB2 and guarto files. The problem is after installing my
DISTRO on another PC, back to stay "openSUSE"


--
estica
------------------------------------------------------------------------
estica's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=95225
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=509536

estica
03-Sep-2015, 16:56
I understand.

Sorry for my English.

I change the GRUB2 and save files. The problem is after installing my
DISTRO on another PC, back to stay "openSUSE"


nrickert;2726778 Wrote:
> I'm not completely sure what you are wanting to change. However, I'll
> try a guess. If I misunderstood, then maybe you will be able to give
> more detail.
>
> Yast --> System --> Boot Loader
>
> Assuming that you are using either grub2 or grub2-efi, there will be a
> place on the screen labeled "Distributor". The first word of that
> "Distributor" field is the name that grub2 uses in its menu. Change
> that and save the result.
>
> Alternatively, you can edit "/etc/default/grub" and edit the line
> beginning "GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR=". If you do it this way, you also need to
> regenerate the config file with
> >
Code:
--------------------
> > # grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg
--------------------
> >

Yast --> System --> Boot Loader

I can not find this destination


--
estica
------------------------------------------------------------------------
estica's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=95225
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=509536

oldcpu
03-Sep-2015, 20:56
estica;2726834 Wrote:
>
> Yast --> System --> Boot Loader
>
> I can not find this destination

?????

Can you find YaST ??

Look at this :

'[image:
http://thumbnails113.imagebam.com/43364/d4dda9433639356.jpg]'
(http://www.imagebam.com/image/d4dda9433639356)
-[click on above for larger image]-


--
oldcpu
------------------------------------------------------------------------
oldcpu's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=77
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=509536

estica
03-Sep-2015, 21:16
oldcpu;2726862 Wrote:
> ?????
>
> Can you find YaST ??
>
> Look at this :
>
'[image:
> http://thumbnails113.imagebam.com/43364/d4dda9433639356.jpg]'
> (http://www.imagebam.com/image/d4dda9433639356)
> -[click on above for larger image]-
>
>

I understood now.

I'll try


--
estica
------------------------------------------------------------------------
estica's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=95225
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=509536

estica
03-Sep-2015, 22:46
oldcpu;2726862 Wrote:
> ?????
>
> Can you find YaST ??
>
> Look at this :
>
'[image:
> http://thumbnails113.imagebam.com/43364/d4dda9433639356.jpg]'
> (http://www.imagebam.com/image/d4dda9433639356)
> -[click on above for larger image]-
>
>

I did it and save the files.

I loaded the file in SUSE Studio and construction.

Work fot well until .... When installing dinstro drive back for default
"openSUSE"


--
estica
------------------------------------------------------------------------
estica's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=95225
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=509536

estica
05-Sep-2015, 04:06
estica;2726874 Wrote:
> I did it and save the files.
>
> I loaded the file in SUSE Studio and construction.
>
> Work fot well until .... When installing dinstro drive back for default
> "openSUSE"

Help...

I change the grub_distributor ...

After installing the ISO on your PC back to be default


--
estica
------------------------------------------------------------------------
estica's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=95225
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=509536

oldcpu
05-Sep-2015, 16:56
estica;2727001 Wrote:
> Help...
>
> I change the grub_distributor ...
>
> After installing the ISO on your PC back to be default

I do not understand your problem.

If it is only the 'text' label you are trying to change, then as I noted
earlier, this can be done with 'grub customizer'
(http://software.opensuse.org/package/grub-customizer).
..


--
oldcpu
------------------------------------------------------------------------
oldcpu's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=77
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=509536

estica
06-Sep-2015, 23:06
oldcpu;2727065 Wrote:
> I do not understand your problem.
>
> If it is only the 'text' label you are trying to change, then as I noted
> earlier, this can be done with 'grub customizer'
> (http://software.opensuse.org/package/grub-customizer).
> .

I explain.

I change the name grub_distributor eg for "MY LINUX"

When the low iso and install on a PC back to stick with the original
name "openSUSE"


--
estica
------------------------------------------------------------------------
estica's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=95225
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=509536

hendersj
07-Sep-2015, 00:45
On Sun, 06 Sep 2015 22:06:01 +0000, estica wrote:

> When the low iso and install on a PC back to stick with the original
> name "openSUSE"

That's very likely a side effect of using the public instance of SUSE
Studio - it's a service provided for free, so there are some branding
elements you cannot change.

It seems reasonable to give credit to the openSUSE project for a respin,
which is what it seems you're trying to build.

If you want more flexibility, use Kiwi or purchase the SUSE Studio Onsite
product; both of those options give you full customizability.

Jim
--
Jim Henderson, CNA6, CDE, CNI, LPIC-1, CLA10, CLP10
Novell/SUSE/NetIQ Knowledge Partner

estica
07-Sep-2015, 01:16
hendersj;2727210 Wrote:
> On Sun, 06 Sep 2015 22:06:01 +0000, estica wrote:
>
> > When the low iso and install on a PC back to stick with the original
> > name "openSUSE"
>
> That's very likely a side effect of using the public instance of SUSE
> Studio - it's a service provided for free, so there are some branding
> elements you cannot change.
>
> It seems reasonable to give credit to the openSUSE project for a respin,
> which is what it seems you're trying to build.
>
> If you want more flexibility, use Kiwi or purchase the SUSE Studio
> Onsite
> product; both of those options give you full customizability.
>
> Jim
> --
> Jim Henderson, CNA6, CDE, CNI, LPIC-1, CLA10, CLP10
> Novell/SUSE/NetIQ Knowledge Partner

how exactly does the kiwi


--
estica
------------------------------------------------------------------------
estica's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=95225
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=509536

Knurpht
07-Sep-2015, 11:46
If you install another distro which uses GRUB2, you would have to make
the adjustments in that distro, since you're booting openSUSE from that
distro.


--
- Athlon X6 3.6 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, 64 GB SSD, 3 TB of disks, GT540,
openSUSE Factory + KDE
- ASUS A73SD, Intel + GT610M Optimus, 6 GB, 2 x 120 GB SSD, openSUSE
Factory + KDE

ANYTHING THAT CAN GO WRONG.... WILL TEACH US

http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Knurpht's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=783
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=509536

hendersj
07-Sep-2015, 19:16
On Mon, 07 Sep 2015 00:16:02 +0000, estica wrote:

> how exactly does the kiwi

Kiwi is an image building system that runs on your local system. You
will want to read about it - seach for 'opensuse kiwi' to get started.

It's not a simple process - certainly not as simple as SUSE Studio - and
requires some command-line skills to use.

Jim
--
Jim Henderson, CNA6, CDE, CNI, LPIC-1, CLA10, CLP10
Novell/SUSE/NetIQ Knowledge Partner

estica
07-Sep-2015, 20:16
hendersj;2727312 Wrote:
> On Mon, 07 Sep 2015 00:16:02 +0000, estica wrote:
>
> > how exactly does the kiwi
>
> Kiwi is an image building system that runs on your local system. You
> will want to read about it - seach for 'opensuse kiwi' to get started.
>
> It's not a simple process - certainly not as simple as SUSE Studio - and
> requires some command-line skills to use.
>
> Jim
> --
> Jim Henderson, CNA6, CDE, CNI, LPIC-1, CLA10, CLP10
> Novell/SUSE/NetIQ Knowledge Partner

Is there another way to do it.

Creating a script to edit the files you always want to shut down or
reboot the system.

https://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php/509565-Script

I have this doubt also


--
estica
------------------------------------------------------------------------
estica's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=95225
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=509536

hendersj
08-Sep-2015, 01:58
On Mon, 07 Sep 2015 19:16:02 +0000, estica wrote:

> hendersj;2727312 Wrote:
>> On Mon, 07 Sep 2015 00:16:02 +0000, estica wrote:
>>
>> > how exactly does the kiwi
>>
>> Kiwi is an image building system that runs on your local system. You
>> will want to read about it - seach for 'opensuse kiwi' to get started.
>>
>> It's not a simple process - certainly not as simple as SUSE Studio -
>> and requires some command-line skills to use.
>>
>> Jim --
>> Jim Henderson, CNA6, CDE, CNI, LPIC-1, CLA10, CLP10 Novell/SUSE/NetIQ
>> Knowledge Partner
>
> Is there another way to do it.

The way I suggested is probably your best bet - otherwise, you're looking
for a way to circumvent something that SUSE put in place on their free
service.

Asking users of their service to display that they used SUSE's free
service isn't a huge ask. For those who don't want it, there are other
ways to achieve the same goal, but they require more work.

Jim



--
Jim Henderson, CNA6, CDE, CNI, LPIC-1, CLA10, CLP10
Novell/SUSE/NetIQ Knowledge Partner