PDA

View Full Version : no reload operation apache pacemaker & corosync cluster A/P



Jose_Pedro
15-Apr-2016, 14:36
Hi,
I've implemented a cluster (active/pasive) with apache using pacemaker & corosync. Everything related to the cluster operation is working fine.
The problem is that these apache is going to be also our load balancer. We need hi availability and the flexibility of the reload operation of the apache. On daily basis part of our tasks are to add sites, add nodes to the balanced applications, etc. So we need a cluster operation that permit us to invoke the apache reload (graceful) anytime we need without disrupt the service (user established connections, etc.)

We are using sevice ocf::heartbeat:apache, and these operations aren't available ..

Does anyone can help us with that?

Thanks in advance!
Jos Pedro

smflood
18-Apr-2016, 10:53
On 15/04/16 14:44, Jose Pedro wrote:

> I've implemented a cluster (active/pasive) with apache using pacemaker &
> corosync. Everything related to the cluster operation is working fine.
> The problem is that these apache is going to be also our load balancer.
> We need hi availability and the flexibility of the reload operation of
> the apache. On daily basis part of our tasks are to add sites, add nodes
> to the balanced applications, etc. So we need a cluster operation that
> permit us to invoke the apache reload (graceful) anytime we need without
> disrupt the service (user established connections, etc.)
>
> We are using sevice ocf::heartbeat:apache, and these operations aren't
> available ..
>
> Does anyone can help us with that?

Does "crm resource restart <webserver>" achieve what you're wanting to do?

HTH.
--
Simon
SUSE Knowledge Partner

------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below. Thanks.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jose_Pedro
18-Apr-2016, 13:15
Hi,
First of all thanks for your reply. No, remember that the new command to control the cluster is pcm no crm. Also remember that we need reload configuration without disrupt the established connections. The restart makes stop+start and this is exactly what we cant use ..
We think that we need the implementation of the reload operation..

Thanks!
Jos Pedro

smflood
20-Apr-2016, 10:19
On 18/04/16 13:24, Jose Pedro wrote:

> First of all thanks for your reply. No, remember that the new command to
> control the cluster is �pcm� no crm.

Which version of SUSE Linux Enterprise Server (SLES) and High
Availability Extension (HAE) are you using? Please post the output from
"cat /etc/*release".

The reason for asking is that the SUSE Linux Enterprise High
Availability Extension uses the crm command for configuring and managing
cluster resources from the command line.

I've also found that you've posted exactly the same question in the
CentOS forums though noting that you've "implemented a cluster
(active/pasive) with apache _in centos 7_ using pacemaker & corosync."
Whilst both SLES and CentOS are RPM-based there are some important
differences.

> Also remember that we need reload
> configuration without disrupt the established connections. The restart
> makes stop+start � and this is exactly what we can�t use ..
> We think that we need the implementation of the reload operation..

Whilst restarting the Apache resource will stop and (re)start the Apache
service it won't do so immediately and will wait until current
connections are served.

HTH.
--
Simon
SUSE Knowledge Partner

------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below. Thanks.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jose_Pedro
21-Apr-2016, 15:45
Hi!
Yes,
In fact, we are evaluating both options: Centos and OpenSuse. The centos implementation have these problem and we post in both because we can use openSuse or centos well decide to start testing in Centos because we fund the implementation with corosync+pacemaker full documented in the last release But if you said that in openSuse we have all implemented with reload .. well install it asap ..

Thank you very much for your assistance and patience.

Jos Pedro

jmozdzen
22-Apr-2016, 11:37
Hi Jos Pedro,

> OpenSuse

please note that you're currently posting to the SUSE forums, which are for the supported version of SUSE Linux (SLES/SLED & related products). For questions regarding openSUSE, please have a look at the forum over at https://forums.opensuse.org - you can use the same login credentials as you're using here.

Regards,
Jens

smflood
22-Apr-2016, 11:37
On 21/04/16 15:54, Jose Pedro wrote:
> Yes,
> In fact, we are evaluating both options: Centos and OpenSuse. The centos
> implementation have these problem and we post in both because we can use
> openSuse or centos � we�ll decide to start testing in Centos because we
> fund the implementation with corosync+pacemaker full documented in the
> last release � But if you said that in openSuse we have all
> implemented with reload .. we�ll install it asap ..
>
> Thank you very much for your assistance and patience.

Okay so now having mentioned openSUSE you've thrown another variable
into the mix - whilst SUSE Linux Enterprise Server (SLES) and openSUSE
are closely linked, even more so with the latest openSUSE Leap release,
there are also differences between them. In particular pacemaker is
available as part of the openSUSE distribution rather than as a
separate, paid for extra for SLES.

For questions/issues relating to openSUSE you should post in the
openSUSE Forums @ https://forums.opensuse.org/forum.php (the same user
credentials for SUSE Forums will also work there).

HTH.
--
Simon
SUSE Knowledge Partner

------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below. Thanks.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jose_Pedro
25-Apr-2016, 16:20
Hi guys,
Thank you very much for your responses. Ive opened these thread in openSuse forum .. its strange that the reload wasnt implemented
Thanks !! regards!!
Jos Pedro