PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible to add nodes through CLI/REST in SUSE Crowbar



snivas
22-Apr-2016, 07:41
Hi All,

I want to bye pass the Suse Crowbar Node discovery process (DHCP+PXE boot) and add node directly. same as the one here in opencrowbar (https://github.com/lhrc-mikeyp/opencrowbar-docs/blob/master/doc/development-guides/api/node.md). Is there any APIs to do that?

Thanks in advance!

eblock
22-Apr-2016, 08:07
Hi,
I'm not sure if this is what you mean, but you can add existing machines to crowbar by running a registration script (https://www.suse.com/documentation/suse-openstack-cloud-6/singlehtml/book_cloud_deploy/book_cloud_deploy.html#sec.depl.inst.nodes.install .external). That way new nodes don't need to be discovered.
Hope this helps!

Regards,
Eugen

smflood
22-Apr-2016, 11:25
On 22/04/16 07:44, snivas wrote:

> I want to bye pass the Suse Crowbar Node discovery process (DHCP+PXE
> boot) and add node directly. same as the 'one here in opencrowbar'
> (https://github.com/lhrc-mikeyp/opencrowbar-docs/blob/master/doc/development-guides/api/node.md).
> Is there any APIs to do that?

Perhaps you could explain what you're trying to achieve?

Do you want to be able to power a new machine on that is connected to
the Admin network so that it PXE boots and talks to the Admin node then
self-provisions without any manual action at that time? i.e. the Admin
node already knows the MAC address of the new machine and which
Barclamps are applicable so the new node is automagically deployed.

HTH.
--
Simon
SUSE Knowledge Partner

------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below. Thanks.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

dirkmueller
22-Apr-2016, 17:05
https://www.suse.com/documentation/suse-openstack-cloud-6/book_cloud_deploy/data/sec_depl_inst_nodes_install_external.html

smflood
22-Apr-2016, 22:36
dirkmueller Wrote in message:

> https://www.suse.com/documentation/suse-openstack-cloud-6/book_cloud_deploy/data/sec_depl_inst_nodes_install_external.html

Dirk, am I right in thinking that the "SLEShammer" discovery image
doesn't count as SLES12 SP1 so would booting SLES12 SP1 JeOS be
sufficient?

How did you handle this for the "Rule the Stack" challenges during
the OpenStack Summits?

Thanks.
--
Simon Flood
SUSE Knowledge Partner


----Android NewsGroup Reader----
http://usenet.sinaapp.com/

snivas
05-May-2016, 10:52
Sorry all for not responding to the replies.
I have a posted the same question in Crowbar google groups (https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/crowbar/LftexSMN2Yg) too, which i was following everyday.

Thanks
Nivas