PDA

View Full Version : 'Places' sometimes not showing, Scree Crash



naren_bishayee
27-Jun-2016, 07:52
Hi All,

I'm using SLED12-SP1 x86_64 with SLED_Classic.
After Login, sometimes "Places" icon on bottom task-bar not displaying. After logout/login the Paces appearing. Sometimes also, after log back in, the screen showing "Something has gone wrong"

Can anyone suggest me which log files i need to see, so that i can put more information on here.
156
157

krishna_988
27-Jun-2016, 10:45
I had the same issue, it is an issue with SLE Classic extension conflicting with Places Extension. See whether you have Places extension installed or enabled from Extensions page

naren_bishayee
28-Jun-2016, 06:22
Hi krishna,

I've checked (Places status indicator), it was not enabled, so, no I've enabled it, let see what would happen later.
Also I've noticed that 'Sle classic' extension also in off state.



I had the same issue, it is an issue with SLE Classic extension conflicting with Places Extension. See whether you have Places extension installed or enabled from Extensions page

naren_bishayee
03-Jul-2016, 13:02
No luck, same thing is happening again.
Can anyone suggest me some alternative way, so that i can fix it. Although its not a harmful, but some times i need to logout & log in back.

Thanks


Hi krishna,

I've checked (Places status indicator), it was not enabled, so, no I've enabled it, let see what would happen later.
Also I've noticed that 'Sle classic' extension also in off state.

malcolmlewis
03-Jul-2016, 13:34
On Sun 03 Jul 2016 12:04:01 PM CDT, naren bishayee wrote:

No luck, same thing is happening again.
Can anyone suggest me some alternative way, so that i can fix it.
Although its not a harmful, but some times i need to logout & log in
back.

Thanks

naren_bishayee;33248 Wrote:
> Hi krishna,
>
> I've checked (Places status indicator), it was not enabled, so, no
> I've enabled it, let see what would happen later.
> Also I've noticed that 'Sle classic' extension also in off state.




Hi
Just restart the shell, no need to login/logout. Press alt+F2 then
enter the letter r and press enter.

When it crashes (as in disappears), press alt+F2 and enter lg and press
enter, this starts Looking Glass, then off to the right click on
extensions, then check on the 'errors' link for the extension, anything
visible? Press the esc key to exit looking glass.

What video card/driver?


/sbin/lspci -nnk | grep -A3 VGA


--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° LFCS, SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE Leap 42.1|GNOME 3.16.2|4.1.26-21-default
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

naren_bishayee
03-Jul-2016, 17:49
Hi Malcolmlewis,

Thanks for quick response, I'll try your method if again it (crash/disappear) happen.
Video Card::


linux-waow:~ # lspci -nnk | grep -A3 VGA
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation Broadwell-U Integrated Graphics [8086:1616] (rev 09)
Subsystem: Dell Device [1028:06ae]
00:03.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation Broadwell-U Audio Controller [8086:160c] (rev 09)
Subsystem: Dell Device [1028:06ae]
linux-waow:~ #


Just informing, my system has switchable graphics card, NVIDIA 920, but due to some unknow reason, sled cant use it
You may look my previous post :: https://forums.suse.com/showthread.php?7105-SLED12-with-GeForce-920M


Hi
Just restart the shell, no need to login/logout. Press alt+F2 then
enter the letter r and press enter.

When it crashes (as in disappears), press alt+F2 and enter lg and press
enter, this starts Looking Glass, then off to the right click on
extensions, then check on the 'errors' link for the extension, anything
visible? Press the esc key to exit looking glass.

What video card/driver?


/sbin/lspci -nnk | grep -A3 VGA


--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° LFCS, SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE Leap 42.1|GNOME 3.16.2|4.1.26-21-default
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

naren_bishayee
05-Jul-2016, 04:58
Hi Malcolmlewis,

I cant read the full error details, not even copy it, so please see the attached screen shot
160


Hi
Just restart the shell, no need to login/logout. Press alt+F2 then
enter the letter r and press enter.

When it crashes (as in disappears), press alt+F2 and enter lg and press
enter, this starts Looking Glass, then off to the right click on
extensions, then check on the 'errors' link for the extension, anything
visible? Press the esc key to exit looking glass.

What video card/driver?


/sbin/lspci -nnk | grep -A3 VGA


--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° LFCS, SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE Leap 42.1|GNOME 3.16.2|4.1.26-21-default
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

malcolmlewis
05-Jul-2016, 13:42
Hi
I note you turned the places extension on, they should all be off. So turn off and restart the shell and see how it goes.

Is the system all up to date?

naren_bishayee
05-Jul-2016, 14:18
Hi Malcolmlewis,

Yes, system is uptodate.

I've disabled the 'Places' extension & also noted that no other extension is turned ON state.
Restarted the shell, everything is good till now, but when i open 'lg' using alt+f2 & visit extension tab, I've found the 'Window Lists' is enabled




Hi
I note you turned the places extension on, they should all be off. So turn off and restart the shell and see how it goes.

Is the system all up to date?

malcolmlewis
05-Jul-2016, 16:01
Hi Malcolmlewis,

Yes, system is uptodate.

I've disabled the 'Places' extension & also noted that no other extension is turned ON state.
Restarted the shell, everything is good till now, but when i open 'lg' using alt+f2 & visit extension tab, I've found the 'Window Lists' is enabled
Hi
In lg I see window list disabled, the others enabled...

If you create a test user and login as that test user, what do you see in Tweak Tool and lg?

naren_bishayee
07-Jul-2016, 04:15
Hi Malcolmlewis,

please see the attached images for my own user & test user
163164165166


Hi
In lg I see window list disabled, the others enabled...

If you create a test user and login as that test user, what do you see in Tweak Tool and lg?

malcolmlewis
07-Jul-2016, 04:33
Hi
OK, that looks good, so if you can use your test user for a period of time, do you see the same crash?

I wonder if it's graphics card related... what model DELL is this?

naren_bishayee
08-Jul-2016, 11:27
Hi Malcolmlewis,

It's little bit problematic to use that test user for a period of time, i've to do lots of things, like, email, work data, etc.
It's DELL Inspiron 15 5000 series.

As you mentioned, "if its graphics card related", today, i noticed, my windows is doing animation (partially showing the thumbnail view of the open window & goes to minimize during the minimize time, and same for maximize time) during minimize or maximize, which previously not happen, i think because of SLED only recognize the intel graphics, and does not have way to use the hybrid graphics.


Hi
OK, that looks good, so if you can use your test user for a period of time, do you see the same crash?

I wonder if it's graphics card related... what model DELL is this?

malcolmlewis
08-Jul-2016, 14:25
On Fri 08 Jul 2016 10:34:02 AM CDT, naren bishayee wrote:

Hi Malcolmlewis,

It's little bit problematic to use that test user for a period of time,
i've to do lots of things, like, email, work data, etc.
It's DELL Inspiron 15 5000 series.

As you mentioned, "if its graphics card related", today, i noticed, my
windows is doing animation (partially showing the thumbnail view of the
open window & goes to minimize during the minimize time, and same for
maximize time) during minimize or maximize, which previously not happen,
i think because of SLED only recognize the intel graphics, and does not
have way to use the hybrid graphics.

malcolmlewis;33406 Wrote:
> Hi
> OK, that looks good, so if you can use your test user for a period of
> time, do you see the same crash?
>
> I wonder if it's graphics card related... what model DELL is this?




Hi
Have a read here;
https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:NVIDIA_Bumblebee

Now in your case your going to need the src rpms and rebuild locally;
http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/X11:/Bumblebee/SLE_12/src/

Else ask one of the maintainers to add SLED 12 SP1 as a build target;
https://build.opensuse.org/user/show/scarabeus_iv

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° LFCS, SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE Leap 42.1|GNOME 3.16.2|4.1.26-21-default
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

malcolmlewis
08-Jul-2016, 14:26
On Fri 08 Jul 2016 01:25:21 PM CDT, malcolmlewis wrote:



On Fri 08 Jul 2016 10:34:02 AM CDT, naren bishayee wrote:

Hi Malcolmlewis,

It's little bit problematic to use that test user for a period of time,
i've to do lots of things, like, email, work data, etc.
It's DELL Inspiron 15 5000 series.

As you mentioned, "if its graphics card related", today, i noticed, my
windows is doing animation (partially showing the thumbnail view of the
open window & goes to minimize during the minimize time, and same for
maximize time) during minimize or maximize, which previously not happen,
i think because of SLED only recognize the intel graphics, and does not
have way to use the hybrid graphics.

malcolmlewis;33406 Wrote:
> Hi
> OK, that looks good, so if you can use your test user for a period of
> time, do you see the same crash?
>
> I wonder if it's graphics card related... what model DELL is this?




Hi
Have a read here;
https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:NVIDIA_Bumblebee

Now in your case your going to need the src rpms and rebuild locally;
http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/X11:/Bumblebee/SLE_12/src/

Else ask one of the maintainers to add SLED 12 SP1 as a build target;
https://build.opensuse.org/user/show/scarabeus_iv



Hi
There is this thread as well;
https://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php/512260-Leap-42-1-Optimus-system-with-nvidia-prime-instead-of-bumblebee

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° LFCS, SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE Leap 42.1|GNOME 3.16.2|4.1.26-21-default
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!