PDA

View Full Version : SLES 12 SP1 Mount qcow2 Image



carnold6
18-Jul-2016, 23:36
SLES12 SP1 with xen and 2 VM's. 1 VM will not boot. This VM is windows 2012 R2. I would like to mount the qcow2 image and see if i can get the VM to boot. When i run:

modprobe nbd max_part=63
qemu-nbd -c /dev/nbd0 /path/to/qcow2/image.qcow2
mount /dev/nbd0p1 /mnt/image

I get: mount: unknown filesystem type 'ntfs'

Is there any way to mount a windows VM on to the SLES12 filesystem? If you can't, does anyone know of a way to mount the qcow2 file on any other system in a read/write fashion?

ab
19-Jul-2016, 02:35
Mount with the ntfs-3g driver, which may be part of the SLED (Desktop)
repositories since it's not normal for a server to need to mount a windows
filesystem like a desktop might.

With regard to what you can do from here, you could potentially use 'dd'
to pull all of the data from the mounted disk, write it to a raw file, and
see if another system can open it. Better yet, just add the ntfs-3g
packages to SLES, build a SLED system (download media just like you
probably did SLES), and use that instead.

--
Good luck.

If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below...

carnold6
21-Jul-2016, 00:35
I added the SLED ISO as an Add-On to our SLES 12 server and installed ntfs-3g. However, after i run:

mount /dev/nbd0p1 /mnt/edge
I get:

The disk contains an unclean file system (0, 0).
Metadata kept in Windows cache, refused to mount.
Failed to mount '/dev/nbd0p1': Operation not permitted
The NTFS partition is in an unsafe state. Please resume and shutdown
Windows fully (no hibernation or fast restarting), or mount the volume
read-only with the 'ro' mount option.

Mounting with the'ro' option will not allow me to manipulate the data in the image. Anyway to force it to mount?