PDA

View Full Version : SAP Business one Entry level Dell - Suse installation



triwhdxk
05-Sep-2016, 15:52
We are taking a TDI approach for installing SAP HANA Business one ERP 9.2 in production on Entry level server Dell R730 ( processor is correct Intel Xeon E5-26xx v3).
But we want to use VMware 5.5 or 6 in production. In production we will have just 1 VM on the server with committed resources. The article that tells us this is achievable is this http://scn.sap.com/docs/DOC-57924.

For Testing purposes we had existing Dell R720 (also supported hardware for SAP Hana Intel Xeon E5-26xx v2) so we installed Vmware Esxi 6 using trial 60 days version of SUSE Linux Enterprise for SAP Applications 11 SP4 for x86_64 from this link (https://www.suse.com/eval/download?event_id=SGAPSAP18362&event_name=SLES+for+SAP+SP4+Program+-+AMD64/Intel+64&icid=SGDGNTD18518&build=cqjcPkBVPYo~&login_required=1).

But when we do the install of Suse we have issues as you can see from these 2 images http://imgur.com/a/Y3PId (please note there are 2 images)

Will be glad if someone can guide us what are we doing wrong.

Also we have tried to install with this image http://www.suse.com/slesb1hana and same issue. we have heard that slesb1hana is not supported on vmware on this forum but this article looks like says its supported http://scn.sap.com/docs/DOC-57924. See section 3 Virtual Disk Configuration.

Happy to discuss further.

regards,
tri

triwhdxk
06-Sep-2016, 10:47
we have got suse image working with both slesb1hana image and SLES for SAP 11.4 in Vmware 6.

You have to do below steps so installer can detect hardware correctly. Steps taken from SAP Business One, version for SAP HANA on VMWare vSphere guide http://scn.sap.com/docs/DOC-57924

After creating the VM that you will run for HANA take the following steps:
Shutdown the VM
Go to vSphere Center -> Select your VM -> Edit Settings -> VM Options -> Advanced -> Configuration Parameters -> Edit Configuration -> Add Row
Enter new parameter "Smbios.reflectHost" with value
"TRUE"
Start the VM
This will pass the real vendor/model to the VM BIOS, and if it's a supported vendor/model, the installer will detect it properly.

pschinagl
12-Sep-2016, 10:47
As it is the same Installation-Wizard in SLES4SAP and the BOne image, it will react the same.
Your solution will only work with BusinessOne certified hardware - which is not the right HW for a TDI approach.
With BOne the machines have internal disks and through the bios we know which vendor and with these informations we can automatic partition the disks.
This is not possible with TDI and it's the reason why you need to do a manual regular installation for TDI