PDA

View Full Version : Suse 10.0 not launching kdm GUI interface



mr4nders0n
15-Sep-2016, 19:32
Hi all,

I could use some help from the experts on getting my system back running. I went on vacation and when I came back my windows xp Suse 10.0 dual boot machine was having problem. I know what you're thinking - why am I running old stuff, well this computer is actually hooked up to a tool which has software that is from the 1990's and can only really run in XP and Suse 10.0 in addition this computer is not connected to any networks it's just sitting there for the sole purpose of running and operating this tool. The dual boot is needed for running a file conversion through the linux side, converted files are then ran through the software on the XP side. The XP side of the partition is fine

I've read a few forums online regarding issues with this so I've attempted to run a few commands in the TTY but haven't really gotten anywhere.

Here are hopefully some relevant details about the problem I'm experiencing and some info I've tried to look at to correct it. I'm not sure if this is a graphics card issue or just some boot file got corrupted or changed.

FAILURE DESCRIPTION
during boot up everything in the loading grub screen looks normal and says "done" until you reach the Cron daemon and then it throws a couple of messages that look like:

Code:
Starting Cron daemon/usr/sbin/Cron: can't open or create /var/run/cron.pid I/O error
startproc: exit status of parent of /usr/sbin/cron:
Master Resource Control: runlevel 5 has been reached
Failed services in runlevel 5: atd early kdb kdb resmgr acpid postfix cron
after that point it attempts to start the HAL daemon:



Starting HAL daemon
##############################
#acpi SYSTEM BUT ACPID NOT RUNNING #
#start acpid first, then restart powersaved! #
###############################

This finished the grub boot attempt and leaves you in the tty - see below
https://theliberalengineer.files.wordpress.com/2016/08/20160913_154946_resized.jpg

Related Info

Some of the trouble shooting that I've done for this based on reading elsewhere about booting issues is below:
The chip type:


sax2 -p
/usr/sbin/sax2: line 26: [: unknown: integer expressions expected
/usr/sbin/sax2: line 26: [: unknown: integer expressions expected
Chip: 0 is -> ATI Range 128 Ultra TF 01:00:0 0x1002 0x5446 AGP r128

I've hears some people say that the boot runlevel must be set to runlevel 5 so I checked the /boot/grub/menu.1st file and I think it's setup for runlevel 5 but maybe I'm wrong here ... looking at some other threads it looks like you can change run level by running init 5 ... I didn't try that yet.

This is from the /boot/grub/menu.1st file:


title SUSE LINUX 10.0
root (hd0,5)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda6 vga=normal_selinux=0 resume=/dev/hda5 splash=silent showopts
initrd /boot/initrd

I also tried running the sax2 command to reset the xorg.conf file and then running startx - this is the result of that attempt:


sax2 -r o=versa
/usr/sbin/sax2: line 26: [: unknown: integer expressions expected
/usr/sbin/sax2: line 26: [: unknown: integer expressions expected
SaX: initializing please wait ...
SaX: no X-server is running
SaX:will start own server if needed
SaX: startup

This lead to the following screens - and resulted in getting into a very broken user environment which is unresponsive:
https://theliberalengineer.files.wordpress.com/2016/08/20160915_105310_resized.jpg

selecting OK and not changing the configuration:


https://theliberalengineer.files.wordpress.com/2016/08/20160915_105310_resized.jpg
Does anyone have any ideas, I'm sorry I'm not a expert with linux but was hoping for some guidance here, let me know if there's any other information I can get that would help with troubleshooting.

Thanks.

ab
15-Sep-2016, 22:32
On 09/15/2016 12:34 PM, mr4nders0n wrote:
>
> Hi all,
>
> I could use some help from the experts on getting my system back
> running. I went on vacation and when I came back my windows xp Suse 10.0
> dual boot machine was having problem. I know what you're thinking - why
> am I running old stuff, well this computer is actually hooked up to a
> tool which has software that is from the 1990's and can only really run
> in XP and Suse 10.0 in addition this computer is not connected to any
> networks it's just sitting there for the sole purpose of running and
> operating this tool. The dual boot is needed for running a file
> conversion through the linux side, converted files are then ran through
> the software on the XP side. The XP side of the partition is fine
>
> I've read a few forums online regarding issues with this so I've
> attempted to run a few commands in the TTY but haven't really gotten
> anywhere.
>
> Here are hopefully some relevant details about the problem I'm
> experiencing and some info I've tried to look at to correct it. I'm not
> sure if this is a graphics card issue or just some boot file got
> corrupted or changed.
>
> FAILURE DESCRIPTION
> during boot up everything in the loading grub screen looks normal and
> says "done" until you reach the Cron daemon and then it throws a couple
> of messages that look like:
>
> Code:
> Starting Cron daemon/usr/sbin/Cron: can't open or create
> /var/run/cron.pid I/O error

I/O errors are never fun; this could be disk corruption or something,
though on a PID file? Hmmm... wish I had a SUSE 10 box around to check,
but I do not. Are you able to touch a file under /var/run just to verify
your filesystem is not read-only for some odd reason?



touch /var/run/test.pid


> startproc: exit status of parent of /usr/sbin/cron:
> Master Resource Control: runlevel 5 has been reached
>
> Failed services in runlevel 5: atd early kdb kdb resmgr acpid postfix
> cron
> after that point it attempts to start the HAL daemon:

A lot of things failed, and a lot of basic things too. postfix, cron,
atd, those are basic, and simple, services that should run regardless. So
far I'm still guessing a corrupt, thus now mounted read-only, filesystem.
Having the complete output of the 'dmesg' command may be interesting:



dmesg


> I've hears some people say that the boot runlevel must be set to
> runlevel 5 so I checked the /boot/grub/menu.1st file and I think it's
> setup for runlevel 5 but maybe I'm wrong here ... looking at some other
> threads it looks like you can change run level by running init 5 ... I
> didn't try that yet.

Grub does not normally specify a runlevel; that's the task of the
/etc/inittab file in SUSE 10, and unless you've changed it then it is
probably fine. Grub can override, but yours does not.

Do you know which filesystem is used for your system? Post the output of
the mount command:



mount


--
Good luck.

If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below...

smflood
15-Sep-2016, 23:35
mr4nders0n Wrote in message:

> title SUSE LINUX 10.0

This suggests that you are using SUSE Linux 10.0 which was an
earlier name for what is now openSUSE and not SUSE Linux
Enterprise Desktop (SLED) for which this forum is intended. If
correct ("cat /etc/*release" should confirm) then you should
repost at the openSUSE Forums @ https://forums.opensuse.org

HTH.
--
Simon Flood
SUSE Knowledge Partner


----Android NewsGroup Reader----
http://usenet.sinaapp.com/

thsundel
16-Sep-2016, 08:00
The picture says /var file system is not accesible... So probably a failed disk or filesystem, I would begin looking at that.

Thomas