PDA

View Full Version : Which repos should remain after upgrading to SP2?



allenb_1121
22-Mar-2012, 20:45
I know that the SP1 repos are supposed to be left after the upgrade from SP1 to SP2, but does that hold true for the SDK as well?
I upgraded a system that had the -pool and -updates repos for the SDK added.
My method for upgrading was:
1. Install the migration packages for SLES and SDK
2. suse_register -d 2
3. zypper dup

After the upgrade completed, I have the following repos:
sle11-sdk-sp1-pool
sle11-sdk-sp1-updates
sle11-sdk-sp2-core
sle11-sdk-sp2-updates
sles11-sp1-pool
sles11-sp1-updates
sles11-sp2-core
sles11-sp2-updates

Is this as it should be, or should the SP1 repos for SDK be removed? It is my understanding that the two SP1 repos for SLES should remain until SP3 is released and applied to the system. Correct?
Allen Beddingfield
Systems Engineer
The University of Alabama

malcolmlewis
22-Mar-2012, 21:53
I know that the SP1 repos are supposed to be left after the upgrade from
SP1 to SP2, but does that hold true for the SDK as well?
I upgraded a system that had the -pool and -updates repos for the SDK
added.
My method for upgrading was:
1. Install the migration packages for SLES and SDK
2. suse_register -d 2
3. zypper dup

After the upgrade completed, I have the following repos:
sle11-sdk-sp1-pool
sle11-sdk-sp1-updates
sle11-sdk-sp2-core
sle11-sdk-sp2-updates
sles11-sp1-pool
sles11-sp1-updates
sles11-sp2-core
sles11-sp2-updates

Is this as it should be, or should the SP1 repos for SDK be removed?
It is my understanding that the two SP1 repos for SLES should remain
until SP3 is released and applied to the system. Correct?
Allen Beddingfield
Systems Engineer
The University of Alabama



Hi
I updated my test server yesterday which included the SDK, and the SP1
pool and updates remains active so I would imagine yes.

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 3.0.13-0.27-default
up 6:50, 2 users, load average: 0.01, 0.02, 0.05
CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU

allenb_1121
22-Mar-2012, 21:57
Malcolm,
Thanks for the confirmation on that! I assume the same will be true of HAE and SMT, but not sure. Looks like trial-and-error are in order, because I don't have a test SMT server! Luckily it is a virtual machine, so I can make a snapshot before attempting the upgrade.

Allen Beddingfield
Systems Engineer
The University of Alabama

malcolmlewis
22-Mar-2012, 22:48
Malcolm,
Thanks for the confirmation on that! I assume the same will be true of
HAE and SMT, but not sure. Looks like trial-and-error are in order,
because I don't have a test SMT server! Luckily it is a virtual
machine, so I can make a snapshot before attempting the upgrade.

Allen Beddingfield
Systems Engineer
The University of Alabama



Hi
On this desktop a fresh install of SLED 11 SP2 and adding via YaST add
on products for the SLE 11 SP2 SDK it adds the SP1 repositories as
well, so looks like that's the norm.

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 3.0.13-0.27-default
up 7:47, 3 users, load average: 0.01, 0.04, 0.05
CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU

ataschner
23-Mar-2012, 09:56
Hi Allen
It is supposed to be like that.
The new model applies to SLED, SLES and SDK as per http://www.novell.com/support/viewContent.do?externalId=7010225&sliceId=2
//Andreas