PDA

View Full Version : Problems bootstrapping SLES11-SP3 and SLES11-SP4 with SM3



lychina
28-Mar-2017, 18:48
Hi. We are testing out SM3 to manage our SLES 11 SP3/SP4 and SLES 12 SP1/SP2 servers. I installed SM3 on a SLES12 server and tried to bootstrap clients on SLES11-SP3, SLES11-SP4, and SLES12-SP1. The Salt bootstrap on SLES11-SP4 and SLES12-SP1 worked ok using the SM3 gui. When I try to bootstrap the SLES11-SP3 client using the same method, very weird things start to occur. After Salt->Bootstrap of the SLES11-SP3 client, the following occurs:
1. The SLES11-SP4 client is removed from Salt->Onboarding and Systems->Overview.
2. The SLES11-SP3 client is added to Salt->Onboarding and Systems->Overview.
3. According to Systems->Overview, the base channel for the SLES11-SP3 client is the SLES11-SP4 pool.
4. On the SLES11-SP3 client, an additional repo is added, "SUSE-Manager-Bootstrap". The original repos before the bootstrap are still present. For the SLES11-SP4 and SLES12-SP1 clients, all repos were disabled and the only repos present with "zypper lr -E" are those added by SM3 ("susemanager:sles11-sp4-pool-x86_64", "susemanager:sles11-sp4-updates-x86_64", "susemanager:sles12-sp1-pool-x86_64", "susemanager:sles12-sp1-updates-x86_64").

We have separate activation keys for SLES11-SP3, SLES11-SP4, and SLES12-SP1, each pointing to the correct Base Channel depending on the OS/SP. We are not using "SUSE Manager Default" for any Base Channel. The correct activation key is being selected for each bootstrap.

If I attempt to re-bootstrap the SLES11-SP4 server via Salt->Bootstrap, the following occurs:
1. The SLES11-SP3 client is removed from Salt->Onboarding and Systems-Overview.
2. The SLES11-SP4 client is added to Salt->Onboarding and Systems->Overview.
3. The only repo enabled is "SUSE-Manager-Bootstrap". The "susemanager:sles11-sp4-pool-x86_64" and "susemanager:sles11-sp4-updates-x86_64" repos created by the initial bootstrap have been disabled.

What is going on and how do I fix this?

ab
28-Mar-2017, 19:40
Just wildly guessing, are you possibly using cloned SLES boxes? For
example you had a box built, cloned the VM, and now the boxes look
identical in some way so changes you make to one apply to the other?

--
Good luck.

If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below...

lychina
28-Mar-2017, 19:55
Just wildly guessing, are you possibly using cloned SLES boxes? For
example you had a box built, cloned the VM, and now the boxes look
identical in some way so changes you make to one .

Yep, both built in vmware from cloned templates. The SLES11-SP3 and SLES11-SP4 templates are different. The SP4 template was built on top of the SP3 template. How do I work around this? Is there some file common to both because of the cloning that has the same UUID or something like that?

Nice catch!

lychina
28-Mar-2017, 21:52
Yep, both built in vmware from cloned templates. The SLES11-SP3 and SLES11-SP4 templates are different. The SP4 template was built on top of the SP3 template. How do I work around this? Is there some file common to both because of the cloning that has the same UUID or something like that?

Will try what is outlined here (https://wiki.microfocus.com/index.php/SUSE_Manager/Register_Clones).

ab
28-Mar-2017, 22:31
Yes, that is what I would try.


--
Good luck.

If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below...

lychina
30-Mar-2017, 16:02
Yes, that is what I would try.

It worked! Just had to create a new /var/lib/dbus/machine-id on SLES11 and /etc/machine-id on SLES12. Thanks!