PDA

View Full Version : SLES 12 SP2 Update SLES 11 SP3 to SLES 12 SP2: Problem with libreadline



Foko
02-May-2017, 13:59
I tried to update from SLES 11 SP1 to SLES 12 SP2. The first two steps

- SLES 11 SP1 to SLES SP2
- SLES 11 SP2 to SLES SP3

worked without any problems. But the third step

- SLES 11 SP3 to SLES 12 SP2

Gave me an error for several packages:

Installation of package xyz failed

Subprocess failed, Error: RPM failed: /bin/sh:
/usr/local/lib/readline.so.6: no version information available (required by /bin/sh)

/bin/sh: relocation error: /bin/sh: symbol rl_filename_stat_hook, version READLINE_6.3 not defined in file libreadline.so.6 with link time reference

...

zypper tells me readline 5.2 is installed, but obviously /bin/sh references /usr/local/lib/libreadline.so which is linked to libreadline.6.2. Can anybody explain what exactly the problem is and how to get out of this situation?

smflood
02-May-2017, 14:38
On 02/05/17 14:04, Foko wrote:

> I tried to update from SLES 11 SP1 to SLES 12 SP2. The first two steps
>
> - SLES 11 SP1 to SLES SP2
> - SLES 11 SP2 to SLES SP3
>
> worked without any problems. But the third step
>
> - SLES 11 SP3 to SLES 12 SP2
>
> Gave me an error for several packages:
>
> Installation of package xyz failed
>
> Subprocess failed, Error: RPM failed: /bin/sh:
> /usr/local/lib/readline.so.6: no version information available (required
> by /bin/sh)
>
> /bin/sh: relocation error: /bin/sh: symbol rl_filename_stat_hook,
> version READLINE_6.3 not defined in file libreadline.so.6 with link time
> reference
>
> ...
>
> zypper tells me readline 5.2 is installed, but obviously /bin/sh
> references /usr/local/lib/libreadline.so which is linked to
> libreadline.6.2. Can anybody explain what exactly the problem is and how
> to get out of this situation?

How are you doing the upgrade?

HTH.
--
Simon
SUSE Knowledge Partner

------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below. Thanks.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Foko
02-May-2017, 16:22
I mounted the ISO file as a DVD, booted from the DVD and choose Update.