PDA

View Full Version : SLES 12 SP2 xorg not working with gnome



ncr_archie
16-May-2017, 10:01
Hi

is there any way to force gnome to use xorg.conf xorg.confd.d configuration files?

what i notice, gnome overrides xorg.conf configuration

like when i set the left and right monitor , or set 2 monitors to clone, the gnome settings overrides it.


i am using

SLES 12 sp2 x86_64
gnome-shell 3.20.4
gdm 3.10.0.1

Automatic Reply
22-May-2017, 05:30
ncr,

It appears that in the past few days you have not received a response to your
posting. That concerns us, and has triggered this automated reply.

These forums are peer-to-peer, best effort, volunteer run and that if your issue
is urgent or not getting a response, you might try one of the following options:

- Visit http://www.suse.com/support and search the knowledgebase and/or check all
the other support options available.
- Open a service request: https://www.suse.com/support
- You could also try posting your message again. Make sure it is posted in the
correct newsgroup. (http://forums.suse.com)

Be sure to read the forum FAQ about what to expect in the way of responses:
http://forums.suse.com/faq.php

If this is a reply to a duplicate posting or otherwise posted in error, please
ignore and accept our apologies and rest assured we will issue a stern reprimand
to our posting bot..

Good luck!

Your SUSE Forums Team
http://forums.suse.com

jmozdzen
30-May-2017, 13:40
Hi ncr_archie,

> is there any way to force gnome to use xorg.conf xorg.confd.d configuration files?

no, as these two don't correlate, to my best knowledge.

> what i notice, gnome overrides xorg.conf configuration

Sounds to me like you may be mis-interpreting what you see - unlike *changing* the xorg.conf configuration, it's overriding the xorg.conf settings:

> like when i set the left and right monitor , or set 2 monitors to clone, the gnome settings overrides it.

My bet is that Gnome uses the RANDR extension of your X server to control these aspects.

I'm not into Gnome (why waste compute power for graohical interfaces when I can have a CLI :D ), but a quick search found Attic information on a file ~/.config/monitors.xml, where the RANDR configuration is said to be stored for Gnome. Depending on your actual use case, deleting that file might reset the Gnome configuration back to default?

Regards,
J