PDA

View Full Version : SLES 11 SP4 Network configuration for SLES 11 SP4 on System Z



mohd_tarmizi
17-May-2017, 05:01
Hello all,

I am a newbies for LINUX and SUSE frankly speaking don't have any idea where to for my new task. As for my new task, I am doing SLES 11 SP4 installation on IBM System Z. The installation process went okay after a few tries and errors. Now, there is a need for me to add another IP which is for backup purposes. that means, currently we have eth0 with 10.xx.xx.xx and now we need to have eth1 with 192.xx.xx.xx. I am not sure where to start because i tried from YaSt but no success on it.

Thank you

ab
17-May-2017, 13:33
First, welcome to the forum, and a platform with infinite possibilities.
I'll see what I can do to help based on experience with SLES, though not
necessarily with System Z, and you are welcome to keep asking until we get
it right.

There are at least two parts to the process; first, you need a NIC, and
second you need to apply networking configuration to that NIC. The first
part, particularly on a System Z box, I have no idea about.

I presume you are actually installing on a VM within a System Z box, not
as the host itself, but if that is wrong please let me know as I think
SLES supports both options, and if you are doing the VM I think that uses
the s390x media. In any case, add the "hardware" first, which you should
see show up in Yast or from the command line:



ip a
ip l


Next, at least on SLES for other platforms, Yast can be used to configure
the NIC IP address(es), netmask(s), as well as system gateway(s), DNS
settings, and so on. You can get directly to the networking section f
Yast using the following command:



yast lan


Once there, you should get to a display that shows you available NICs; if
you do not see your NIC, either it is not installed yet (see previous
section) or you maybe have not rebooted to have it show up (not always
required, but usually is for me since I cannot install NICs "hot"). If
the new NIC shows up, select it and add its IP address.

If you are using Yast from the command line, probably in"ncurses" mode (a
text-based GUI of sorts) then you may find working within Yast a little
tricky at first, involving excessive use of the [Tab] key to move around.
While that works, you should also see underlined letters on
fields/buttons/etc. and if you use Alt+[letter] it will move you to that
field or "click" that button for you, so moving around in Yast (ncurses)
or the GUI, using these shortcuts, can be really fast and easy and I find
myself using those even when I have a GUI and mouse that could otherwise
be used.

If you've applied your settings then next/save/finish out of Yast and
let's see if anything has applied properly:



ip a
ip r


--
Good luck.

If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below.

If you want to send me a private message, please let me know in the
forum as I do not use the web interface often.

ab
17-May-2017, 13:34
I see now you have posted in the System Z subforum too; I'm moving this
post over there, so feel free to ignore this unless you think it applies
here more as we get into it.


--
Good luck.

If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below.

If you want to send me a private message, please let me know in the
forum as I do not use the web interface often.