PDA

View Full Version : SLES 11 SP4 Problem Message after SLES SP4 Update from SP3



ChMueller
30-May-2017, 08:27
Hello,

I updated our SLES SP3 machine to the new SP4 , but after I reboot the machine it looks fine till the next login. Here I see ever the Message "Unable to authenticate user".
Why show the system me this message now ?

Can you help me?
Sorry I can't send an image because I couldn't insert a local image file.


regards
Chris

ab
30-May-2017, 11:37
Is this message at a GUI, or a TTY-based login? Does it happen if you try
to login via SSH? Are you using Gnome or KDE for the GUI, if applicable?
What do you see in /var/log/messages at the time? Are you using anything
outside the box (LDAP, etc.) for authentication of users?

--
Good luck.

If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below.

If you want to send me a private message, please let me know in the
forum as I do not use the web interface often.

ChMueller
30-May-2017, 13:24
Hello,
to your question, about the way to connect the server. It will be an virtual machine (VM) of VMware and normally I use the SSH connect to this machine, but sometimes I need to connect direct on these machine over the VWare remote console to make an update like this SP4.
And after I reboot the server new it looks good, if I wait some time an try to connect again over VMware I see this message. I klick OK an the I can me login.

But I believe to know what's the problem. After I delete the file " .Xauthority " it looks better. OK, I look tomorrow if it will change or not. :)


Best regards

Chris

PS: how can I send an image into this thread ?

ab
31-May-2017, 02:26
On 05/30/2017 06:34 AM, ChMueller wrote:
>
> Hello,
> to your question, about the way to connect the server. It will be an
> virtual machine (VM) of VMware and normally I use the SSH connect to
> this machine, but sometimes I need to connect direct on these machine
> over the VWare remote console to make an update like this SP4.

I do not understand why you needed the GUI for the upgrade to SP4; that
should be possible via the command line too. Nevermind that, you have
your reasons besides this I presume.

> And after I reboot the server new it looks good, if I wait some time an
> try to connect again over VMware I see this message. I klick OK an the I
> can me login.
>
> But I believe to know what's the problem. After I delete the file "
> .Xauthority " it looks better. OK, I look tomorrow if it will change or
> not. :)

If that works, then great. Since this only happens when you go in via
display zero (the main GUI) this is an X problem, and maybe cleaning that
file out fixes it up, which is great. How did you find that as an option,
just out of curiosity?

--
Good luck.

If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below.

If you want to send me a private message, please let me know in the
forum as I do not use the web interface often.

ChMueller
31-May-2017, 07:32
Hi,
I would use the GUI to update on SP4 because I think I will be easier use the Online-Update Funktion. Next time I make it with the command line.
Now I make it so, and the update to SP4 works fine with online-update , only this message I ever get if login to the GUI. It just annoys.

Oh, the work with deleting the ".Xauthority" file doesn't work.

Do you have some ideas how I can solve my little problem?

best regard

Chris

jmozdzen
31-May-2017, 09:54
Hi Chris,



Oh, the work with deleting the ".Xauthority" file doesn't work.

Do you have some ideas how I can solve my little problem?

we're still waiting for some more details, like those asked for in ab#s first reply.

Additionally, am I right to assume that it's not only an annoying message, but rather prevents you from completing the login? If so, are you logging in as a regular user - and will logging in as root and/or logging in via ssh (as user and/or as root) work, while the X login won't?

Regards,
J

ChMueller
31-May-2017, 10:25
First the information, I use the GNOME GUI.

In the meantime I think that it is perhaps also a cause in the user registration is and I simply have to reset the root password.
Or it is on the VMware page.
It is just a lousy message which I would like to have away. After I have confirmed it, I can log on normally.

regrads
Chris

jmozdzen
31-May-2017, 10:47
Hi Chris,

for my taste, those are too many shots into the dark. Personally, I'd rather try to track down the root cause, but whatever works for you is fine, too.

Regards,
J

ChMueller
31-May-2017, 12:23
OK, but you can't also not answered my question to my problem.
Shortly I wrote, I use an SLES 11 SP4 system which was updated from SP3 an since that time I get the message.
I can login without problems, on the GUI and on SSH, only if I connect from the VM Remote Console I get the written message.
Where can I now look to the problem, is there a config-file which has changed after the update to SSP4 or something else?

Chris

jmozdzen
31-May-2017, 12:38
Hi Chris,


OK, but you can't also not answered my question to my problem.
Shortly I wrote, I use an SLES 11 SP4 system which was updated from SP3 an since that time I get the message.
I can login without problems, on the GUI and on SSH, only if I connect from the VM Remote Console I get the written message.
Where can I now look to the problem, is there a config-file which has changed after the update to SSP4 or something else?

Chris

you're right that I didn't provide an answer, as I was waiting for above details and important other:


What do you see in /var/log/messages at the time? Are you using anything
outside the box (LDAP, etc.) for authentication of users?

What also caught my eyes when reading this thread over and over again:


And after I reboot the server new it looks good, if I wait some time an try to connect again over VMware I see this message.

So right after VM reboot, accessing the machine works via VMware console (without the error message), but some amount of time later (how long - seconds, minutes, hours, days?) it does? Have you checked syslog to spot anything interesting reported between the latest successful loginvia VMware console (IOW "without error message") and the first consecutive unsuccessful login?

Just for checks: The error message actually is created by the server you're logging in to, so it's a message box on the X11 screen inside the remote console? (As opposed to a message popped up by the VMware environment.)

Regards,
J

malcolmlewis
31-May-2017, 12:58
On Wed 31 May 2017 11:24:01 AM CDT, ChMueller wrote:

OK, but you can't also not answered my question to my problem.
Shortly I wrote, I use an SLES 11 SP4 system which was updated from SP3
an since that time I get the message.
I can login without problems, on the GUI and on SSH, only if I connect
from the VM Remote Console I get the written message.
Where can I now look to the problem, is there a config-file which has
changed after the update to SSP4 or something else?

Chris




Hi
Sounds like it's related to this;
https://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?language=en_US&cmd=displayKC&externalId=2103604

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE Leap 42.2|GNOME 3.20.2|4.4.62-18.6-default
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

ChMueller
31-May-2017, 13:41
@malcolmlewis
sorry your link will not open !

@jmozdzen
ok , I looked into the message-log and if I try to connect from VM and press the OK button, log me in and also logout again. In this time I see this in messages-log

May 31 14:26:24 lxsapb22 gdm-session-worker[46067]: WARNING: gdm_session_settings_load: lang = (null)
May 31 14:26:25 lxsapb22 checkproc: checkproc: can not get session id for process 21788!
May 31 14:26:40 lxsapb22 acpid: 1 client rule loaded


also there are nothing outside like LDAP, etc...

And the message on the GUI comes again after some hours, I think 6.

I believe it was an configuration in some file for the X11 server.

regards
Chris

malcolmlewis
31-May-2017, 13:48
Hi
Strange... It points to this...



Symptoms

Logging in to the VMware Appliance Management website fails.
You see the error:

Unable to authenticate user. Please try again

The vRealize Automation instance is running for one year since first boot/power on or for one year since root password is changed.
You can successfully log in to the console of the appliance using the same root account with the same password.

Cause
This issue occurs when the root password expires. The appliance root account password expiration is defined to be 365 days. If the password is not changed before this time passes the root user cannot log in to the Appliance management console.
Resolution
This is a known issue affecting VMware vRealize Automation (formerly known as vCloud Automation Center) 6.2.x.

Currently, there is no resolution.

You can prevent this by reviewing the password expiration date in the appliance management console under the Admin tab.

To work around this issue, reset the root password:

Log in to the appliance using your root account.
Reset the password by running the command:

passwd root

This resets the password for another 365 days. You can also extend the root password expiry date by running this command:

chage -M numOfDays root

Note: This may pose a security risk so ensure that you verify with your internal policies prior to setting.

To check the password settings, run this command:

chage -l

ChMueller
31-May-2017, 14:25
Thank you by try to help, but the password expiration time for root was not the problem.

In the check of password settings I see:

lxsaptest:~ # chage -l
Minimum: -1
Maximum: -1
Warning: -1
Inactive: -1
Last Change: May 31, 2017
Password Expires: Never
Password Inactive: Never
Account Expires: Never
lxsaptest:~ #


regards
Chris

jmozdzen
31-May-2017, 17:44
Hi Chris,

what puzzles me most is that you can actually log in after that message. So generally, authentication works.

An interval of six hours - might it be that you're facing some "power management" issue, where the system tries to put the (virtual) display to sleep, or to "wake it up" and tries to initiate some follow-up action, which fails because of missing permissions?

Another log you might check is ~/.xsession-errors-:0 (or similar, if your display setup is other than plain simple). If the message originates from some task run after (the actual) login, and that task is missing permissions and/or a way to determine the effective user, it's error output (in addition to the annoying user message pop-up) might get logged there. I'd suggest to clear out the file before testing (i.e. via ssh), unfortunately there are no time stamps to the contents: It is nothing more than a collection of stdout/stderr of all the programs run from the window manager.

Regards,
J

ChMueller
01-Jun-2017, 09:28
Hi J

Thanks for your tip, but I do not use Powermanagement and the GUI is always accessible in the login window.
Only after a while does the window appear again. When I log off I see normal the login screen. But after some time ....

.xsession-errors has unfortunately also nothing

Well then I'm looking for the cause.

Specially after I updated the system to SP4 this message was show, before with the SP3 all looks good. Stupid



regards
chris

jmozdzen
01-Jun-2017, 11:28
Hi Chris,

sorry that I can't be of more help atm - some issues are just too complex or "mysterious" to be easily resolved remotely :(

If this really bothers you, you might consider opening a service request with SUSE - the engineers will request a "supportconfig" from you and will then have much more detailed insight into your system.

Regards,
J

ChMueller
01-Jun-2017, 12:41
Hi J

Thank you very much, and also all others here.
I believe to open a service request to SUSE and hope that they can help me.

If I get news to solve this problem I'll write it here.

best regards

Chris