PDA

View Full Version : SLES 11 SP3 Only one core detected



percy682
08-Aug-2017, 10:14
Hi,
My Hardware is HP DL380 G9。 At present, os is 32bit sles11.3。
Would you have any method/driver (kISO) for solving just one core detected?


THANKS

smflood
08-Aug-2017, 11:13
On 08/08/17 10:24, percy682 wrote:

> My Hardware is HP DL380 G9。 At present, os is 32bit
> sles11.3。

Is there a particular reason that you're using 32-bit SLES?

You should also note that SLES11 SP3 is no longer supported by SUSE with
SLES11 SP4 the latest release of SLES11.

> Would you have any method/driver (kISO) for solving just one core
> detected?

You can download a Bootable Driver Kit for SLES11 SP3 from the bottom of
https://drivers.suse.com/hpe/HPE-ProLiant-Gen9/ but you will note it is
64-bit only.

You can also download an Installation Kit for SLES11 SP4 from the same
page but again it's 64-bit only.

HTH.
--
Simon
SUSE Knowledge Partner

------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below. Thanks.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

percy682
09-Aug-2017, 01:23
Hi Simon,
Many thanks for your reply.
As my application need to been run in 32bit os at present and my server is also too new. l know that you mean, I also try 11.4 and got the same question. But I really hope there is a support for solving this one core question.

Thank you very much.
PS: my english is a little weak, please don't mind.

smflood
09-Aug-2017, 17:51
On 09/08/17 01:24, percy682 wrote:

> Many thanks for your reply.
> As my application need to been run in 32bit os at present and my server
> is also too new. l know that you mean, I also try 11.4 and got the same
> question. But I really hope there is a support for solving this one core
> question.

Unless your application is specifically checking for 32-bit Linux you
should be able to run a 32-bit application on 64-bit Linux.

Please can you post the output from "cat /proc/cpuinfo".

Can I also ask whether ACPI is enabled or disabled in the BIOS?

> PS: my english is a little weak, please don't mind.

No problem, your English is fine.

HTH.
--
Simon
SUSE Knowledge Partner

------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below. Thanks.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

percy682
10-Aug-2017, 09:44
Hi Simon,

Many thanks for your reply.

My server is HP DL580 Gen9(cpu type is E7-4809 V3) . ACPI SLIT's status is enabled
My application could not run in 64-bit linux and it must run in 32-bit linux. By the way, from suse website (https://www.suse.com/eval/download/?event_id=SGDGNTD18118&event_name=Eval:+SLES+11+SP4+x86&icid=SGDGNTD18496&build=46PZWZ91TPo~&login_required=1), SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 11 SP4 introduces support for a new generation of hardware, allowing you to harness the computing power from the latest industry standard CPUs, including Intel® Xeon® processor E7-8800/4800 v3 product family. But I still got one core , it is very strange.

cpuinfo as fellow:
mcapture@DIS-ORS-A:~> cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 63
model name : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E7-4809 v3 @ 2.00GHz
stepping : 4
microcode : 13
cpu MHz : 1995.033
cache size : 20480 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 1
core id : 0
cpu cores : 1
apicid : 0
initial apicid : 0
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 15
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx pdpe1gb rdtscp lm c onstant_tsc up arch_perfmon pebs bts xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf pni pclmul qdq dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx smx est tm2 ssse3 fma cx16 xtpr pdcm pcid dca sse4 _1 sse4_2 x2apic movbe popcnt tsc_deadline_timer aes xsave avx f16c rdrand lahf_ lm abm arat epb xsaveopt pln pts dtherm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid fs gsbase tsc_adjust bmi1 hle avx2 smep bmi2 erms invpcid rtm
bogomips : 3990.06
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 46 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:

smflood
17-Aug-2017, 11:05
On 10/08/17 09:54, percy682 wrote:

> My server is HP DL580 Gen9(cpu type is E7-4809 V3) . ACPI SLIT's status
> is enabled

So not DL380 as per your original message?

> My application could not run in 64-bit linux and it must run in 32-bit
> linux. By the way, from suse website
> (https://www.suse.com/eval/download/?event_id=SGDGNTD18118&event_name=Eval:+SLES+11+SP4+x86&icid=SGDGNTD18496&build=46PZWZ91TPo~&login_required=1),
> SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 11 SP4 introduces support for a new
> generation of hardware, allowing you to harness the computing power from
> the latest industry standard CPUs, including Intel� Xeon� processor
> E7-8800/4800 v3 product family. But I still got one core , it is very
> strange.

At
http://h17007.www1.hpe.com/us/en/enterprise/servers/supportmatrix/exceptions/sles_exceptions.aspx
against DL580 Gen9 it notes "This system requires a SLES 11 SP3 kISO to
provide new processor, chipset and driver support. Please click here to
download the kISO." and links to
https://drivers.suse.com/hpe/HPE-ProLiant-Gen9/ where we already know
the kISO is only available for 64-bit SLES11 SP3.

> cpuinfo as fellow:
> mcapture@DIS-ORS-A:~> cat /proc/cpuinfo
> processor : 0
> vendor_id : GenuineIntel
> cpu family : 6
> model : 63
> model name : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E7-4809 v3 @ 2.00GHz
> stepping : 4
> microcode : 13
> cpu MHz : 1995.033
> cache size : 20480 KB
> physical id : 0
> siblings : 1
> core id : 0
> cpu cores : 1
> apicid : 0
> initial apicid : 0
> fdiv_bug : no
> hlt_bug : no
> f00f_bug : no
> coma_bug : no
> fpu : yes
> fpu_exception : yes
> cpuid level : 15
> wp : yes
> flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge
> mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr
> sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx pdpe1gb rdtscp lm c
> onstant_tsc up arch_perfmon pebs bts xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf
> pni pclmul qdq dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx smx
> est tm2 ssse3 fma cx16 xtpr pdcm pcid dca sse4
> _1 sse4_2 x2apic movbe popcnt tsc_deadline_timer aes xsave avx f16c
> rdrand lahf_ lm abm arat epb xsaveopt pln pts
> dtherm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid fs
> gsbase tsc_adjust bmi1 hle avx2 smep bmi2 erms invpcid rtm
> bogomips : 3990.06
> clflush size : 64
> cache_alignment : 64
> address sizes : 46 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
> power management:

Okay so system thinks it has one CPU ("cpu cores : 1").

Can I check that you have installed SLES directly on the server and not
as a guest OS under some virtualisation solution (such as VMware ESXi)?

I don't have one of these servers so the following is based on my research.

In the BIOS what are the following set to?

* System Options | Processor Options | Intel Hyperthreading
* System Options | Processor Options | Processor Core Disabled
* System Options | Virtualisation Options | Virtualization Technology
* System Options | Virtualisation Options | Intel VT-d

HTH.
--
Simon
SUSE Knowledge Partner

------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below. Thanks.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

percy682
22-Aug-2017, 13:03
Sorry for the too late reply and no make it clear.
Yes, it is DL580 G9 not DL380 G9 and mainly, I also test in the DL380 G9, I also got the same question.
I have checked that you mention, the results are as bellow:

* System Options | Processor Options | Intel Hyperthreading
=> Enabled
* System Options | Processor Options | Processor Core Disabled
=>0
* System Options | Virtualisation Options | Virtualization Technology
=>Enabled
* System Options | Virtualisation Options | Intel VT-d
=>Enabled

Thanks for your support.

smflood
25-Aug-2017, 17:34
On 22/08/17 13:04, percy682 wrote:

> Sorry for the too late reply and no make it clear.
> Yes, it is DL580 G9 not DL380 G9 and mainly, I also test in the DL380
> G9, I also got the same question.
> I have checked that you mention, the results are as bellow:
>
> * System Options | Processor Options | Intel Hyperthreading
> => Enabled
> * System Options | Processor Options | Processor Core Disabled
> =>0
> * System Options | Virtualisation Options | Virtualization Technology
> =>Enabled
> * System Options | Virtualisation Options | Intel VT-d
> =>Enabled
>
> Thanks for your support.

Based on reading I've done I was rather hoping Processor Core Disabled
was not going to be 0!

I can only think this is related to 32-bit SLES running on 64-bit
hardware without an available 32-bit kISO. Is it possible for you to
boot the server in rescue mode from a 64-bit SLES DVD to see if "cat
/proc/cpuinfo" detects the missing cores? This would at least rule out
32-bit vs 64-bit but not the kISO.

HTH.
--
Simon
SUSE Knowledge Partner

------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below. Thanks.
------------------------------------------------------------------------